Relaxer Update

5 Nov

I finally had a relaxer this past Saturday.  I went to the same salon and used the same stylist I have used for some time now.  She applied Mizani Butter Base Scalp Protector to my scalp including my hairline and the tips of my ears.  She then applied Organic Root Stimulator (no lye, regular strength) hair relaxer to my new growth only.  She started from the back of my head and worked towards the front.  Once again, I asked her to leave out my hairline because I still feel it doesn’t need to be relaxed.  The hair on my hairline is quite fine and I felt it didn’t need relaxing, not just yet anyway.  She also texlaxed my hair just as she has done over the last few relaxers.  Texlaxing is when you deliberately wash and neutralise the relaxer before it has a chance to relax your hair bone straight.  The hair is left with some texture.  I do not sit with relaxer crème on my hair.  As soon as the stylist is done the relaxer crème is rinsed off and neutralised.  She conditioned the hair with Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner which comes as part of the relaxer kit.  The hair was then blow dried and flat ironed after applying Organic Root Stimulator Heat Protection Serum.

My hair is longer than at my last relaxer but I did not gain as much length as I had hoped.  It’s definitely not as long as I wanted it to be!  I still have not given up on my goal of at least grazing bra strap length (BSL) by end of December 2012.  I’m planning my next relaxer for February 2013 at around 12 weeks post relaxer.

Between now and end of December this is what I plan to do:

  • Do pre shampoo treatments at least once a week with coconut oil.  I really see the benefits of this when I do it.  My hair is always very soft.
  • Continue to wash and deep condition twice a week.  This is what works best for me.
  • Now that I have relaxed my hair I can now try out the curlfomers I got about a month ago.

I promised you a review of the T444Z hairfood I used while I was in braids.  I will post it tomorrow so don’t forget to check back in.

Read about my last relaxer here.

My fingers mark my goal – BSL. Can I get there by December 31???

75 Responses to “Relaxer Update”

  1. Aphro 05 November, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Fantastic progress! 🙂

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      Thanks Aphro 🙂

      • winnet 05 November, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

        Hie Tendayi…your hair looks amaizing.I’ve een reading your blog for the past four months and have learnt a lot about hair.I also relaxed my hair on saturday after a seven month stretch and it came out okay but not as good as yours.I had been in protective styles all this tyme and i feel maybe my progress was not so good coz im 5 months pregnant and from my last two experiences i usually loose my hair.Nyway i wanted to ask you after how many days post relaxing do you start to moisturise and dosnt it make your hair shrink hence hard to style.

      • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

        Pregnancy does do things to our hair! For some it becomes thicker and fuller and grows faster but then sometimes you lose a lot of hair after giving birth (called post partum shedding).

        I start moisturising the very next day after relaxer. I only have this sleek straight look on relaxer day but after that Im back to mu usual! It does shrink a bit after moisturising but I dont mind. I only every have dead straight hair like this on relaxer days. Outside of that I set with rollers to get my hair straight.

    • sibusiso 24 December, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

      Do you flat iron after each wash? Ie 3 times a week?

      • Tendayi 25 December, 2012 at 1:34 am #

        I flat iron after each relaxer every 3 months minimum. I wash twice a week and those times i just air dry.

      • sibusiso 25 December, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

        Your hair actually looks like its flat ironed, I can’t believe its only air dried that’s too good. Please give me some tips, I did a big chop a year ago but now I feel I don’t look good and am beginning to hate the hassles as well. I’ve read about texlaxing and am excited about it but I don’t see. Any infor on how to transition from natural to texlax- any tips

      • Tendayi 25 December, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

        In the pic above my hair is flat ironed. Like i said i flat iron each relaxer and air dry at other times.

        Moving from natural to texlaxed is not refered to as transitioning. Transitioning is when you move from relaxed to naturalz gradually, trimming of the relaxed ends occassionaly until all the relaxed ends have been removed and you are fully natural.

        Just look for general texlaxing tips. That should suffice.

        My advice to you is not to relax / texlax as a ways to escape natural hair. Relaxed hair has its own challenges too. Rather learn how to take care of your natural hair and learn to style it. If you do decide to texlax, your hair has to be in great condition to begin with. Relaxing damaged hair will only worsen your hairs condition.

