Hair update – 20 weeks post relaxer

23 Oct

I’m now 20 weeks post relaxer.  I managed to go this much between relaxers because I had braids for eight weeks in between.  I have a lot of growth and  I’m not really combing my hair besides the detangling I do when I wash and deep condition it.  I’m just using my fingers to neaten it.

I’ve managed to wash and deep condition my hair every third day since the braids came out.  I’m also moisturising the hair twice a day (in the morning and at night).  This has ensured my new growth stays soft and manageable.  As for styling, I wear a headband almost every day.  In the pic above I have tucked the hair in just to keep it out of the way and to protect the ends.

My plan is to relax my hair over the weekend.  I will go to the same salon and stylist I have been going to for more than a year now.  I will use Organic Root Stimulator Relaxer (regular strength) as usual and I will also get the hair texlaxed as I have been doing for the past 6 or so relaxers.  Texlaxing is when the relaxer creme is washed off before the hair is relaxed bone straight.  The hair remains with some texture and will be fuller than if it is relaxed bone straight.

After my relaxer I will review the T444Z product that I used on my scalp while I was in braids.

24 Responses to “Hair update – 20 weeks post relaxer”

  1. lolo 23 October, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Hi T. I can’t wait to see your hair after you relaxed it and I want to know abt the t444z

    • Tendayi 23 October, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

      I also can’t wait!!

  2. Hope 23 October, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    waal 20weeks and the hair still looks neat. Would you recommend relaxing when you are pregnant l have heard so many different opinions about this.

    • Tendayi 23 October, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

      I was pregnant twice and I did not relax until I was done breastfeeding. I went for a period of 4 yrs without relaxing. It was a personal decision. I found lots of opposing literature on the internet but my take was that relaxers are chemicals and if there was a chance that they could enter my bloodstream then I would avoid them until I had given birth and finished breastfeeding. I have no scientific evidence to back this up, it was just a decision I made.

  3. Rue007 23 October, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    Hi Tendayi. First of all congratulations on making it 20 weeks post. I’m still at a stage were 6 weeks post relaxer is an achievement. But I’m inspired to change that now.
    Secondly, I’ve been hearing a lot about this T444Z so I really can’t wait to hear your objective opinion and experience as most of the testimonies thus far have been mainly from the sales team or models hired by the company.
    Lastly, I wanted to find out, when you had your braids on, after washing them would you put conditioner on them? I’m afraid it may cause the braids to slip off from the hair even though I currently have twists.
    Thanx
    Rue

    • Tendayi 23 October, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

      I would put conditioner but I would dilute it with water so it isn’t too thick. Its needs to be thin to make it rinse out easily. If your braids are done properly they should not slip out at all with washing / conditionining.

  4. Audrey 23 October, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    Hi your hair looks really soft and manageable 20 weeks post relaxer.Well done!!! I saw on another blog that Amla oil makes hair thicker?What are your thoughts on this?Thanks so much,love your blog.

    • Tendayi 23 October, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

      Thank you Audrey 🙂

      I have some amla oil but I haven’t used it frequently. Oils that make hair thicker usually work in part by reducing shedding and breakage which thin the hair. If your hair breaks and sheds less then this results in having more hair on your head and thus thicker hair.

  5. Pumi 24 October, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    Hi Tendayi I think you are a relaxer away from your goal………….Awesome tips

    • Tendayi 24 October, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

      I hope so Pumi. It doesn’t look like it when I look in the mirror!!

  6. Sibusisiwe Ndhlovu 24 October, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    Looking forward to what you hair will look like after using T444Z. I am also using T444Z for the last 7 weeks when I had my braids done. The growth on my hair line so far is extremely encouraging. So is the growth on the rest of the braids. Have been washing and conditioning my braids very two weeks per your advice, and all new growth feels ooh so soft!

    • Tendayi 24 October, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      Keep at it and you will definately see a difference. I will do a review in about a weeks time after I relax my ahir. Im also excited to see is longer and if I am nearer my goal.

  7. Xoe 25 October, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    Hi Tendayi. Please may you refere me to your hairdresser and salon I have been hoping from one salon to another and I havent been lucky.

    • Tendayi 25 October, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

      Hi Xoe
      Im sending you an email with her details. Don’t want to put them on this public forum because I don’t have her permission.

  8. Antoinette 26 October, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    Hi Tendayi, i have been following your blog for about 3 months now and i am always looking forward to your weekly posts 🙂 . I’m now 18 weeks post relaxer, I used to get my relaxers every 8 weeks. This time i’m stretching because i am trying to grow the hair on my temples. I think it was damaged by tight weaves and braiding but the rest of my hairline is ok. since i stopped relaxing I’ve seen some improvement and this gives me strength to fight the urge to relax … I’m planning to get my next relaxer in February 2013… another four month to go.

    • Tendayi 27 October, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

      Wow!! Thats a long stretch. The longest Ive ever gone is 24 weeks and I managed because of braids. All the best to you. You can also relax but leave out the fragile gair on your temples. I left out my hairline last time.

      • Antoinette 28 October, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

        Yes have braids now , they really help with stretches. If i decide to relax my hair early i will leave out the hair on temples… thanx 🙂

      • Tendayi 29 October, 2012 at 9:15 am #

        All the best! Keep us posted please!

  9. lolo 28 October, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    Hey T. I would like to know that can I mix the castor oil and Luster s curl no drip, pls advise

    • Tendayi 29 October, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      Yes you can! Not too much though. I suggest you mix in a different bottle. A little at a time until you get the ratio you like. You can also add other things like aloe vera juice, other oils, glycerin, essential oils etc. Its all a matter of preference.

  10. luckyluwi 02 November, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Hi, I’m trying to grow my hair and I really don’t know how to stop it from breaking. Everytime it gets to a certain length it breaks and I have to start all over again. Help me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Should Color Treated Hair Still Be Considered NATURAL? | Love A Natural Me - 23 October, 2012

    […] Hair update – 20 weeks post relaxer […]

  2. Relaxer Update « africanhairblog - 05 November, 2012

    […] Hair update – 20 weeks post relaxer (africanhairblog.com) […]

Leave a Reply

