Hair update – 8 weeks post relaxer

9 Jan

DSC_0433

Its 8 weeks since my last relaxer in November 2012.  Around 8 weeks is when I start being even more gentle with my hair because I will have quite a lot of growth.  I have started bunning my hair most days to lessen the combing and detangling.  I’ve made an appointment to have my hair braided early next week.  I will share pics and tell you all about it.  I will have the braids for 8 weeks before taking them off (around mid-March 2013).  The last wash before I get my hair braided I will do a protein treatment just to strengthen the hair and prepare it for the braids.  I will use Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise.

The pic above was my debut using curlformers.  I had just removed them.  I will put up a post tomorrow and tell you all about my experience with them.

 

9 Responses to “Hair update – 8 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Chido 09 January, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    i like

  2. nondi 09 January, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

    Happy new year Ms T

    I am loving your curls OMG!

    Right now I’m undoing my braids, which I’ve had for 6 weeks now (cant have them longer, miss my hair so much LOL ).

    I went to Clicks yesterday to stock up on JO’M hair softener and to my horror, Clicks is discontinuing the whole range! What the fudge! I did the best thing i could do under the circumstances, BOUGHT THE LAST 3 BOTTLES ON THE FLOOR!

    This might seem crazy but I love the spray so much, I really mean love it!

    But one good thing I should mention is, they are selling satin bonnets called “Stay on Satin”. I bought 3 caps since all three have different uses. They are manufactured in the Dominican. One of them has a drawstring for those nights I decide to sleep with flexirods or soft rollers.

    Hope this year will be great for my hair goals.

    • Tendayi 09 January, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

      Thanks Nondi for all the info. If Clicks is discontinuing JO’M then thats such a shame. They have many fans and Clicks was a great disctributor because its all over. I used the softening spray when I was undoing my braids the last time. It was a lifesaver.

      As for the satin bonnets, I need some. I struggled when I slept with curlformers on my head. I just couldnt tie a scarf properly without covering my eyes!! I will definately go and buys some.

  3. ndapewa17 09 January, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    i love the outcome of the curlformers….contemplated buying them one day bt I ended up leaving them in the shop…

    • Tendayi 09 January, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

      The curls come out so beautifully they look like they were formed with heat!!

  4. sibusiso 11 January, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    Hi tendai, after washing yo hair, when do u moisturise? Do u wait its completely dry or partially damp?

    • Tendayi 11 January, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

      I moisturise while my hair is still damp.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hair update – 16 weeks post relaxer | africanhairblog - 04 March, 2013

    […] Hair update – 8 weeks post relaxer (africanhairblog.com) […]

Leave a Reply

