Styling tutorial – sock bun

10 Dec

A few of you requested me to show you how I do the sock bun.  I took some pictures to document the process.  Make sure to start off by moisturising your hair.

DSC_0022

Begin with an old (clean) sock.  The size (and thickness) of the sock will determine the size of your bun.  I used the leg of a pair of opaque tights.

DSC_0023

Cut of the toe of the sock so it is open at both ends.

DSC_0024

Roll up the stocking to make a ‘doughnut’.

DSC_0031

Comb your hair back and tie it into a ponytail.  Position the ponytail where you want the bun to be.

DSC_0035

Place the rolled sock over the ponytail so that your hair goes through the hole in the sock.

DSC_0038

Spread your hair out over the sock, make sure there are no gaps where the sock is showing through.

DSC_0040

Place a ponytail holder or band around the hair and sock to hold everything in place.

DSC_0044

Tuck in any hair under the bun to hide away the ends of the hair.

DSC_0048

It takes a few minutes to do.  Give it a try!  If your bun looks frizzy you can cover it with a hair net to make it look neater.

31 Responses to “Styling tutorial – sock bun”

  1. hope 10 December, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    That looks easy,will surely give it a try

    • Tendayi 10 December, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

      very easy!

      • Sibusisiwe Ndhlovu 10 December, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

        Clear step by step instructions and illustrations Tendayi. I first need to grow may hair before I even attempt this!!

      • Tendayi 10 December, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

        You will get there soon!

      • Sisanda Tambo 10 December, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

        I think i love your sock method, its a lot easier than my “budget braids” method. I always take a chunk of budget braids and tie one end in with my hair when making the pony tail. I then combine the hanging end with my own hair and twist it around the ponytail, forming a bun. final touch would be securing the bun wit another band. only problem with my method is that every time you undo the bun, you have to throw out the piece of braid you used because it tangles but i love how it blends with my natural hair. Now im gonna put a sock in it, minimal wastage. 🙂

      • Tendayi 10 December, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

        or you could use a sock together with your budget braids for a rounder bun!

  2. Niso Tendai Ngorima 10 December, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    Do you find that it dries out the hair at all by the end of the day or not? I’m talking specifically after you moisturise n seal then do the bun, does the sock not soak up all that “effort”? I’ve been quite weary to try this technique becoz of that…

    • Tendayi 10 December, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

      I haven’t noticed that yet. I’ve done this only twice so far though and only for a day at a time ie taking the sock off at the end of the day.

      • Niso Tendai Ngorima 10 December, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

        Ok, Please let me know what you think, if you do it for a consecutive week… thx

      • Tendayi 10 December, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

        I will. You coulf also cover the sock with some satin or silk as well I suppose. I know other will cover the sock with nylon pantihose.

      • Antoinette 11 December, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

        I also cover the sock with a pantyhose…. I’ve never tried with just the sock. Most of the time i keep my bun for about 3 days or more, I keep it moisturized by just baggy-ing it.

      • Tendayi 11 December, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

        Thanks Antoinette. I love the baggying idea. I’m going to try that too.

  3. Busi 10 December, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Thank you T…looks simple enough. Always wondered how people got such a perfect rounded shape.

  4. Grace 10 December, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    Thank you for the tip its looks handy I will definitely try it our.

  5. Nancy 10 December, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Simple and stylish. Will definately try this method. Thanks for the demo.

  6. lolita 11 December, 2012 at 1:24 am #

    hi tendayi, please should the sock be made up of silk or cotton would do? I heard that cotton sucks up moisture from the hair

    • Tendayi 11 December, 2012 at 9:27 am #

      Mine was made of cotton. Yes cotton does suck up moisture. I used mine for a few hours and took it off. I wouldnt keep it on for a week. There is actually no need because its easy to do. You can easily do it each morning if you wanted to.

      If you have silk socks they would do but you would probably roll them over a cotton one so that the ‘doughnut’ can be bulky. I think using silk only the doughnut would be small.

  7. Good Hair Diaries™© (@GoodHairDiaries) 13 December, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Brilliant, Tendayi!

    • Tendayi 13 December, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

      Thanks Kavuli 🙂

  8. nondi 13 December, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    Hi Tendayi

    So I just stumbled across this site where this lady shows just how she actually creates her own HEALTHY sock bun!!!!!!!!

    Check it out

    http://longing4length.com/2012/07/how-to-make-a-sock-bun-healthier.html

    I’m so gonna try this!

    • Tendayi 14 December, 2012 at 9:49 am #

      Thanks Nondi. Let me check it out.

  9. nondi 13 December, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    And the nice lady’s name is Ebony.

    Shout out!

  10. Nandipha 18 December, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    I tried out the sock bun methid you shared with us, check out my pics on the fb page

    • Tendayi 19 December, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      I saw the pics Nandipha. Your bun is lovely 🙂

  11. Aisha M. (@Cosmoaisha) 15 January, 2013 at 7:22 am #

    I LOVE this!! Can’t wait to try it on my natural hair. I’ve been struggling to get my hair into a bun because I thought I didn’t have enough length for it but I think I might pull this off 😀

    • Tendayi 15 January, 2013 at 10:17 am #

      It helps that you can make the bun whatever size you want. I’m going to double the stocking (use the other leg) to make a bigger bun for braids!

  12. wendsile 07 March, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    Cool! so trying this after I take my weave out. Just hoping I will be able to tie my almost seven inch hair since its soooooo bulky and natural (and kinky)

    • Tendayi 07 March, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

      You could try it while your hair is wet / damp

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Boho Sheek Bun Mystery Solved! « thejensspin - 11 December, 2012

    […] Styling tip – sock bun […]

Leave a Reply

