Styling tip – hair nets

27 Sep

I’m wearing a hair net here!

I wanted to share a tip with you for achieving a perfect rounded bun with no frizz or fly aways.  The answer is hair nets!  They are not just for old women!

As a mom to an aspiring ballerina, I (and the other moms) have to use hair nets to achieve a smooth, round bun.  They are especially important for performances when the hair has to look perfect.  I sometimes use the nets as well which is what I want to share with you.

My daughter spends three quarters of the year in braids so I often have to use the hair nets over her braids.  This is how I have been using the hair nets too lately.  The hair nets are ‘invisible’ so they don’t really show unless someone is really up close and looking closely at your hair.  The brand I buy comes in a variety of colours so you buy the colour closest to your hair colour.  I buy dark brown for my daughter and I – our hair isn’t black.  The colours I have seen are blonde, light brown, dark brown and black.  I buy the hair nets from Dischem but they are also available in shops that sell dance apparel. The packs I buy cost R6.20 (approx. USD0.75) for a pack of 2.

In the pic above I am wearing the hair net over my bun.  You can hardly see it!  I wear it to keep the braids together and prevent unravelling.  You can also wear the nets over a bun made with your own hair or with an extension if you want a smooth round bun.  The way you wear them is to just cover the bun – twisting the net once or twice over the bun so the net fits snugly.  The elastic around the net goes under the bun.  It takes literally 2 seconds to put the net on!

The nets I buy

the net

Does anyone else use hair nets for neater buns?

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Styling tip – hair nets”

  1. veebruin 27 September, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    I remember back in the day that my gran used those. I can’t believe I never considered using a hair net with my bun (which is about the only style I’ve been wearing lately, to hide my damaged hair…)

  2. noemia 28 September, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    Hi Tendayi, I know this is totally off topic but I dont know where else to ask,is there a dischem in or around menlyn park?

    • Tendayi 28 September, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

      No Dischem at Menlyn unfortunately 😦 There is a Dischem at Brooklyn mall and one along Hans Strydon in the direction of Silverlakes / Mamelodi etc. Also one at Hillcrest shopping centre.

  3. luckyluwi 26 November, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Hi, a friend of mine has told me to ask how exactly you use the hairnet with the bun without giving away the fact that it is a hair net?

    • Tendayi 26 November, 2012 at 11:26 am #

      The hair nets are very thin so they cant be seen. You have to look very closely to see it. The elastic on the edges of the net is hidden under the bun so it cant be seen. Hope this makes sense.

Leave a Reply

