Reader question – why has my hair stopped growing?

6 Dec

hair breakage

Believe me, your hair is constantly growing.  Everyone’s hair grows, barring a medical condition.  The problem is that our hair often breaks excessively.  If your hair is the same length this month as it was in January 2012 (and you didn’t cut it) then it means your hair was breaking at more or less the same rate as it was growing.

One way of knowing that our hair is constantly growing is to look at the men in your life.  How often do they have to cut their hair to maintain a certain length.  I observe this with my son, we constantly have to cut his hair to maintain it in a brush cut.  It’s also the same when you cut your hair in a certain style, you need to keep getting haircuts if you want to maintain the style.  If you were to shave off all your hair, the very next day you will already feel some stubble on your scalp.  That shows you your hair is growing.  Another example is the women that relax their hair.  After six or so weeks they are complaining about the amount of ‘growth’ they have.  That is exactly what it is – growth!

So what do you do to realise an increase in length?  You need to minimise breakage so that you can see an increase in length.  It’s called ‘length retention’ in the hair blogging community.  If your hair is breaking excessively, figure out why and tackle the cause.  Take a look at how much hair is on your comb each time you detangle it.  After some time you will be able to tell whether your hair is breaking more or even less.  You will then be able to react timeously before excess breakage gets out of hand and affects your ability to retain length.  Take a look at these posts where I go into detail about dealing with breakage:

Hair Breakage – whats causing it?

Beginner Wednesday – Why is my hair breaking?

 

12 Responses to “Reader question – why has my hair stopped growing?”

  1. Grace 06 December, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    I also realized that my hair was not gaining length…. after reading certain topics on your blog I realized that I was platting my hair a lot and not giving it enough TLC. Now I wash and deep condition my hair at least once a week and I moisturize everyday! I believe I am on the right track to recovery. Its a long journey but I will get there.

    • Tendayi 06 December, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

      Yes you will get there.

  2. Asma 06 December, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    The other thing that can reduce hair growth is not taking enough minerals and vitamins needed to help the hair to grow. Also under eating protein. The body sees no reason of wasting protein on making hair when it can use it for more necessary stuff like tissue repairing ect. Having a balanced diet and taking vitamins and mineral rich foods can help regain normal hair growth and healthy hair.
    Hope this helps too :]

    • Tendayi 07 December, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      You are so right Asma. Thank you 🙂

  3. Bless 07 December, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    I used to relax my hair every 6 weeks but after reading your blog and similar blogs, I kno better and I have increased to 12 weeks. When I do my weekly washes, the growth is rather bushy/puffy (for lack of a better word) so I would tame it with a dlow dry. I’ve read several articles the encourage air drying. This leaves my hair not so silky as am used to. Any pointers you may suggest?

    • Tendayi 07 December, 2012 at 11:45 am #

      My advice would be to tie it back in a pony tail and let it dry that way. You can also tie a scarf around your head and let it dry. You can also tie a scarf just on your edges to make them lie flat. I do not let my hair air dyr without putting it in a ponytail or bun first.

  4. Jean 10 December, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Good morning,
    I have an embarrassing problem,i have been struggling with growing my hair,and now that i have long thick hair,i have patches on my head where hair does not grow at all,my hair is long,but there are several places on my head where the hair is soo short and does not seem to grow,what could be the problem,what can i do?please help.

    • Tendayi 10 December, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

      Hi Jean

      You need to establish if the hair is breaking off or if it some form of hair loss. Is the hair growing but breaking off leaving short hair or is the hair not growing in those places at all. If it is breakage eg from a hairstyle then this would be easy to rectify but if it is hairloss then you would need to visit a doctor or dermatologist to get a diagnosis. Take a look at some of the different types of hair loss – http://africanhairblog.com/2011/03/15/hair-loss/

  5. Jean 12 December, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    Hi Tendayi,thank you lots for the link,i def think i have Alopecia areata 0,0 ,what is the next step,is there over the counter meds that i can maybe take?or do i have to see a dermatologist?

    • Tendayi 13 December, 2012 at 9:16 am #

      I would say go and see a dermatologist so they can prescribe something for you. I don’t think the meds can be bought over the counter.

  6. tosin 26 January, 2014 at 11:31 am #

    I have not been taking care of my hair and I deserve what I have now. My hair is shoulder lenght which is a miracle considering how I have been treating it. But I don’t have front hair @ all. It pulled off like 6 years back, I didn’t do anything about it but now I want to. I seriously need help. The hairstylists here just recommend 1 thing or the other. HELP!

Leave a Reply