      • sibusiso 04 January, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

        Hi and thank u so much for the advice, especially for taking time to respond on x mas! My hairline needs attention so I wil work on it before considering to go the texlax route.

      • Tendayi 04 January, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

        You”re welcome

      • sibusiso 05 January, 2013 at 11:15 am #

        Hi, what scarf\material do you use to cover your hair at night to retain moisture?

      • Tendayi 05 January, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

        i have a silk scarf plus a few satiny scarves too. Just stay away from cotton.

  2. Good Hair Diaries™© (@GoodHairDiaries) 05 November, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    I think your being a bit too critical. Your hair has grown a lot! I definitely BELIEVE you will be at BSL by January 1, 2013. I’m giving you an extra day. Keep moisturizing like you have been, deep conditioning twice a week and protective style. That protective style really does help! I’m so happy 😉

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

      Thanks Kavuli. I think I was just expecting more. The truth is though my hair has never been this long, ever! To January 1 2012 then!!

  3. Busi 05 November, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    Your hair is gorgeous. I recently relaxed too; when the relaxer is left too long the hair does loose a lot of texture and volume and it just becomes flat..which is frustrating. Didn’t know about texlaxing..I’ll tell my stylist bout it. She probably knows already. LOVE.

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

      Thanks Busi. Yes texlaxing makes a huge difference. The only downside is that when you start your hair will be two textures, the thicker roots and the thinner ends where you used to relax. This goes away in time with trimming.

  4. Milly 05 November, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Wow, this keeps me motivated! Your hair has grown a whole lot. Well done and congrats! Cant wait to read about the t444z tomorrow which i started using lase week. My go-to relaxed hair blog. 🙂

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

      Thank you Milly 🙂

  5. africachef 05 November, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    Why do you use the olive oil relaxer? I want to switch relaxer I use profective relaxer and sometimes ladine relaxer (but my ladine hairdresser moved). And profective isn’t sold in clicks anymore. What do you recommend from the relaxers would like to switch back to mizani relaxer but its so pricy in south africa. I dnt know what my hair type is. I really can’t tell.
    Regards,Pat Size

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

      I didn’t really choose ORS relaxer it was recommended to me in 2009 before I started really caring for my hair. I just went with a hairstylists recommendation. I have stuck to it though because it works form my hair. I don’t have any issues with it. Mizani does get good reviews though. It is definately pricy but you could use it and then increase the amount of weeks you go in between relaxers to balance out the cost.

    • Pat 09 November, 2012 at 9:10 am #

      thanks for the reply….you have gorgeous hair

  6. Sibusisiwe Ndhlovu 05 November, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    You hair has definately grown Tendayi – well done!! You will reach BSL soon!! Waiting for your review of T444Z. I have been using T444Z for 2 months 1 week now with my hair in braids, and my hair line is recovering. I am keeping my fingers crossed…

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

      Thank you. I will post the review tomorrow. I used it for 8 weeks straight while also in braids. I’ll try and make the review as comprehensive as I can.

  7. sithandekileSithandekile 05 November, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    beautiful hair Tendayi 🙂

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      Thank you Sithandekile 🙂

  8. Abigaail 05 November, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    Wow Tendayi, your hair looks GORGEOUS!!! And it has really grown a whole lot you should give yourself a pat on the back mama! I’ve no doubt you will reach BSL very soon. As for T444Z I think I’ve fallen in love with it. I used It while in braids and I’ve seen an improvementin both on my hairline and general health of my hair. Its pricy but I think for me its been worth it.

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

      Thank you Abigail! Im now seeing it now that everyone is mentioning! Will share my T444Z thoughts tomorrow!

  9. lungiswaz 05 November, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    Your hair looks gorgeous Tendayi, and it has defintely grown – you are giving me hope for my hair.

    I went for a relaxer yesterday, and I must say I do see the difference in my hair since I’ve been taking care of my hair for the past 6 weeks. But the stylist relaxing me didn’t oblige when I asked him not to put any creme on my already relaxed hair. I actually had to ‘cuss’ him out to let him now that I was serious.

