Happy New Year!!

4 Jan

DSC_0474

Happy New Year!!  It’s 2013 and time to set some hair goals for the year.  First though I need to revisit the goals I set for myself for 2012 and see if I attained them.  My 2012 goals were:

  • I’m hoping by the end of 2012 I will have eliminated the thin ends from the days I was relaxing my hair bone straight.  Since I now only texlax my hair, I essentially have 2 textures, bone straight hair at the ends and texlaxed hair.  The thin ends will be eliminated by regular trimming.

I cut off the thin ends I had from the days I fully relaxed my hair in February 2011.  I had planned to trim them off slowly over time but then changed my mind and decided to just cut them off.  I lost quite a bit of length at the time but I’m glad I did it.

  • I want to gain more length and be full BSL (bra strap length) by end of 2012.  I have been hovering on APL (arm pit length) for too long.

I did not attain full bra strap length.  I am just grazing bra strap right now.  I’m a bit disappointed but I remind myself that when it comes to hair, health is more important than length. 

  • I will continue to wash and deep condition twice a week as well as moisturise daily.

I managed to follow this.  I have found that weekly washing and deep conditioning has become a habit now.  It’s something I just do without thinking!

  • I plan on practising more protective styles during the year.  I hope this will help me with retention and to reach full BSL.

I got my hair braided once during 2012.  After removing the braids I was happy with the results.  It also gave me a break from frequent detangling which I have to do when my hair is not braided.  I also had my hair in a bun quite often during the year.

For 2013 these are my goals:

  • Grow my hair to mid back length (MBL).  This length is between bra strap length (BSL) and waist length.  I know I am being ambitious (especially given that I am barely grazing BSL right now) but it’s not impossible to gain that in a year so I am going to try!
  • Practice more protective styling.  I will braid my hair at least three times this year to help with length retention.  I got some great results with braiding in 2012 so I want to see what results I will get with braiding my hair more often.  I’m thinking of braiding my hair mid-January, in June and in November.

I’m looking forward to 2013 and what it has in store for me (and my hair!)

Have you made any hair goals for 2013?

 

26 Responses to “Happy New Year!!”

  1. Bren Sekai Jeche 04 January, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    Hi Tendai

    Please can you add my friends to the hairblog .

    rmunduna@iwayafrica.net and msibby@gmail.com

    Thanks

    Brenda

    Date: Fri, 4 Jan 2013 12:50:51 +0000 To: beejees20@hotmail.com

    • Tendayi 04 January, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

      I have added them. They will receive a confirmation email in their mailboxes which they need to respond to so they are added to the subscriber list.

  2. Liz 04 January, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

    Compliments of the new season. I have just started on my journey and am in the process of setting goals for myself. I wanted to ask on the braids do you do twist and is in on the full lenght of your hair or just pick and drop. Which braids are best or what would you recommend based on your experience?

    • Tendayi 04 January, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

      I have done both twist as well as the regular ones. I do ones where all my hair is covered. I prefer not to leave the ends of my hair exposed. So far I have used only Expression braid but this year I want to experiment with other types. I just look for braids that are light and will not be heavy on the root of my hair.

  3. VeeBruin 04 January, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

    Hi!
    Happy 2013!

    I’m sure you’ll be able to achieve all the goals you have for your hair this year 🙂

    My own goals for my hair is to get it healthy, and with proper growth. I’ve been able to remove all the damaged, relaxed hair, but that meant a considerable amount had to be cut.

    So this year I will concentrate on growing healthy hair, try out more daily styles (instead of the ponytail or bun I wore most of last year) and try some protective styling once or twice.

    But, I know 2013 will be a great year for me and my curls 😉

    • Tendayi 04 January, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

      You sound like a girl on a mission 🙂 Hope we bot make our goals this year.

  4. Busi 04 January, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    I have questions about the twice weekly conditioning: 1. Do you wash and dry your own hair? If yes how do you dry it yourself and have it look it good after? 2. If you condition at the salon, how oh how and where do you find the time to go to the salon twice a week?
    I’m also trying to grow my hair to below the shoulders; my biggest problem is breakage. I read your article on that topic and it was very helpful. I’m now just stuck at the washing and conditioning bit..

    • Tendayi 04 January, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

      I wash and condition at home. Once washed and conditioned I just put it in a bun and air dry. If I want it to be straght then I roller set it and let it air dry like that. I recently got some Curlformers (a form of roller) which I used in the pic above. I air dried in those as well. I dont use a blow drier at home.

  5. Thabsile 04 January, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    Happy new year! Good to have u back Tendayi:-)

    My biggest challenge is my hairline:-( its very weak. In December I had my hair plaited, snoopy. The lady who did it used extentions at the front to plait the thin hair. I took it out a week later and now have bald patches at the front. My hairline is worse than before….there is now no hair at all…..how depressing!

