Meet Gail Nkoane

27 Aug

I am so glad Gail agreed to answer questions for the blog.  I have been admiring her hair from afar!  I first knew of her when she made it to the top 10 in season six of South African Idols (2010).  She had her signature short hairstyle even back then.  She currently stars as Lelo Sedibe in the soap opera ‘The Wild’.  It airs on Mnet and on Africa Magic.  She has got to be one of the most beautiful women on South African (and African?) television!  I’m sure you will agree.  I asked her a few questions relating to her hair.  Take a look at her answers:

   1.       Where are you from?
I’m a proud Kimberlite 🙂  (Kimberley, South Africa)

 2.       Do you relax your hair?  Which relaxer do you use?
Oh, definitely 🙂

 3.       How do you take care of your hair day-to-day?
That’s the fun thing with short hair, it’s the easiest to maintain… so much so that some mornings I literally just wake up!! 🙂  I use bees was for daily styling and to help with texture.

 4.       How do you achieve your short crop style?
Hmmm… I have my hair cut in that style.  🙂  I wash and condition my hair, then I wrap it with wrapping lotion and sit under the hair dryer.  Once the hair is dry, I either style it with my fingers or with a straightening iron!

5.       What are your favourite hair products?
None in particular but I use hair silicone and bees-wax regularly.

6.       Do you have a particular hairstylist who does your hair?
Yep, besides myself, I have two 🙂

 7.       How do you keep your hair healthy with the daily styling required in your acting career?
As mentioned, because my hair is short, it does not require daily styling, so it is naturally healthy as it’s not exposed to heat on a daily basis.  I also do regular scalp and hair treatments and keep my hair and scalp moisturised daily

 8.       What’s the longest your hair has ever been?
About shoulder length, but I felt and looked much older  😀

9.       How often do you trim your hair to maintain your cut?
It really depends on how long I want it to grow.  Sometimes I’ll trim it monthly and sometimes I let it grow longer.  It really just depends on how I feel.

 10.   You started off in ‘The Wild’ with long weaves.  What brought about the change to short, cropped hair which your character now wears?
I’ve had my hair short for six years now, so having to wear a weave was a tad uncomfortable.  Then I tried wigs because it allowed me to be myself when I’m not on set.  For me, there is just too much effort in maintaining a weave or wig, so I suggested to our head of hair and make-up to start using my own hair from Lelo’s ‘wedding day’.  They agreed and I never looked back.

Lelo’s ‘wedding day’

 11.   There have been debates about whether you sometimes wear short weaves / wigs that resemble your short crop hairstyle.  One such debate centred around your hair in an interview you did for the current season of Idols.  Do you sometimes wear short cropped weaves?
Nope, whenever you see my hair short, it’s always my own hair 🙂  (view the Idols interview here).

 12.   We heard news that ‘The Wild’ is being cancelled – any plans in the pipeline for life after ‘The Wild’.
Oh yeah, I’m always excited about my growth and development both as a performer as well as an individual.  Apart from being offered various roles and exploring business opportunities, I’m excited about going back into studio and working on my music.  I’m working with some of the country’s greatest producers and creative and cannot wait to be on stage again performing my own material.

 13.   Any hair care / style tips for someone wanting to try your short crop style?
The biggest challenge is finding a hair stylist who knows how to cut hair.  Once its cut, you can pretty much go wild.  With short hair, there are no rules!!!  The best thing is to learning how to style your own hair, that way you can play around and explore.  Take care of your hair, it’s just as important as your face.

Read more about Gail in this interview from Women’s Health magazine where she was on the June 2011 cover.  You can also follow Gail on twitter.

Take a look at other interviews with featured guests here.

 

 

 

 

35 Responses to “Meet Gail Nkoane”

  1. Rutendo 27 August, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    This woman is gorgeous please!!

    • Tendayi 27 August, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

      absolutely!!

      • Busi 27 August, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

        I love this short crop. I however am not brave enough to chop my locks. She really is beautiful and the hair cut is perfect for her bone structure. Tendayi the tea rinse for breaking hair works.thanks girl (:

      • Tendayi 27 August, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

        Glad the tea rinse is working for you Busi.

        As for Gails hair, I think I need to have this style at some stage in my life!! Like she says it makes you look younger!

