Hair update – 4 weeks post relaxer

5 Dec
my first attempt at a sock bun

my first attempt at a sock bun

I’m now four weeks post relaxer.  I don’t yet see much change to my hair since my relaxer.  A bit of new growth has crept in but not enough to warrant any changes to my normal hair care routine.  I’ve washed and deep conditioned twice weekly since I got the relaxer four weeks ago.  It’s been very hot lately so I have been spraying my hair lightly with water before applying moisturiser and a bit of oil.  I’m doing this for the extra moisture.  I am using the spray bottle I showed you here.

With the holidays coming up we are planning some travel.  I will pack several packs of Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner.  The packs are convenient in that they are light and easy to put away in luggage.  I will also pack shampoo (I think I will decant my Tresemme Naturals shampoo into a smaller bottle), a small bottle of coconut oil and plenty of shower caps which I will use to deep condition overnight.  I will also pack a moisturiser, probably Organic Root Stimulator Moisturising Hair Lotion.

My goal was to reach bra strap length (BSL) by 31 December 2012.  I hope I will at least be grazing BSL by then.  I will do a length check on the day to see.

As for my 2013 goals, I will do another post and let you know what they are.

 

28 Responses to “Hair update – 4 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Paula 05 December, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    Tendayi, what’s the best way to air dry. I just went out and bought rollers so I’m set for Saturday when I give my hair some tlc.
    Can you air dry though without using rollers? If yes, how do I do this and still get great results?
    My hair is neck length and I’m marking December as the month I start my regimen. Hope to see results. Wish me luck !

    • Tendayi 05 December, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      It depends on the look you are going for. I air dry without rollers most times. I only use rollers when I want the hair to be super straight. Most times I just wash, deep condition then moisturise soon after rinsing off deep conditioner while the hair is wet. I then put it in a bun and let it dry that way. It dries relatively straight. Sometimes I will put the hair in a bun and tie a scarf and let it dry under a scarf. This helps especially with the edges to lay them flat. Other times I may tie it back and braid the hair in the ponytail. After it has dried the ponytail will be curly.

    • Tendayi 05 December, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

      In the pic above i put it in the sock bun while slightly damp and let it dry like that.

  2. Lydz 05 December, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Your hair looks lovely!

    crowningglorymine.blogspot.com

  3. Jackie 05 December, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    Hi Tendayi – I keep hearing about pre-poo and co-wash – what’s the difference please? and what do you recommend?

    • Tendayi 05 December, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

      A pre shampoo treatment is a treatment you do on your hair before shampooing it. On hair boards it is referred to as a pre poo treatment! To pre poo you apply your oils or mixture to dry or damp hair. You cover your hair with a plastic cap for anything from 15 minutes to overnight. You then shampoo your hair and proceed to deep condition and moisturise as usual. Some choose to sit under a hooded dryer and so keep the pre poo on the hair for a shorter time.

      Conditioner washing (or co washing) is simply washing the hair with conditioner. To co wash you simply use the conditioner like a shampoo. First rinse your hair for a few minutes with water. Apply the conditioner onto the hair and lather. Rinse out the conditioner.

      Take a look at these posts for detail :
      http://africanhairblog.com/2011/12/14/bw-conditioner-washing/
      http://africanhairblog.com/2011/04/08/pre-shampoo-treatments/

      Both are great and used under different circumstances. If yopu shampoo often, you can co wash some of those times just to lessen the use of shampoos which can be harsh on the hair. If your hair needs some extra tlc then you can give pre poos a shot. You can work both into your hair care routine depending on what your hair needs.

  4. Chipo 05 December, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    You have great hair girl, and thank you for the dedication to help with hair advice, am one person who is hands on now on my natural hair. Before I used to just ignore as it never grew to even neck length when in chemical, but since deciding to go natural 2years ago and with your tips, advise and information, have seen a lot of change, will share some pics with you soon

    • Tendayi 05 December, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

      thank you Chipo. I look forward to seeing the pics

  5. ghanaianemprezz 05 December, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    The bun is beautiful

    • Tendayi 05 December, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

      thank you Ghanaianemprezz 🙂

  6. lolo 05 December, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    Hey T. Very nice hair,how to do sock bun?

    • Tendayi 05 December, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

      Thanks Lolo. Let me work on a post to show exactly how to do it. Will post it in a few days.

      • lolo 05 December, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

        Thanks T. I’ll be waiting

  7. nondi 06 December, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Hey Tendayi

    I’m 12 week post and i have micro braids (self installed) to help me along my stretch. Iv had my braids on for almost 2 weeks now. By the time i plan to take them down I will be 18 weeks post.This will be the longest iv ever stretched.

    I base my scalp with T444z and i can honestly say, the growth feels moisturized and i moisturize the length with sta so fro braid spray (purple lid). I also baggy my my whole head at least twice a week. Sunday will be the first time i wash the braids.