    I’ve gone and had a weave with a fringe done but I’m so over weaves! I just don’t like them now! What do I do? What are my options? Thank you xxx

    • Tendayi 04 January, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

      Hi Thabisile

      Weaves and braids can wreak havoc with a hairline. If your hairline is already weak or [prone to breakage then weaves / braids can leave bald patched on the hairline. My advice would be to lay off weaves and braids while you rehabilitate your hairline. You may want to try castor oil. Apply it to the hairline once or twice a week (you can even apply it daily). Massage it in for a few inutes. Use sparingly because castor oil is very thick. Usually a hairline will recover just from being left alone. The costant pulling on the hair just makes things worse.

  6. Thabsile 04 January, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

    Thank you dear for your feedback:-) will try the castor oil!

  7. Lydz 04 January, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    Happy new year to you too! I linked one of your posts here >>>> http://crowningglorymine.blogspot.com/2013/01/black-tea-rinse.html My only hair goal at the moment is consitency in my regimen. The curls look great is it from curlformers or a rollerset? Oh and please check your email I sent you mail requesting some info. Thanks

    • Tendayi 04 January, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

      Hey Lydz

      The curls are from curlformers. It was my debut experience with them. I’ll post a review of my experience in a few days!!

      As for your email, Im a but behind with mail because of the holdidays. I should have cleared my inbox in a couple of days. I’ll get to it soon I promise!

  8. Good Hair Diaries™© (@GoodHairDiaries) 06 January, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    It’s so nice to see that beautiful smile on your blog. Smile more often, sisi. The curls are gorgeous by the way. I need to get some curlformers and stop playing games.

    Happy New Year!!!

    • Tendayi 07 January, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

      Curlformers are the truth!! Thanks Kavuli 🙂

  9. blueandlessed 07 January, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    I hope your hair dreams come true in 2013 and the years to come. ♥

    • Tendayi 07 January, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

      Thank you 🙂

      • Sibusisiwe Ndhlovu 10 January, 2013 at 11:25 am #

        Hie Tendayi – those goals are certainly big and sound scary – but with what you have achieved so far it is possible!! So go for it girl. Your curls are fabulous!!

        On my part, I am hoping to have a fully recovered hairline by December 2013, .I am 7 months post relaxer and have been in braids since September 2012, (had braids redone 3 times since September 2012), and using your advice to wash and condition every week and moisturise the braids daily. I am using T444Z on my scalp, and the growth of my hair so far is very encouraging. At least where it was bald on the hairline, now there is hair, the challenge is to fully grow the hair on the hairline. I have left the hairline out of braids and have found it grows better when left alone than to stress it with tight braids. As for length, I am hoping for armpit length, and given where I am now (just grazing my shoulders), that is a scary goal, but you have inspired me with your goals.

        Would appreciate any advice on how I can get to my goal. Planning to relax my hair twice in 2013 i.e. May and December and , doing braids in between. And yes wash and condition every week, and continue with T444Z on my scalp and hair line. Your advice has made such a difference to the quality of my hair.

        Good luck with your goals!

      • Tendayi 10 January, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

        Your goals definately sound attainable with how you are taking care of it. My advice would be to just remember that what stops our hair getting longer is breakage – remember to be very gentle with your hair especially when removing braids. Day to day when combing or detangling also be gentle to keep breakage to a minimum. If you monitor how much hair is on your comb each day, it will become easy for you to see when breakage has increased or even decreased so you can take measures or figure out the cause. By keeping breakage to a minimum, you will definately see an increase in length.

        Good luck!!!

  10. Sibusisiwe Ndhlovu 11 January, 2013 at 10:51 am #

    Thanks Tendayi for the encouragement. I took your advice on one of your posts and I am using a detangler – the shea butter one for softening the hair when undoing braids. Breakage so far is very minimum, when I remove the braids. Save for the hair line, which is under rehabilitation the rest of my hair has really grown!!

    In addition, I am only using the wide toothed seamless comb, and only comb gently form the ends going down instead of from the roots to the ends. I will keep you updated.- you have encouraged me so much, because I know back in the day how your hair was, when we used to work together – and its truly amazing how you have grown your hair!!

    • Tendayi 11 January, 2013 at 10:57 am #

      Those days my hair was a disaster!! I spend 4 yrs (2005 to 2009) in weaves and braids and at the end of it my hair was still the same length it was in 2005. 4 years with my hair one length. Now I know my hair was seriously breaking. My hairline was also a disaster after all that. Its really come a long way.

  11. Clara 16 January, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    I have collar bone length hair and I have a very ambitious goal, I want to achieve armpit lengtj hair. My big problem is hair breakage. I have natural hair and I’m at my wits end

  12. Zanele 24 February, 2014 at 3:49 pm #

    Hi please add me to the hair blog

    • Tendayi 03 March, 2014 at 11:41 pm #

      Please respond to the email that has been sent to you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy New Year | africanhairblog - 17 January, 2014

    […] the beginning of the year my hair goals for 2013 were to grow my hair to MBL (mid back length) as well as to practice more protective styling.  I […]

Leave a Reply