    Luckily I had put coconut oil on my already relaxed hair before I went to relax, I think that helped a bit because the damage wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

      Thanks Lungiwaz!

      Stylists can be so annoying. There is no need to apply relaxer to all the hair. The problem is that over time the bair at the ends becomes brittle from overporcessing and it breaks off. Maybe you should consider changing stylists. Putting oil on the ends does help because oil slows down the relaxer process.

  10. nondi 05 November, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Im speechless of your hair Ms T.

    I realy want to get on the t444z band wagon. Thing is, I have no idea where to get it. Im situated in Bloemfontein. Please hook a sister up.

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      Hi Nondi

      Im working on the review right now. I’ll ask the SA distributor how you can get it in Bloem. Check in tomorrow!

  11. Leillah 05 November, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Your hair looks nice and really healthy. Love it.
    I used to use only beautiful beginnings but my hairdresser recommended profectiv and it is pretty good as well.
    Nice explanation of texlaxing. It is what I have always done, but did not know what it was called.

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      Thank you Leillah. texlaxing was actually suggested to me by the hairstylist I go to for relaxers. She doesn’t call it texlaxing though – she just suggested she wash the relaxer out sooner than normal to give my hair body and volume!

  12. Ms Z. 05 November, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    I was so excited when I saw this post in my email, lol! Love following your hair journey. Keep going! You’ll get there soon. I am fighting to get to shoulder length myself, a few more inches to go! Maybe I’ll be there by February 2013

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      Thanks Ms Z!! Trying to grow hair longer takes patience!

  13. T 05 November, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    Hi Tendayi, thanks your blog is very informative. You’ve managed to retain length and thickness which is great. Having recently shaved all my damaged hair off (helped along by stress related hair thinning) I am using your tips to build healthy hair from scratch. I tried the Dr Miracles natural range following our last post and must admit its left my very short hair very dry. back to the drawing board I guess. Wantitall.co.za has been a great source to order JBCO for delivery in SA though, which has helped. Have you heard anything about the Trigger growth elixer referred to on other blogs?

    • Tendayi 06 November, 2012 at 11:39 am #

      Hi T
      I have been to the wantitall website but the stuff I searched for was so expensive, about 10 times as much for some things. I have not yet used the site.

      I have heard of Trigger Growth Elixir – it sounds great! Sounds like a great set of ingredients. Are you thinking of buying it? Would love to know your experience.

  14. Charity 06 November, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Hi T.
    I have been following your blog for a couple of months now and I must say I have learnt a lot. At times we get so caught up with striving for our ultimate hair length that we forget to enjoy our hair during the journey. I made a commitment to enjoy my hair every step of the way. Your hair is beautiful, full of body and MUCH longer than before so enjoy it girl!

    • Tendayi 06 November, 2012 at 10:58 am #

      Thank you Charity. I will enjoy it 🙂 Its a journey!

  15. CharlieKay 06 November, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    Go Tendayi! Am impressed and inspired by your progress.

    • Tendayi 06 November, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

      Thank you CharlieKay 🙂

  16. Angelica 06 November, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

    Hi T! Thank you for your blog, I found it about 2 month ago and have been reading it since, I find it very informative, interesting and easy to read. The thing about me is that I live in Finland, and as you can imagine people with my kind of real afro hair are very rare here, so there is no one to talk about hair issues. So thank you once again for you blog, it really helps me to feel “normal” in the enviroment where I am the only one colored girl with afro hair. And by the way you always look fantastic and your hair is beautiful!

    • Tendayi 07 November, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      Thank you Angelica and you are welcome! Good luck in Finland!

  17. VeeBruin 07 November, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Hi dear

    Your hair looks amazing! An so healthy! Well done! I’m certain you’ll reached your desired length soon.

    I just have a couple questions:
    – did you do a treatment (protein) before the texlax?
    – I know I should have checked under your regimen…do you use heat on you hair after washes, or just rollersetting?
    – did you use the whole tub of the relaxer?

