The braids are finally out!

10 Oct

After detangling and before washing

The braids are finally off!  I missed my target of removing them by Sunday and only managed to finish them yesterday morning.  I plan to give my hair some serious tlc for two weeks before relaxing again.  The point is to get my hair into optimal condition before subjecting it to relaxer chemicals.

Once I had removed the braids, I went through each twisted section (I twisted the hair in sections as I undid the braids to prevent tangling) and made sure it was properly detangled.  I also made sure I removed all the shed hair and any knots.  I then applied coconut oil to my scalp and hair and wore a shower cap overnight (this is called a prepoo treatment).  This morning I washed my hair with Tresemme Naturals Moisturising Shampoo.  I then proceeded to deep condition with Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner.  I’m sitting under my huetiful steamer with this right now!

In the next two weeks before my relaxer, this is how I plan to take care of my hair:

  • Pre poo my hair with coconut oil before every wash.  Where I can, I will prepoo overnight but mostly will just prepoo for an hour or so
  • Wash and deep condition every third day with moisturising conditioners.
  • The wash before my relaxer I will condition with a protein conditioner (Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise) to strengthen the hair and prepare it for the relaxer.
  • I will moisturise my hair twice a day – each morning and at night before bed.
  • Lightly oil my scalp after each wash.  I will use castor oil for this.  I will oil my scalp when the hair is moisturised and has dried.  It’s easier to section the hair and reach the scalp when the hair is dry.
  • I will keep my hair in a bun – with all the new growth there is not point trying any elaborate styles.

With all this I hope my hair will respond positively and be ready for a relaxer in 2 weeks’ time!  I’m just hoping I am closer to my goal of BSL (bra strap length) hair by December 2012.  I can’t really tell right now because of all the new growth I have.

 

 

 

20 Responses to “The braids are finally out!”

  1. Grace 10 October, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    Thank you again for your blog…I have decided to give my hair some tlc until the end of December…I have actually made a bet with my friend that I will not plait until the end of December..in the mean time I will try and wash my hair every week and try the pre-poo as well. I have mixed avocado oil in my conditioner-I don’t know if that will help? I dont like oily hair do I have to moisturize everyday? what moisturizer are you using?

    • Tendayi 10 October, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

      All the best Grace!

      Moisturiser shouldnt make your hair oily. You only need to use a bit each day and because you will be washing weekly it shouldnt build up much. I use many moisturisers. Right now I have Scurl Activator Moisturiser, ORS Carrot Oil, African Pride Anti Breakage moisturiser, ORS Hair lotion.

      Mixing oils into conditioner does help. I also do it. I mix in castor oil and sometimes coconut oil. It leaves hair super soft and easy to detangle too.

  2. Niso Tendai Ngorima 10 October, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    How much breakage did you experience?

    • Tendayi 10 October, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      Not much! Sorry, I didnt take a pic because I forgot to separate the braids from my actual hair while I was undoing them. It was mostly shed hair from what I could see.

  3. sibusiso 10 October, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Hi, were do you buy castor oil in south africa?

    • Tendayi 10 October, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

      You can get it at Clicks or Dischem. Also at health shops and pharmacies.

      • noleen 06 December, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

        thanks

  4. Rue007 11 October, 2012 at 1:08 am #

    Hi Tendayi. Are you still doing black tea rinses. Are they something you now incorporate in your regimen or they really are a waste of time.

    • Tendayi 11 October, 2012 at 8:29 am #

      The black tea rinses are to curb excess shedding. Its something I will use each time I notice I am shedding more than usual. Im not adding it to my usual weekly regimen.

      • Rue007 11 October, 2012 at 8:44 am #

        I guess its so easy to jump into any ‘hair’ band wagon if you are desperate to see results. I’m glad I double checked with you. Thank you.

      • Tendayi 11 October, 2012 at 8:49 am #

        There are so many things you cant do them all. I think the best regimen is a simple one!

  5. doreen muzorori 17 October, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    hie tendayi. My hair isnt really shedding, but it was breaking a lot. Help!! 😦

  6. luxolo 12 November, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    Hey there,I’m a male and I must say I’m loving your blog.iv been growing hair for the past three years but It doesn’t seem to grow.its natural hair,never been relaxed,very dry scalp. I have been using the organic root stimulator hair mayoinnaise and uplifting shampoo once a month after which I would blow dry the hair and plate cornrows,carrot oil and dr miracle’s spray for when I have twist or cornrows.what am I doing wrong?

    • Tendayi 13 November, 2012 at 11:30 am #

      Thank you Luxolo

      Do you keep the cornrows for a month at a time? I think the reason why your hair looks like its not growing is because it is breaking. ORS Hair Mayonnaise is a protein conditioner. I think you need something more moisturising so your hair isnt dry. Try using Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner instead. It is more moisturising. Also the Uplifting shampoo I find is quite a strong shampoo. I suggest you sue something milder. There are now some ranges for natural hair that make sulphate free shampoos which are much gentler eg Curl Care by Dr Miracle and Curls Unleashed by Organic Root Stimulator.

      While your hair is in cornrows do you moisturise it? I suggest you spray it daily with braid spray. I have never used the Dr Miracles spray but I really like African Pride braid Spray. I use the one marketed for kids because the smell is milder. The ingredients of these braid sprays are great in my opinion.

      Hope this help.

      I would suggest you keep the cornrows for 2 weeks at a time if possible and then take them out and wash

  7. luxolo 13 November, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Thank you so much,I’ll surely change my shampoo and conditioner to more moisturising ones u suggested.yes I would spray my braids with dr miracle’s spray everyday.do u think I shuld also pre poo before washes? What about about daily moisture when my hair is not in cornrows?,after using dr miracle’s spray as it is water based and sealing with coconut oil?

    • Tendayi 13 November, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

      Pre pooing is great. I find it softens my hair and I do it whenever I have the time. I use coconut oil and I apply to my scalp as well as the hair. I then wera a shower cap and sleep with the oil in my hair. I shampoo as usual the next day. You can prepoo for whatever time though. Even one hour you will get benefits.

      When your hair is not in cornrows I would suggest something ‘creamy’ or thick as a moisturiser since your hair is natural. You can dampen the hair first with water then apply moisturiser then a bit of coconut oil. Your hair should be soft once done. Moisturisers that contain some glycerin are great for natural hair eg Jo’M Softener and Scurl No Drp activator Moisturiser. The brans I mentioned earlier also have moiusturisers with great ingredients (Curl Care and Curls Unleashed).

  8. luxolo 13 November, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Thank you,I’m all smiles already.can’t wait to begin taking care of my hair properly and reap the benefits.I’ll keep you posted.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Relaxer Update « africanhairblog - 05 November, 2012

    […] The braids are finally out! (africanhairblog.com) […]

Leave a Reply

