Products for natural hair

2 Nov

Due to all the hair product lines being brought out for those with natural hair, I thought I would just list all the ones I know are available in South Africa.  Demand has brought an advent of products made especially for natural hair since there has been an increase in women deciding to go natural.  The great thing about these products is that the shampoos / cleansers are sulphate free and the other products are free of mineral oil, petrolatum or SD alcohols.  The lines also include styling products for curl definition which make it possible to style hair without leaving it crunchy or hard.  These products also include natural ingredients like oils and butters.

 1.       Curls Unleashed by Organic Root Stimulator

This line is available in Africa Cash and Carry in Gauteng and New Look stores in the Western Cape.   The line includes a curl refresher. curl boosting jelly, moisturising conditioner, shine and define mousse, leave in conditioner, sulphate free shampoo and curl defining crème.  For more information visit their website.

 2.       Curl Care by Dr Miracle

I’ve seen this line in certain Clicks stores.  What I have realised is that it’s available in the bigger Clicks stores.  In Pretoria I have seen it at the Clicks at Menlyn Park mall.  The available products are soft hold crème, weightless moisturising crème, rehydrating shampoo, nourishing conditioner, boosting & defining leave in conditioner and frizz control serum.  Get more details on their website.

 3.       True Textures by Mizani

Mizani products are only sold through accredited salons.  You can contact Mizani for information of salons that sell the line in your area.  Most of the salons may not have it in stock but you can ask them to order it for you.  The line has the following products – moisturizing sulphate-free shampoo, intense moisturizing mask, cleansing cream, conditioning curl wash, moisturizing leave-in crème, curl defining cream gel, curl extending cream, moisturizing high-hold jelly.  Visit the Mizani website for more information.

 4.       Natural Textures by Keracare

This line should be available later this month.  It is also a salon line.  To get details of salons in your area call Botlhale Distributors on 082 419 9002.  The line includes – cleansing cream, leave in conditioner, hair milk, butter cream, twist & define cream and defining custard.  Get more information on the website.

 5.       Jo’M Cosmetics

This is a South African line that has been around for some time now.  I actually wonder how the advent of all these other brands impacts on this company, especially given that the other brands are lines from ‘larger’ brands.  They also market their products to women who are transitioning from relaxed to natural hair.  They sell an ‘afro pack’ especially for this purpose.  The line also has products for dreadlocks.  The products include – hair softener, anti-dandruff shampoo, braids & dreadlocks spray, dreadlocks cream, beeswax and a hair moisturiser.  Visit the Jo’M Cosmetics website for more.

Have I left any out?  Please let me know.

34 Responses to “Products for natural hair”

  1. Andiswa 02 November, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Thanks Tendayi, this is super awesome of you to do this for us. I’m one of those who’ve decided to go natural and I’m always on the lookout for products to cater for my hair, but I’m first to admit that products will only be as good as the tlc we give to our hair. One product that I’m dying to try though is Shea Moisture. I’ve had great reviews about it from the blogs I subscribed to (all American alas!). I’d love to know if I can get my hands on that product range here in SA. What do you know about it?

    • Tendayi 02 November, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      Hi Andiswa

      You’re welcome!

      Yes I do know about Shea Moisture. I don’t think you can get it here unless you buy it online. I bought a tub of Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie for my sister (she is natural) on an overseas trip. She says she loves it and Im trying to get her to write a review! As soon as she does I will post it! This is the post where I talk about it – http://africanhairblog.com/2012/08/01/got-my-hands-on-a-few-new-products/

  2. Beth 02 November, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    Thank you thank you! I’ve also been “natural” for approximately 6 months and had braids and other styles for most of that time because it was so “difficult” to care for… I’ve decided to let my hair be for now and to learn how to care for it properly… One thing I must thank you and other hair bloggers for is the RAVING REVIEWS about coconut oil, bought it this week and my afro looks amazing! Love that i can apply it to wet hair and it blends in well…

    • Tendayi 02 November, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

      You’re welcome.

      Cococnut oil is great even for those of us with relaxed hair. You must also try pre shampoo treatments. Im sure your hair will love them. Apply the coconut oil to your hair and scalp and put on a shower cap. Wear the shower cap for as long as you can or even overnight then proceed to shampoo and deep condition your hair as usual. I do it overnight and wash the next day. It always results in super soft hair! try it and let me know if your afro loves it too!

      • Beth 08 November, 2012 at 8:41 am #

        Oh I will! Thanks =D

    • Tendayi 02 November, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

      A post on preshampoo treatments (using coconut oil or any other oil you like) – http://africanhairblog.com/2011/04/08/pre-shampoo-treatments/

  3. FroChic 03 November, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    This is really good for us. I doubt it’ll affect Jo’M though. People are hungry for good hair products. Remember T in SA, if 4 out of 10 women are natural, only one in those 4 has internet access. All these fancy brands are mostly known to those of us who have such priviledges. I know of a few cleaners @ my workplace (with no exposure to the internet) who have long natural hair hidden under weaves. Those ladies will buy anything that works. So I’m not really nervous for Jo’M. Excited about all these other brands? Oh hell yeah!!! Keep em coming!

    • Tendayi 03 November, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

      Thats great then! I think we need to support our own. If we don’t who will!

