Apple cider vinegar rinses

13 Feb

ACV

Thought I would do a post on apple cider vinegar (ACV) rinses.  This is something I have done a few times though I haven’t done it lately.  I’m not sure why I stopped doing it really.  ACV is a natural product that has many uses but I will just address its use for hair.

ACV can easily be bought in supermarkets and health shops.  It is acidic which helps to balance the ph of the hair and also remove build up from styling products and shampoos.  Due to its high acidity, it is best used diluted in water.  Rinsing with diluted ACV will lower the ph of the hair which closes the hair cuticle, making the hair smoother and leaving the hair shinier with fewer tangles.

Diluted ACV can also be used to help with an itchy scalp caused by a build-up of products.  It also works well with dandruff since it is a natural antifungal, it can address fungus-caused irritations that may exist on the scalp.

Diluted ACV can be used in several ways for hair – as a pre wash treatment prior to shampooing (spray the mixture onto hair and scalp and leave for 30 minutes to 1 hour then shampoo) , washing (using it in place of shampoo) or as a rinse after washing.

I have used ACV as a rinse.  I do this by diluting about 100ml of ACV in a sink / basin of water.  I then dunk my head into the water and massage my scalp.  I’ve done this as a final rinse after rinsing off deep conditioner.  You can also dilute the ACV in a bucket or just a bit in a spray bottle.  The hair does get a vinegar smell but this disappears as the hair dries.

It is also possible to add various things to the water before adding the ACV eg herbs, essential oils, natural oils, honey etc.  This just adds extra benefits to the rinse.

Have any of you used ACV for your hair?

24 Responses to “Apple cider vinegar rinses”

  1. Rue007 13 February, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    I actually did it this morning and it works wonders for the tangles that always threaten my transition to full texlaxed hair. I incorporated it into my hair journey this year after my hairdresser left my hair in tangled mess and didn’t even have the decency to untangle them gently. When he was racking thru them violently and suggesting cutting them off I literally took the comb from his hands and armed with my leave in conditioner and wide tooth comb I sectioned my hair and untangled every single knot for a good hour and a half whilst he looked on in amazement cz for him my hair was now a lost cause. I lost a bit of hair but not as much to call it a major setback. Since then I’ve fired my stylist and I’m a proud DIY’er.

    The ACV rinses are excellent for my rollersets and flexirod sets. I don’t experince frizz nor tangles anymore and my hair is always smoother.

    I give a thumbs up to ACV rinses.

    • Tendayi 13 February, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

      No one can be as gentle on your hair as you can! It’s great that you are seeing progress.

    • Pauletta 24 September, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

      Can you tell me how to mix the acv with water? How many tsp to 8 oz of water? Can you use any acv?

      • Tendayi 01 October, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

        I mix about 1/4 cup in about 10 litres of water (approx 2 gallons). You only need a little bit of acv to water. Any acv will do.

  2. Alesia 14 February, 2013 at 10:30 am #

    I did used it many times last year and it works wonder!! my hair was shinier and softer. I highly recommend it…i will do it when i remove my braids lol

    • Tendayi 14 February, 2013 at 11:45 am #

      Thinking of doing it too after braids!

  3. Dinase Mlambo 14 February, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    I actually use ACV on my face and it works wonders.Ididnt know about hair,thanx will try it.

  4. Titi 14 February, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    It’s like you read my mind. I spent the week researching ACV in preparation for my wash day This Saturday! Will use it as a Pre wash on my scalp and as a final rinse. Will give feedback!

    • Tendayi 15 February, 2013 at 10:50 am #

      Looking forward to your feedback!!

  5. Linda 15 February, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

    I used it a couple of weeks ago for the first time, as a rinse after deep conditioning. But it didn’t feel great. I mixed 1/4 cup ACV with about 3cups of water and used that as a rinse. It initially felt great. But the few days following that my hair was brittle and breaking more than usual with very little manipulation. I was moisturising & sealing as usual. Not sure what I did wrong.

    • Tendayi 19 February, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

      Your ratio may have off. I use about that same amount of acv in a full sink of water.

  6. Annette Cupid 19 February, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    This stuff is quite remarkable. I’ve been using it for just over a year now. I don’t even remember what dandruff feels like. I use it after every wash with about 2 tbsp in a bottle of water. I also put a splash in my daily braid spray mixture. I do wish the smell was optional.

  7. wendsile 07 March, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    wow! thank you for the info, I noticed after using a lot of hair growers dandruff has been like my sidekick, hope this will most def work for me!

  8. Tafi 18 March, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    I LOVE apple cider vinegar! It has so many great uses and I use it as for my hair (to clarify, close cuticles and when my scalp is itchy), my skin (it’s a great toner) and as a home remedy. And my hair absolutely loves it.
    tafistresses.wordpress.com

  9. anji 02 April, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    I used to do it all the time but found it dried out my hair and scalp and i finally just couldn’t get over the smell lol. but it did stop the itch if id gone too long without moisturizing my scalp, and my hair felt much lighter and less greased up. the smell though…

    • Tendayi 02 April, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

      I don’t notice the smell after my hair has dries! This helps because the smell is awful!!

      • anji 02 April, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

        yeah its pretty bad my roommates once locked me in the bathroom and wouldnt let me out for a while as punishment lol.
        and iv been wanting to do temporary twists/dreads in my hair but not sure how to go about it DIY. my hair is about 6″ long. do u have any helpful tips?

      • Tendayi 02 April, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

        My advice would be Youtube! There are lots of vidoes to show you how to do twists on your hair.

  10. wilhelmina 06 July, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    do you have to shampoo before/after the ACV rinse or can you use this in place of shampoo?( i have to shampoo once a week because of my psoriasis, but would like to replace my sulfate free shampoo with ACV)

    • Tendayi 23 July, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

      ACV cane be used in various ways. I shampoo and deep condition as normal. I add a bit of ACV to the water I use as a final rinse. You can use diluted ACV in place of shampoo. Some women choose to do that.

  11. Cat EyeCandy Warren 17 November, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    I tried this once in the past, I’m about to give it a go again see how it works out. Last time it left my hair dry and brittle.used too much acv perhaps

    • Tendayi 20 November, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

      You only need a bit of acv. Let us know how it goes the second time around.

Leave a Reply

