I got curlformers!!

26 Sep

I got some curlformers!   I’m so happy!  This is one of the things that have been on my wish list for quite a long time.  I remember even mentioning that this may be what will make me retire my old school rollers!  I had not bought them as I was scared to spend so much money on something I may not like.

I first got to know of curlformers when I saw a youtube video by Whitney of Naptural85.  In the video she sets her 4a natural hair with curlformers and it comes out looking great.  What I loved about the curlformers from watching the video is that you can sleep with them unlike the rollers I currently use.

Hair Flair Limited (the guys who make curlformers) were kind enough to send me a styling kit.  It consists of two hooks, three packs of long and wide and three packs of extra-long and wide curlformers.  This makes 42 curlformers in all.  I also got a bag to keep them in.  I realise that I will have to learn to use the curlformers but I don’t mind.  I’m sure it will take only a few tries before I get it right.  I will also watch Whitneys video for tips as she shows how she uses them.

I will be undoing my braids in a few days and I will relax my hair after about two weeks.  I will then give the curlformers a try.  I’m looking forward to it!

Curlformers do not have any distributors in Africa but they can be bought off the website.  Currently the African countries they deliver to are South Africa and Egypt.  I hope they add on more countries soon.

the curlformers

Anyone have experience with curlformers?  Please share any tips.

17 Responses to “I got curlformers!!”

    • Tendayi 26 September, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

      These don’t look like the proper ones. The hooks are different to mine also these ship from China.

  1. Natalie 26 September, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Where can I get them here in Capetown. And tell me what I should use to keep my hair strong and long. I just got braids done now. I use organic root products

  2. nondi 26 September, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    hey T

    I actually saw the ones Emmie is talking about at 2 chinese shops in town. I thought maybe i could just use those but to my disappointmet they are too short for my over the shoulder hair.

    I actualy went on to the site of the company that gave you these one and by God i can never be able to afford the dollar price.

    the only thing i do now is to hope and pray that some day I wil be so fortunate.

    Thank you for the updatdatess

    • Tendayi 26 September, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

      Yes curlformers are expensive! Thats why they were on my wish list but I still hadnt bought them!

  3. Bush Baby 28 September, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Hi Tendayi,i wanted to say thank you for an awesome site,i normally take extra care of my face,skin and weight,not that i neglect my hair,but this site has really taught me a lot and most of them i have in my kitchen.
    I am taking a break from all the weaves,but my hairline is damaged,the sides are better,the front part,above the forehead is bad,i am using castor oil,what else can i use to help restore the hairline and make my hair even fuller,thank you in advance.

    • Tendayi 28 September, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      In my opinion castor oil works best. You may apply it for frequently (even daily) if your hairline is badly damaged. There are some serums for hairline damage by big manufacturers eg Dr Miracle and Organic Root Stimulator but I think castor oil works better than these. Just my opinion.

  4. aucurlsnaturelle 29 September, 2012 at 12:02 am #

    i have the extra long ones they are amazing but now that my hair is short ill have to invest in the medium length.
    i cant wait to see your result, your hair is gorgeous 😀

    • Tendayi 29 September, 2012 at 9:06 am #

      Thank you 🙂 I’d also love to see yours once you get the medium length ones Fantagiaah.

  5. kangopie 11 January, 2013 at 11:04 pm #

    Hi Tendayi, your new look has me inspired – i am looking at the website and i am confused about the different types of curl formers .

    i have shoulder legnth hair and I am not sure if i go for the medium legnth or short hair curlformers ? which type did you get?

    • Tendayi 12 January, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

      I have the ‘long’ as well as the ‘extra long’. If I pull the ‘long’ ones they are 35cm in length. I use those in the front where my hais is shorter. The ‘extra long’ when pulled traight are 55cm. Those are the ones I used for the back of my head.

  6. PreciousNonhlanhla 14 January, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

    hey T,
    Great hair! i really didnt know much about curlformers. So I’ve put them on my wish list and I’ll start saving for them. I cant stand the old school rollers, they are painful to sleep with on my hair. I gave up using them. Cant wait to get my curlformers 😉
    Awesome blog, by the way.

    xoxoxoxoxo

    • Tendayi 14 January, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

      Thank you Precious. Would love to see how your hair comes out when you get them.

  7. Thando 03 February, 2013 at 2:27 am #

    its good to know that they deliver in SA. Still on the topic of curls, do you where can one get flexirods in Gauteng?

    • Tendayi 04 February, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

      You can get flexirods at Dischem as well as Style Studio. Dischem seems to stock only one size but Style Studio has several sizes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Relaxer Update « africanhairblog - 05 November, 2012

    […] that I have relaxed my hair I can now try out the curlfomers I got about a month […]

Leave a Reply