  4. Aisha 03 November, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    Thanks for this post. I’ve been trying to get a hold of the Curls Unleashed range for a couple of months now ever since I saw it was available in Shimmer magazine. I think they’d said it would be available in certain Clicks stores but I haven’t seen them anywhere in Joburg. I’ll definitely check out the Africa cash n carry. I hope it’s there but it’ll also be good for them to distribute them to more accessible stores.

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      Clicks and Dischem would be the best for us consumers! I’m not sure how it works getting your product into these stores but I hope given that ORS already have other lines in the stores then Curls Unleashed will soon be available there too.

  5. irene 06 November, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Hi tendai..thanks for this review…I must say clicks is really not consistent with its product distribution – they recently advertised their new product castor oil from organic root stimulator – but i have not seen this new product in most of the branches around PTA…hopefully it will hit the shops soon. For me i have found that Faithful to nature as the best stockist of organic hair products which is so great for natural hair. Although based in Cape Town, you can shop online and they deliver for free anything above R250. They have amazing sulphate free shampoos, conditioners, masks and treatments ….i love the Soil Pure Organic Kenyan Shea Butter …

    • Tendayi 06 November, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

      With Clicks Ive found the bigger branches stock things the smaller ones dont have. You are right though, you oten visit a branch and you dont find what you want. Sometimes you find the range but not the specific product.

      let me go to the faithful to Nature website.

  6. Eloise 07 November, 2012 at 2:32 am #

    I for one am excited about all these products that are now becoming part of South African womens hair care regimens. Also if there are more variety it means that more women will find a product that works for their own unique head of hair!! I, personally am on the lookout for AS I AM hair products! You mentioned reading about its availability in Shimmer mag. Unfortunately I can’t see to find the right edition. If youcould do post or even a review that would be great.
    As always throughly enjoyed the post!

    • Tendayi 07 November, 2012 at 9:54 am #

      Hi Eloise
      AS I AM products are made by Avlon. The distributor of Avlon products in SA said she has decided to focus on Natural Textures for now as opposed to AS I AM products. She said she had brought a few samples into SA to test the market. That is how it ended up in Shimmer magazine. You can get in touch with her on the number in the post. Maybe you can convince her to bring in some AS I AM stuff for you . She may still have some samples for you to try too.

      • Eloise 09 November, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

        Thanx Tendayi, will definitely give her a call! 🙂

  7. Beke 07 November, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    Hi tendai- have you ever used amla oil? If so what’s your views on the product. I currently use mizani products hope, will be pre pooing with amla oil- I hope for the best.

    • Tendayi 07 November, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

      I have it but haven’t yet used it. I think you should give it a go. I have an Indian friend who told me she uses it weekly as an overnight pre poo. It won’t harm your hair so go for it!

  8. Barati 09 November, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    There is also Afro-Botanics. It’s a South African range for Natural hair. http://www.afro-botanics.com. I use her products and I think they’re great.

    • Tendayi 10 November, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      Hi Barati
      Please correct me if Im wrong. It looks to me like the range is not marketed specifically to women with natural hair but also those with relaxed and those that have hair colour. It seems all encompassing. The ‘natural’ part seems to come from the fact that they use natural / organic ingredients. It seems like a great product line none the less.

  9. Sol 12 December, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    Which Pietermaritzburg /Durban salon sells Curls Unleased line? I live in KZN and Gauteng is very far for me to get these products. Some one please help with info.

    • Tendayi 13 December, 2012 at 9:15 am #

      Hi Sol

      Curls Unleashed is not a salon line so I doubt you will find it being sold in salons. Let me find out where you can find then in KZN.

    • Tendayi 13 December, 2012 at 10:00 am #

      ORS says its not yet available in KZN but it will be soon!

  10. jo-ann 14 January, 2013 at 12:17 am #

    Hie there I have a natural hair and I’m using a hair glo 2 make it soft.I heard that if u are using it u dnt have 2 use other. Product becoze my hair its gona fall.so I dnt know what 2 do.and sumtimes when I comb it some hair fall.pls help

    • Tendayi 14 January, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

      Im not sure about the product you mention. Which one is it?

  11. Cici 26 May, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

    Hi
    Where is Keracare available in South Africa? I’m about to do my BC but want to have settled on a product before I do

  12. Grace 14 July, 2013 at 2:57 am #

    Hey. I seem to have difficulty finding butters in SA eg shea butter, mango butter etc? What is frustrating they originate here in Africa bt seems like u can order it only. Are there any stores that sell these butters in their pure , raw form?( Just like in the youtube vloggers and they have buckets of these butters)

    • Tendayi 16 July, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

      I have seen butters in health shops. I think thats your best bet if you want an actual store. Almost every mall has one. You will get online stores in SA that sell them though. Im sure you will get more variety that way. I know http://www.windrose.co.za sells about 4 different butters.

    • petronella 28 October, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

      You can get shea butter from the website faithful to nature

      • Tendayi 05 November, 2013 at 10:55 am #

        Thank you for the info Petronella

  13. Hauwa musa 05 November, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    Which of dis product can i find in nigeria

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

      I don’t know. Hope someone will be able to answer you Hauwa.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Taliah Waajidd’s Black Earth Products now at Target. | - 15 December, 2012

    […] Products for natural hair (africanhairblog.com) […]

Leave a Reply

