The blog is 2 today!

5 Jan

before and after

It’s the blogs second anniversary today.  The first post was on 5 January 2011.  My hair has come a long way since then.  Back then I never thought that with proper care my hair would get to where it is today.  I was willing to try though.  In the two years I have learnt a lot about my hair but I am still learning.  The pic above shows my hair in January 2011 and in November 2012.

I have enjoyed blogging and I think it has given me extra motivation to take care of my hair.  Here’s to many more years!!

26 Responses to “The blog is 2 today!”

  1. Derek 05 January, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    Congratulations!

  2. Aba 06 January, 2013 at 8:42 am #

    Congratulations and keep blogging. I have benefited from your blogs immensely.

  3. jen 06 January, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    Congrats!!! Thanks for sharing your valuable hair info.Looking forward to many more years of healthy hair advise!

  4. Chido 06 January, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    Congrats

  5. Eloise 06 January, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS!! What a milestone! To many more years,Tendayi . And may I say that to me your hair looks healthier in your second picture than in the first!!

    • Tendayi 07 January, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

      Thanks Eloise. In the first picture I really didn’t even think of my hair practices!

  6. Anne Phiri 07 January, 2013 at 3:24 am #

    Congratulations on your website Tendayi, I found it very informative and of great benefit for myself and my daughters, well done and keep it up!

    • Tendayi 07 January, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

      Thank you Anne. Appreciate it 🙂

  7. blueandlessed 07 January, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    Great Job! Hard work does pay off….

    • Tendayi 07 January, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

      It certainly does!!

  8. Titi 07 January, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    Congratulations to you for reaching the milestone Tendayi. You have empowered me with knowledge and there’s no better gift. thank you.

    • Tendayi 07 January, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

      Thank you Titi and you are welcome

  9. Eve 07 January, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    Congratulations……I’m truly grateful to u and your blog.
    All the best.

  10. Sibusisiwe Ndhlovu 09 January, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

    Well done Tendayi – this is a big inspiration to me!!

  11. Patience 15 January, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    Happy anniversary and your hair is looking very beautiful. I am proud of you for showing us black women that it can be done. would you please suggest how to stop an itching and flacking scalp. I moisturise using pure castor and coconut oils. I prepoo every week and moisturise my hair everyday using organic root stimulator hair moisturiser. The itching only stops for 2 days after my prepoos. By the way I prepoo using honey and EVOO

  12. nozipho 02 February, 2013 at 11:01 am #

    congrats tendayi i have a problem my hair just wont grow anymore its very weak and breaks i really dont know which produts to try anymore nothing seems to work for me iv tryed oils like coconut oils and olive oils but still nothing works i just want my hair to grow again im tired of weaves and the hair is weak

    • Tendayi 04 February, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

      Hi Nozipho
      I suggest you read the original posts I wrote back in January 2011 and read them in order. I go through all these issues as well as how to overcome them. I suspect your issue may be that your hair is dry and needs moisture.

  13. eni 26 February, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    honestly i would have expected more lenght retention in 2 yrs

    what do u think the biggest issues for you would have been in the 2 years? just so ppl like myself can learn from it.

    btw i think its great that you respond to comments 🙂 i find nowadays most bloggers dont bother to, so well done

    • Tendayi 26 February, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

      I actually had a cut in Feb 2012 and sort of started over. I was removing the thinner relaxed ends I had after I started texlaxing (deliberately underprocessing) my hair. See the post here – http://africanhairblog.com/2012/02/06/a-relaxer-and-a-cut/

      As for issues, I think the main concern would be minimising breakage so as to optimise retention and length. I have written several posts on breakage as well as length retention.

Leave a Reply

