The Sheer Glamour Hair Show

2 Oct

 

My sister Rumbi (left) and I

Last Wednesday, I was invited to the Sheer Glamour Hair Show at SA Fashion Week (held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Johannesburg).  The hair show marked the opening of SA Fashion Week and was sponsored by Motions and Tresemmé.   The aim of the hair show was to showcase fashion as well as showcasing hair trends that are likely to dominate in the upcoming season.  Among the hairstylists in attendance were Ursula Stephen (renowned for being Rihanna’s hairstylist!), Nthatho Mashishi, Mathew Mansoor and Apo Makhale.  Designers that showcased on the night included Tiaan Nagel, Black Coffee, Lunar, Rubicon, Suzaan Heyns and many more.

I wore my hair in a bun

Hotel Lobby

The following day I was invited to a press workshop at the Motions Hair Academy in Joburg cbd where the hairstylists explained to us how they had created the styles we had seen on the runway as well as how to interpret them into everyday hair styling.

I must say I had lots of fun at both events.  I took my sister with me to the fashion show and we loved celeb spotting as well as admiring other people’s hairstyles!  I also got to meet Kavuli who blogs on GoodHairDiaries.  We had been communicating for ages but had never met.

Kavuli and I

Let me start with the fashion show:

The ethnic hairstlyles on the ramp were quite simple and most of them were styles that women can wear on an average day.  They were also varied with curls as well as sleek hairstyles.

Minnie Dlamini walked the ramp (she is a Motions ambassador) and showcased her new hair.  She has taken a break from weaves and I must say her own hair looks great.  There is often the assumption that if someone wears weaves often, they are hiding a multitude of sins under the weave!  Turns out that’s not the case with Minnie!

Minnie Dlamini

I loved the clothes showcased by Vesselina Pentcheva.  Her dresses were stunning!

A Vesselina Pentcheva dress

A few celebs whose pics I managed to get

DJ Zinhle – she was right on trend with her hair style

Weza Solange

Nthabi Mphahlele from Muvhango. Her short hair is stunning.

Actress Zikhona Sodlaka. She was wearing a turban over short, coloured hair. Her hair was showing at the top!

Press Workshop

This was my first time visitng the Motions Academy and I must say it looks great.  It comprises three rooms, the salon itself, a café area and a room used for training.  The workshop was held in this room.

The lobby / cafe

the salon

Wash area in the salon

workshop area

The stylists presented the styles that were shown on the ramp the night before and explained how they had attained it and what products were used (Motions and Tresemmé products).  Those in attendance also got to ask questions.

Matthew Mansoor

I loved the fact that a lot of attention was given to hair care, not just hairstyling.  Some of the tidbits that were shared include

  • ‘Towel dry hair to allow conditioner to penetrate better.  Conditioner does not penetrate well when hair is soaking wet’ Matthew Mansoor
  • ‘The hairline reacts when it is abused.  The more you pull the more your hairline breaks off’ Ursula Stephen
  • ‘A great hairstyle is based on a healthy foundation’ Ursula Stephen
  • ‘hair education is important’ Nthatho Mashishi
  • ‘I am not a fan of extensions.  Let’s work with our hair – we have the products’ Matthew Mansoor
  • ‘When tying hair back, first leave out the hairline, tie hair back then add the hairline in.  This ensures that the hairline is not under undue stress’ Ursula Stephen

Ursula Stephen

Apo and Nthatho

The stylists predicted that trends were going towards lots of texture for the hair – this encompassed natural hair and curls for those with relaxed hair.  I guess this is what we are seeing with the advent of the perm rod set (as seen on Minnie on the ramp).

Did any of you attend SA Fashion Week?  What did you think?

 

26 Responses to “The Sheer Glamour Hair Show”

  1. TatendaRobin 02 October, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    Hey Can i use your photos the one’s with minni..i love the hair piece she has and her hair is lovely for sure..

    • Tendayi 02 October, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

      You can use the pics!

