My curlformers debut

10 Jan

DSC_0431 DSC_0435 DSC_0467

I tried culformers for the first time about a week ago and I must say I was impressed!  The curls came out looking really good – they actually looked like they had been achieved using heat.  It took me 45 minutes (I timed myself) to put the curlformers on my hair.  I washed and deep conditioned as usual and then applied Organic Root Stimulator Moisturising Hair Lotion and a bit of coconut oil.  I then put the hair in curlformers.

The curlformers are actually very easy to use. In my opinion they are easier than traditional rollers which require that the hair be straight and taut on the rollers.  With curlformers you just pull the hair through with the hook and that’s it.  I’m sure with practice I will soon have it down to 30 minutes.  I also had a spray bottle with water at hand to make sure the hair was damp when I put it in the curlformers.

I put the curlformers on my hair in the evening and slept with them overnight, removing them the next morning.  They were not too difficult to sleep in.  I just tied them up using 3 scrunchies, then tied a scarf over them to make it easier to lay my head down.  I saw this tip on a youtube video.  Once removed, I separated the curls and applied a bit of coconut oil.

I really love the curls and this is a style I will do often.  I used a combination of ‘long and wide’ and ‘extra long and wide’.  If I get an opportunity I will buy some ‘extra wide’ ones just for even bigger curls.

17 Responses to “My curlformers debut”

  1. Xoe 10 January, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    Hey T

    Lovely ur hair looks lovely. Are the curlformers found locally (in SA)

  2. Eve 10 January, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

    Stunning…

    • Tendayi 11 January, 2013 at 10:29 am #

      Thank you Eve 🙂

  3. Good Hair Diaries™© (@GoodHairDiaries) 10 January, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Your curls look gorgeous, Tendayi! I wonder what it would look like on my hair now that it’s super short, or even with a sew-in weave. This is encouraging! I want the generic ones from Verimark.

    • Tendayi 11 January, 2013 at 10:31 am #

      They are really great Kavuli. I think they would look great on your hair, especially with your new length. You could get the smaller ones for tighter curls.

  4. Lilian Chanakira 11 January, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    You look lovely Tendi, i have those curl formers but some how i can’t seem to use them maybe i need to take time and learn how to use them on my hair

    • Tendayi 11 January, 2013 at 11:50 am #

      Thanks Lilian

      Watch a few videos on youtube so you see how other do it. I watched videos first and it was quite simple.

  5. Ronette 12 January, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

    You look lovely, wow! Where does one get them?

  6. Sjolove 14 January, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

    beautiful!

  7. Qudzie 15 January, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    Where can I get curl formers in zim

  8. thatdamnkasey 16 January, 2013 at 8:33 am #

    Yes they are amazing

  9. bibzie 07 November, 2013 at 12:15 am #

    Reblogged this on Bibi : HALF WOMEN-HALF AMAZING.

Leave a Reply