  2. Patience 28 August, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    She is gorgeous for sure. I cannot imagine her with any other hair but short hair. I am so glad you did this interview since I just literally cut my hair short. I need styling tips.

    • Tendayi 28 August, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      I saw your new hairstyle. It looks great 🙂

  3. Xoliswa 29 August, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    I love your short hair crop, i want to cut mine. i have dreadlocks and want a new look. would you advise me to color my hair?

    • Tendayi 31 August, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      Will pass on your question to Gail!

    • GailNkoane 31 August, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

      Hey!!! :-* Please find my comment above! ♥

  4. GailNkoane 31 August, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    Hey Xoliswa! 🙂 Colour always does wonders when one is wanting to ‘freshen up your look’ … just be very careful of the product because colour can damage your hair! After colouring, do treat your hair with the next wash & maybe don’t colour your hair immediately after relaxing…please twitpic ne!!! :-*

  5. fantagiaah 10 September, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    OMG her hair is super pretty I LOVE this article 😀 wow she is such a gorgeous woman 😀

    • Tendayi 10 September, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

      I agree, she is one beautiful woman!

  6. phindi 14 September, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Gail is really hot 🙂 , can we kindly get the stylist’s number

    • Tendayi 14 September, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      I’m not sure if she will divulge but I will ask her 🙂

      • phindi. 14 September, 2012 at 10:04 am #

        Ok, thank u

  7. N 23 September, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Gail is stunning! Amazing bone structure and the style complements it perfectly! Love your blog, will be consulting you soon about my hair..

    • Tendayi 24 September, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

      Look forward to hearing from you 🙂

  8. LizC 31 October, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    Please can we have the number for her stylist. i want to cut my hair but i want it to be cut by sum1 iv seen do good work, and Gail’s hair is stunning..
    Please pretty please can we have the stylists number, please!!!!

    • Tendayi 31 October, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      lol LizC!

      I did ask her but I didnt get a response. I’ll try again!

      • LizC 31 October, 2012 at 11:07 am #

        will be waiting, fingers crossed she gives u the number

  9. phindi 05 November, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    hi i just need to know the benefits of using bees wax on your hair

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

      Its used for styling purposes, not for hair care. I don’t think it has benefits for hair, just for styling to prolong straight styles.

    • phindi 05 November, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

      oooohhhhh ok , thank you . Does custor oil really help with hair line and thank you so much for all the responses and advce , really appreciate

      • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

        Castor oil does help. Just google ‘castor oil and hair’ and see! It stimulates hair growth. Just use it regularly and don’t tire too soon. Give yourself a goal eg to use it for a month or 2 months before you stop. That way you will see a difference. You can even take a pic of your hairline before you begin so you can track changes.

  10. Tsholo 16 December, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    Thank you for this blog. Now I have to find someone who can cut beautifully. Bitso you are gorgeus.

  11. lee 28 December, 2012 at 1:11 am #

    If u could kindly ask Gail to give us the stylist name who does the crop cut. We are her fans and love her hair. Please

    • Tendayi 28 December, 2012 at 7:30 am #

      Hi Lee

      I did ask but i don’t yet have a response. It may be possible that she cannot give the endorsement to the stylist.

  12. patience (@mngom) 05 February, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

    Hi Tendayi
    oooh i love her hair its suits her perfectly…. i have a shot hair also but not really sure what products to use, what does bees wax do?i thought it was for dreadlocks only, i want to try it

    • Tendayi 05 February, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

      Beeswax is a styling product. SHe uses it to style her hair.

  13. kay 21 February, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    OMG!! Gail looks hot love the look can i please have info on the products that she uses for hair form relaxing to styling

    • Tendayi 21 February, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

      Sorry Kay she did not share what products she uses. Im sure you understand that celebs dont provide endorsement for free! Mentioning product would be free advertising for the brands she uses!

  14. Alian Phiri 27 May, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    She is Gorgeus n Beautifall!and an inspiration I’ve read her story!

  15. Khani 11 August, 2013 at 7:23 am #

    Hi Gail

    I love your hair style, where do you cut your hair?

  16. Nkeletseng Molefe 26 September, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    Good day! You are one of the women on my top 10 most influencial women to me. Your beauty is effortless and your achievements have encouraged me not to settle for anything less and to always look out for more opportunities to reach my peak of success. I also like your sense of style its professional yet classy and elegant. 🙂

Leave a Reply