      I will get more on Minnie’s hairstyle and share it. I want to know what type of hair piece was used (if any!)

      • TatendaRobin 02 October, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

        it is definitely a hair piece from what I see, I lurve it, will reference your blog as picture source dankie 🙂

      • Tendayi 03 October, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

        So I spoke to Ursula Stephen and Nthatho Mashishi today. They did Minnie’s hair for SA Fashion Week. They told me they didnt use any hair piece! They said no hair pieces at all on her head with that style. They said its all hers!!

      • TatendaRobin 03 October, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

        Oh wow! Sounds like a nice hairstyle, my hair is still getting back to that length how did they do their hair

      • TatendaRobin 03 October, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

        Oh wow! Sounds like a nice hairstyle, my hair is still getting back to that length how did they do their hair

      • TatendaRobin 03 October, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

        I am guessing a lot of volumiser, heat and spray went into her hair..but I actually am doubting they didnt use support for that volume and density… How did the kink get so bulky…

      • Tendayi 04 October, 2012 at 12:09 am #

        They said they used perm rollers on her relaxed hair then once dry they pulled the curls up for height. Perm roller sets are big in SA right now!

      • TatendaRobin 04 October, 2012 at 12:12 am #

        oooh tell me more. Perm roller sets do add volume i guess to add the bulk without heat. Can you ask how they held thw set part in place i have a fashion event I intend to go to with my real hair. Mind you it is only four inches. Dang I wish I had asked you to find out what I can do to my 4 inch long hair for a high fashion event. Weaves are becoming too much work removing them.

      • Tendayi 04 October, 2012 at 12:16 am #

        They used pins to hold up the sides and back. Many models had the style on the ramp. Some of them had hair much shorter than Minnie’s. I think I have a pic with some of the models in this post. The models are in black.

      • TatendaRobin 04 October, 2012 at 12:21 am #

        thanks so much, the hunt for roller sets in Harare starts now

      • Tendayi 04 October, 2012 at 12:21 am #

        Good luck!! Remember its perm rods, not our normal rollers!!

      • TatendaRobin 04 October, 2012 at 12:24 am #

        oh yeah the perm rods… I always saw those in SA never in my salons this side. I am sure I can do a home hairstyle with rods

      • TatendaRobin 04 October, 2012 at 12:28 am #

        I still think she used a hair piece regardless of what they say ….

      • Tendayi 04 October, 2012 at 12:30 am #

        Lol!! I asked them about 3 times! I kepst saying to the ‘I was so sure she had a hairpiece’ and they said NO!! Lets wait and see. She gets a lot of pics taken. We’ll see how her hair looks in other styles. Perm rollers do give major volume though because they are small.

      • TatendaRobin 05 October, 2012 at 8:24 am #

        LOL… Time will tell

  2. eloise 02 October, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

    Looks absolutely amazing. And so do u and Rumbi. So hope to go to next year’s show! You took some great pics!!!

  3. irene 03 October, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Tendayi, great show, greats pic…loving the refreshing hairdo yaRumbi! Do you have the name of the fashion designer who did the ethnic outfits….

    • Tendayi 03 October, 2012 at 8:42 am #

      Thanks Irene. I don’t remember then name but I can find out for you. I’ll let you know.

    • Tendayi 05 October, 2012 at 8:45 am #

      The designer is called Sister Bucks!

  4. Pumi 03 October, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    Awesome thanks for sharing

  5. phindi 15 October, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Hi Tendayi , just want to know if you’ve had any feedback from Gail , regarding her stylist.

    thanks

    • Tendayi 15 October, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

      Sorry Phindi had forgottten. Ive asked her now.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Real Hair on Minnie Dlamini – Motions Hair | Tatenda's Concrete Jungle - 02 October, 2012

    […] blogger Tendayi attended the SA Fashion Week which had a hair show component read all about it here. She took a photo of Minnie in her real hair with a beautiful hair-piece on the top of her head […]

Leave a Reply

