Hair update – 16 weeks post relaxer

20 Sep

 

I am now 16 weeks post relaxer.  I’ve had braids for eight weeks now.  I miss my hair!  It’s now time to remove the braids.  I just need to find some time to do this in the next few days.  I will remove and detangle my hair in the same way that I undo my daughter’s.  It’s a lengthy process and I expect it will take me about three days until all the braids are removed and the hair is detangled.  The reason I do this is so that I minimise breakage.  If detangling is not done properly, a lot of breakage can occur.

The braids have now loosened considerably at the root.  They still look quite neat though.  This proves that you can wash your hair weekly while in braids and they won’t slip off or look messy!  In the 8 weeks I’ve had the braids I’ve washed probably 10 times.

Once I remove the braids I will go for two weeks or so in which I will make sure to look after the hair before relaxing again.  I will wash and deep condition twice a week.  I have done this before and it’s detailed here.

I’m keeping my goal of bsl hair by December 2012 in sight.  I hope after braids I will be much closer to that goal!

 

 

 

 

12 Responses to “Hair update – 16 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Lindi 20 September, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    I am surprised at how neat your braids are after 10 washes! Well done.
    Tendayi, will you consider doing a blog on the latest craze – dry perms. I used to have an afro and really miss it. The perm will be the closest thing to it in the short term (I realise they only last about just over week anyway – depending on hair type). I worry at the effects of this treatment – sitting under a dryer for over an hour… and maintaining it as long as possible. Maybe also chat about normal perms as well. Just a thought…

    • Tendayi 20 September, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

      I’m also curious about this dry perm. I haven’t yet talked to someone who has one. Ive been getting conflicting things – one person said its just a relaxer that you set with very small rollers. Another person said its a proper perm thats uses big perm rollers. I will do some research and write a post about it – promise!!

      • Connie Bakgane-Komani 21 September, 2012 at 8:48 am #

        Hi Tendayi, just want to say im a natural and I love your blog. May I ask which type of hair piece you use for your braids they are stunning!

      • Tendayi 21 September, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

        Thanks Connie. The braid is called Expression braid. I use it for my daughter too. I use it because it is very light. The colour I have now is 99J. I buy the braid in SA in ‘Nigerian’ salons. They have more colours that those in Clicks etc. The braid I buy says ‘made in Nigeria’

      • Lindi 21 September, 2012 at 11:00 am #

        According to my colleague, who already had relaxed hair, she had her “treatment” and then sat under the dryer with the perm curlers for about 2-3 hours. She says the curls last about a week and half and she uses an oil based moisturiser to retain them for as long as possible. Looking forward to your post.

      • Tendayi 21 September, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

        What treatment was it? Please ask for me. I will do my research and write a post. I promise!!

  2. Sibusisiwe Ndhlovu 21 September, 2012 at 4:14 am #

    Hie Tendayi. i stumbled on your blog when i was doing my research on growing African hair. I found it so informative and absolutely amazing!! Well done – keep it going.

    I am am on a journey to grow my hair after I suffered breakage on my hairline, front and back, as well as thinning hair on the rest of my head. Having done a bit of research on my own, I realized that this was caused by over processing during relaxer treatments and tight weaves which were pulling at my hairline. In addition, I was having my hair in weaves immediately after relaxing it, as I was extremely busy and had not time to look after my hair as I used to. I had also become lazy about moisturizing my hair unlike before, hence all the breakage. Whatmore, I only used to relax my hair at most twice or three time a year before , but in the last two years I was relaxing it, almost every 6 weeks!! So It has taken some battering. I am confident i can grow my hair back . My hair in its natural state. though hard and kinky used to grow to just below shoulder length just by braiding single braids, washing and conditioning and moisturizing alone.

    My hair is currently in braids for the third week now, and I have been using T444Z on it i.e. daily on the hairline and twice a week on the rest of the head. I also massage my scalp every day for at least 5 minutes or more if I can. Prior to that I used castor oil for about a month (I had a weave on), and there was some growth though not as much as I have experienced with T444Z. I must say, I am excited about all the new growth on my hairline as well as on the rest of the hair, and how soft the new growth compared to how my natural hair normally feels like. I plan to stay in braids for 20 to 24 weeks, continue with T444Z, and repair the barids after 16 weeks or so or in need depending on the growth. Then relax it after that, then keep a strict shampoo and conditioning regiment and roller setting for 6 weeks, then plait it again in single braids and keep it like that for 20 to 24 weeks. Will share with you my experience.

    I would like to wash my braids and would appreciate your advise on whether i can pre-poo my hair whilst in braids before shampooing and conditioning it. I have never used pre-poo before and would like to try it. Again what do you use to shampoo and condition your hair whilst in braids? It really looks great, evidence that a proper hair regime can grow African hair to bsl.

    • Tendayi 21 September, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

      My advice to you would be don’t keep you hair in braids for 20 to 24 weeks. If its in braids that long it will begin to matt and will liley break when you take the braids out. The best is 8 to 10 weeks. If you want to keep then in onger I advice redoing them section by section so that at any one time no section is longer than 8 to 10 weeks.

      While your hair is in braids apply the t444z ro the scalp but also remember that the hair itself needs moisture. I use braid spray for this. Spray it every one or two days and wash it weekly. When shampooing concentrate on the scalp to get it clean. To shampoo I just use normal shampoo. I like Tressemme Naturals shampoo when I have braids. To condition I ilute conditioner in water to make it thin. This helps when you are rinsing it out. If it is too thick it becomes difficult to rinse out and you get buildup. I often use diluted Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner.

      I do not prepoo while in braids for the same reason that oils are difficult to rinse out from braids. I pre poo when the braids come off.

      • Sibusisiwe Ndhlovu 23 September, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

        Thanks Tendayi for your advice, which I will follow. I managed to wash and condition yesterday using Olive Oil Aloe Shampoo and Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner.

        I struggled to get African Pride braid spray yesterday, which is what you recommend in one of your blogs – I live in Harare, Zimbabwe. Finally settled for Sta Soft-fro braid spray – and trust it will do the job, and will use that to moisturise the hair in braids, until I get the braid spray you recommend.

        Meanwhile, I will continue with T444Z on my scalp and hairline, as the results so far are extremely encouraging.

      • Tendayi 24 September, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

        Sta Sof fro is fine. I just recommend African Pride because thats what I use and I like it but there are many alternatives. Most braid sprays are made up of almost the same things – water and glycerin as the main ingredients. All the best with your hair. Let me know how it’s going.

  3. adetunji adesewa 30 October, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

    I’m a Nigerian and I’ve been retouching my hair for about 11 years now. I have a very fast growth but have problems retaining it eventhough my hair is still quite long (a little below shoulder) and very full but reading your blog has given me hope for a longer hair.

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2013 at 10:55 am #

      Let us know if you retain even more growth now Adetunji 🙂

Leave a Reply