    My worry is wen i take down the braids, how in the world am i going to manage the knots and tangles? I’m so worried that i will lose alot of hair because of these. My next concern is the two weeks i will be TLC’ing my hair before my relaxer, how do i keep my hair super moisturized becuase i’m realy struggling with that? Please advise me on how to actually go about detangling so i dont have too much breakage before I wash.

    • Tendayi 07 December, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

      Here is my advice to you –
      – wash your hair just before you take the braids off. This will ensure you eliminate any dirt / dust etc that can be washed out and you are working with hair that is clean.
      – Buy a detangler / hair softener and smother that generously on your braids up to where your hair ends. Concentrate on the base of the braid where knots form.
      – Take down one braid at a time. After undoing each braid, detangle it thoroughly before moving on. Its a slow process and may take you a few days but its worth it. Start from the back and when you are tired stop and continue later or the next day. Starting from the back enables you to tie your braids back and hide the fact that you are undoing them.
      – After iundoing and detangling a section of hair, twist it so that it doesnt tangle while you are finishing off as the process can take a few days.
      – Undo your hair yourself. This is because no one else can be as patient with your hair as you can. A salon will undo your whole head then use a brush to detangle the whole head. there is no way they camn be as thorough when faced with a head full of knots and tangles.
      – Once you have undone the whole head, undo each twist and detangle again until all of them are undone. Your hair will now be ready to shampoo and deep condition.

      Take a look at these posts where I detail this whole process. I use it for my braids as well as my daughters. http://africanhairblog.com/2012/10/05/im-undoing-my-braids-2/ and http://africanhairblog.com/2012/07/10/how-i-undo-braids/

      As for the 2 weeks after taking the relaxer off – forget about fancy hairstyles during this time! Just stick to something that requires minimal combing / styling. I normally just have a bun each day for the 2 weeks. Moisturise your hair in sections to ensure it is adequately moisturised. Moisturise it twice a day – morning and night. You can also dampen it with water just before moisturing for extra moisture. Also seal the moisture in with some natural oil. Just remember to be super gentle.

      Hope this helps!

      • kangopie 13 December, 2012 at 8:00 am #

        thanks Nondi for asking the question I now have a game plan for my braids

  8. wiscellaneous 06 December, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    really elegant! like it alot!

  9. nondi 09 December, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    Thank you so very much!

  10. kangopie 13 December, 2012 at 8:36 am #

    thanks for the details about how your will pack for travel Tendayi… i was laughing with the girls about how packing hair products is a serious challenge for us since we started our hair journey’s…

    • Tendayi 13 December, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      I just make sure I leave those big bottles at home. I buy those small bottles at the pharmacy and use those! It is a chanllenge!

  11. luxolo 03 January, 2013 at 9:11 am #

    Happy new year! I just wanted ur advice cos this year will see me running around looking for a job as I’ve finished my degree.Now cutting my hair is out of the question,I have natural unrelaxed hair.What advice could u give me that would help it looking oh so neat and clean all the time for my interviews without regular salon visits? I’m a 21 year old guy

    • Tendayi 03 January, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

      Hi Luxolo

      I would suggest you wash your hair often and keep it moisturised daily (even twice daily). You do not need to use shampoo each time for washing as this can be drying, you can also use conditioner to wash (its called doing a conditioner wash or co wash). Moisturised hair leads to soft hair which is easier to style when natural. It also leads to less breakage. If you want your natural hair to be stretched, then you can moisturise and plait it at night and undo the plaits in the morning. The typr of style you do would depend on the work environement. If you are in an arty profession that you can do almost any style really – more conservative jobs like banking and teaching may not look favourably on some styles eg a mohawk at an interview!

      • luxolo 05 January, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

        Thank u so much!

  12. Angela 04 April, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    Hi Tendayi
    I must confess your hair looks very healthy. Well done for the great job. I have been keeping my hair natural for some years now but I have decided to relax it now, can you please advice me on which relaxer to buy or any good one’s on the market? Also I read one of your post that talked about texlaxing your hair instead of relaxing it bone straight, can you please explain the difference.
    Thanks

    • Tendayi 04 April, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

      Thanks Angela

      Saying which relaxer is best is hard! Its actually which one is best for your hair. Unfortunately you will discover that after trying a relaxer out! One relaxer that seems to have a great reputation in SA is Mizani. Its rather pricy but many women seem happy with it. I use Organic Root Stimulator and it works well for me.

      To texlax is to deliberately underprocess a relaxer. To do this the relaxer is neutralised and washed off sooner that the instructions say. This leaves the hair with texture and thicker than it would be were it relaxed dead straight. The hair can be made straight though through sets eg roller sets as well as using heat tools like blow dryers and flat irons.

Leave a Reply