    • Tendayi 07 November, 2012 at 9:45 am #

      Hi VeeBruin

      Yes, the last wash before I got the relaxer I did a protein treatment with Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise. I do that just to prepare it for the chemicals.
      I dont use heat after washing. When I rollerset I air dry. Most days I just let the hair air dry in a bun. When I get a relaxer is when I get the hair flat ironed.
      I used about 1 and 1/2 tubs of relaxer. She mixed the first lot and it ran out so she mixed another one but didint use it all. I had a lot of new growth!

  18. Linda 07 November, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    wow, your hair looks great, read the review on T444Z, thinking of trying it, am currently on braids, it has been only 4 weeks, problem I don’t think I can last for 8 weeks, Can I take them off, and do new braids rather and apply the T444Z? Like fresh looking braids, is that bad for my hair?

    • Tendayi 07 November, 2012 at 9:42 am #

      Why do you think you cannot last 8 weeks Linda?

      If you decide to take them out I suggest you go for 2 weeks before rebraiding. In the two weeks just care for your hair , condition and moisturise it to prepare it for the new set of braids.

  19. Khay 07 November, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Hey Tendayi,

    Well done on your progress, you have been taking care of your hair and it shows… !
    I’m struggling to find a hairdresser that knows how to retouch hair properly. Last time I went the hair dresser route I explained to the lady doing my hair that she should not put relaxer cream on my new growth. I think there was some mis-communication there because she probably thought I meant she shouldn’t put any straight away. She started off fine placing the cream on the new-growth and just as I was relaxing cause I thought she knew what she was doing, she slapped some of that relaxer straight on all of my hair…You can imagine how upset I was… I sat thinking to myself for a couple of minutes ‘maybe its not that bad’ but then I thought to myself… ‘NO I’ve worked to hard trying to guard against breakage and thinning’, then I told her just to wash it off immediately. Suffice it to say, my under-growth was nowhere near straight (not even taxlax straight for that matter)…. *sigh*

    Ok purpose of that long story was do you mind referring me to your hairdresser or any good hairdresser you know of in Cape Town? 🙂

    • Tendayi 07 November, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

      These hairdressers can be so upsetting 😦 One way to gurad against that is to slather oil on your ends before going to the hairdressers. If they apply relaxer to all the hait at least the oil slows down the chemical process.

      The hairdresser I go to is in Pretoria unfortunately. Ive never visited one in Cae Town.

      • Khay 08 November, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

        Lol yeah… the oil is a good idea though thanks for the tip… the quest for a good hairdresser continues…

    • mocahontas 19 November, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

      You can go to african hair kingdom in Tableview. The male hairdresser there is pretty good. That’s where I go get my hair texlaxed. I use mizani and its the truth!

  20. Vuyelwa 14 November, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Where in pretoria is you hairdresser, I would love to visit her.

    • Tendayi 14 November, 2012 at 10:55 am #

      Ive emailed you her details 🙂

  21. Natalie 14 November, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    hey Tendayi loving your hair…..i got braids on now and its about 2mnts now with them,my wedding is on the 22nd of december so when should i relax my hair. um planning to remove my braids begining of december so should i relax then or after one week or so. its length is about your May length,,,,,,,,,

    • Tendayi 14 November, 2012 at 11:34 am #

      How are you planning to wear your hair on your wedding?

      I would suggest you remove your braids sooner. Since you have had them for 2 months already. If you keep the braids too long you will have some serious knots! I suggest you remove the braids sooner – maybe in a weeks time. Look after your hair before relaxing about 2 weeks before your wedding day. Washa dn deep condition once or twice a week and moisturise daily. The wash before your relaxer, deep condition with a protein conditioner eg Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise or Motions CPR. This will prepare your hair for the relaxer. After the relaxer and leading up to your wedding day continue to take extra care of it too. Make sure its getting enough moisture. This will ensure your hair is in great condition once you get to your wedding day.

      • Natalie 15 November, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

        wow thanks hey will remove asap! then care for it till i relax

  22. Natalie 15 November, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    weirdly if i keep my braids for too long i get headaches like right now. its almost the 2nd month now with them…

  23. Borejane 19 November, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    I have the most difficult hair to relax. Instead of it going backwards, it goes up and looks like an afro

    • Tendayi 19 November, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

      Sounds like your hair is underprocessed. Make sure you are using the relaxer correctly and leaving it on your hair for the correct amount of time. Also just check that you don’t need a stronger relaxer strength. If this doesn’t work it may be time to change your relaxer.

