Hair update – 12 weeks post relaxer

4 Feb

braids2

I’m 12 weeks post relaxer and I have had braids for three weeks.  Things are going well and my braids still look decent.  I have washed the braids three times since I got them installed.  I have also kept up with daily moisturising using braid spray and weekly application of T444Z to the scalp.  The braids have now loosened and I am now able to style them.  It’s been very hot lately in Pretoria so I often put the braids in a bun to keep them off my face and neck.

The pic above shows what I mentioned in a previous post that you should try not to have too many braids on your hairline (especially if your hairline is weak).  It’s gentler on the hair.

I have five more weeks to go with braids before I remove them.  I don’t miss my hair yet!

 

30 Responses to “Hair update – 12 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Busi Mgoboli 04 February, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    You look wonderful and braids are still very much intact. I wrote a post today inspired by you and your passion for hair. Check it when you get a minute. ( :

    • Tendayi 04 February, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

      Wow thank you!! let me read it now 🙂

    • Tendayi 04 February, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

      Your dry curl looks stunning!!! Love it.

  2. lolo 04 February, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    Hey T. I bought the pure royal repair n grow I was wishing of the t444z but I can’t afford it I want product that would work like t444z,do you know anything about the pure royal product?

    • Tendayi 04 February, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

      Sorry Lolo I know nothing about the Pure Royal product.

  3. Grace 04 February, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

    Lovely do.

    • Tendayi 04 February, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

      thank you Grace 🙂

  4. Joanah 05 February, 2013 at 2:33 am #

    Hey T, what type of braids are these again? the name and color? they look wonderful

    • Tendayi 05 February, 2013 at 11:47 am #

      Thank you. Its Expression braid colour 340!

  5. Kaz 05 February, 2013 at 10:54 am #

    Hey Tendayi, i love your braids look 3 weeks in. I put in twists around the same time as you did after having my hair open for 6 months.. I have never had a braids routine but decided to follow the braids bible..Unfortunately, my scalp is too dry and have to keep re-oiling after a day or two.I use castor oil. This is unlike my scalp,with open hair i only have to oil once on wash day and am good for the week. Could it be because my scalp is not used to braiding? Kindly advice. Thanks

    • Tendayi 05 February, 2013 at 11:52 am #

      Hi Kaz

      There is no problem appying castor oil to your scalp several times a week. Its great for your scalp. It could be because with braids your scalp is exposed unlike when your hair is not braided. I would say apply it as often as you need to. There are no ill effects from doing that.

  6. Liz 05 February, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

    Hey Tendayi, you look lovely in the braids. I’m ten weeks post relaxer and will be getting braids done this weekend. I’ve been using castor oil and my hair is so soft. Usually at about eight weeks post relaxer my hair will be difficult to manage because of the growth but now its the opposite. Thanks for your help, I’ve always loved my hair but didn’t know how to take good care of it now I’m learning and already seeing good results!

    • Tendayi 05 February, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

      You’re welcome Liz 🙂

  7. lolo 05 February, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    Hi T. What hair food would you recomend for hair grow that will be reasonable not pricely like t444z

    • Tendayi 05 February, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

      I would recommend you use castor oil on your scalp. If you find its too thivk and difficult to use then add another lighter oil to it (like coconut oil) until you get the consistency you want.

      • lolo 05 February, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

        Thank you very much T

  8. Tecler 08 February, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    Hey Tendayi,

    I really love the braids….I shy away from synthetic braids coz of my hairline issues….but yours are really nice….

    • Tendayi 08 February, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

      Thank you Tecler ♥

  9. Kaz 14 February, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    Hi Tendayi,

    Washed my hair over the weekend and applied a mix of castor and coconut oils to the scalp. I must say this is the first time in the four weeks i’ve had braids in that i’ve enjoyed having them in. No dry or itchy scalp! Thank you. Will keep on with the washing and oiling.

    • Tendayi 14 February, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

      You’re welcome. It works well for me! Remember to moisturise the hair as well.

  10. Bongi 20 February, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    Hi Tendayi. Where can I get T444Z hair food in Johannesburg? I stay in Randburg.

  11. Gigi 27 February, 2013 at 4:23 am #

    Hi, I’m very new to your blog but I love that photo of you with the braided bun. I have in micros right now and would love to recreate that look. Do you mind giving instructions on how you did it? Very beautiful style and you look very regal.

    • Tendayi 27 February, 2013 at 11:55 am #

      Thank you Gigi

      Its actually very simple. Just tie your braids in a ponytail. Postition the ponytail where you want the bun to be. Braid the hair in the ponytail. Once braided, rotate the braid around the base of the ponytail and tuck the end in to secure. Thats it!!!

      • Gigi 01 March, 2013 at 3:22 am #

        Oh thank you so much for the response. I tried it but it did not look as good as yours. I will keep practicing because I really thought this look was very cute and I do like to keep the braids up off of my neck. Thanks again!!

      • Tendayi 02 March, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

        Keep practicing! You can also divide the ponytail into 2 or even more braids for a different look. Wind each braid around the base of the ponytail.

  12. kudzanai 20 May, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    hey tendai, i have a problem with hair breakage and thining hairline. this may be due to weaving and braiding. is there another way i can care for my chemicaly treated hair this winter, apart from putting on hair extentions.
    i need your advice
    thanx

    • Tendayi 21 May, 2013 at 11:39 am #

      Hi Kudzanai

      During winter extensions etc are just a protective style inorder to protect the hair and give it a bit of a break. Its optional really and many women go through winter with their hair out. The thing about these styles is that if not done and cared for properly your hair will break and your hairline will get damaged. You can simply care for your hair through winter, you may just need to make a few changes eg moisturising more often. I have done a post on caring for hair during winter, take a look here – http://africanhairblog.com/2011/04/22/winter-hair/

Leave a Reply