  24. Borejane 21 November, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    Thank you, I’m going to try the ORS relaxer, hopefully I’ll get the results I’m looking for. Will keep u posted.

    • Tendayi 21 November, 2012 at 10:35 am #

      Good luck!

      • Borejane 25 November, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

        I’m so in love with your hair. I’ve recently started oiling with castor oil, and my hair is so soft. Naturally I have thick and very hard to relax hair and was scared that the oil will make it worse. But no, it is absolutely beautiful. Now I’ve been told that I’m using the wrong castor oil. They say the one I’m using is a laxative. Which one should I be using, because I’m now confused. Please help!!!

      • Tendayi 26 November, 2012 at 10:48 am #

        The castor oil just needs to be plain / pure. No additives or colour. Some people do take castor oil orally as a laxative. There are some brands like Hercules that add colour and flavour to make the castor oil easier to swallow. They also do make a plain one too I think. Bottom line – it just needs to be plain / pure!

  25. Josephine Shoniwa 11 December, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    hi my hair never grew much but i found that treating my hair with amla oil helps, you put a bit in your hair before you sleep wrap your hair at night wash it out in the morning adds great length and on the weekend keep amla oil in and only wash out monday morning, also adding a few drops of amla oil to your relaxer gives your hair some added benefits

    • Tendayi 11 December, 2012 at 9:41 am #

      Great tip Josephine. Oils are great. In my cupboard I have coconut, castor, grapeseed and some amla too. I haven’t yet used the amla oil. I do know though that my Indian friends use it weekly on their hair (overnight). What we call a ‘prepoo’. They dont call it that though!

  26. Josephine Shoniwa 11 December, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    a nigerian friend told me about using unrefined shea butter the one from ghana. she said after relaxing put a bit on your hair

    • Tendayi 11 December, 2012 at 10:00 am #

      Shea butter is great for hair. Its very popular among those with natural hair. You can get shea butter in SA (I’m assuming you are in SA!!)

  27. Sylvia Mashiloane 29 December, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    Hi my name is Sylvia i have a problem with my hair…it’s one of those hard hair but now i want to relax it but everytime i do my scalp burns and my hair ends up the same way it was..can i use this product and get a different result?

  28. Lentswe 03 January, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Hi tendayi i am jealous i would like to have such a beautiful hair one of the good days. my hair does not grow and i love having long natural hair hey… i have been using dark and lovely for three years now but it does not help. please give me advise i have tried so much to grow my hair but the challenge i face is it breaks or my hairline breaks. u have an absolute beautiful hair… I am thinking of dread locks now…

    • Tendayi 03 January, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

      Hi Lentswe

      My hair has not always looked like this believe me! It only started looking like this when I started to take better care of it. Hair (and hairlines) break for a reason. Once you eliminate that reason then your hair will respond. Trust me. I suggest you go through the articles on the blog and see how far I have come and what I have been doing – http://africanhairblog.com/category/diary/

      Also look at these articles for more on how to care for your hair – http://africanhairblog.com/category/article/

  29. njeri maina 14 January, 2014 at 1:43 pm #

    hi am amazed hair can grow that much and I also texlaxed my hair cause its really thin though I heard it from a friend of mine! and seeing this just gave me a load of motivation and hope to grow my hair. I just treated my hair and am air drying it, wanted to know how soon is appropriate to plait it can I do it in two weeks and please recommend so hair products I should use. thank u am glad I stumbled on this blog! !!

    • Tendayi 17 January, 2014 at 4:43 pm #

      After relaxing I normally wait more than four weeks before braiding or getting cornrows. For products please see my ‘regimen’ page to see what I use.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy New Year | africanhairblog - 17 January, 2014

    […] for my hair, I had my last relaxer more than a year ago.  I choose not to relax my hair while pregnant.  I’ve managed to go so […]

  2. Hair Update | africanhairblog - 03 March, 2014

    […] pregnant, I stopped relaxing my hair.  This is something I have done with all my pregnancies.  My last relaxer was in November […]

Leave a Reply

