Thinning hairlines

27 Feb

Naomi Campbell

I have written several posts addressing hair breakage and hair loss but none that specifically addresses the hairline.  I’m not sure why it’s taken me so long given that thinning hairlines is arguably the number one hair complaint among African women.

Hair loss on the hairline can be caused by several factors like hormones (pregnancy, post pregnancy, menopause, presence of ovarian cysts, birth control pills etc.), it can be hereditary or it can be self-inflicted through hairstyles.

In this post I will address thinning hairlines caused by our hairstyles.  This is also called traction alopecia which is hair loss caused by tight hairstyles like braids, weaves, cornrows and ponytails etc.

Here are some tips for thinning hairlines:

  • If you notice your hairstyle is making your hairline thinner, change the hairstyle.  If you have braids or a weaves, remove them at the first signs that it is destroying your hairline.  There is no point in keeping a hairstyle if it is wrecking your hairline.
  • Do not ignore the first signs of thinning hairlines.  We tend to see it happening and just ignore it until the problem is compounded.  We then continue with the destructive hairstyles to hide the problem – simply making things even worse.
  • Do not get weaves or braids back to back without a break in between.  Take a break of two weeks or more and in this time make sure to deep condition the hair as well as moisturise it.
  • Make sure hairstyles are not too tight.  Braids, weaves cornrows etc. when done too tight will ruin your hairline.  Speak up when getting these hairstyles done.  Let your hairstylist know that she (or he!) must be gentle with your hairstyle.  You would rather the style not last long than that it damages your hairline.
  • If you relax your hair, know that you do not have to relax the hairline every time.  You can leave out the fine ‘baby’ hair on the edges.  Don’t worry, your hair will blend in and it won’t show.  I have been doing this with my own hairline – I haven’t relaxed my hairline since February 2012.
  • If your hairline is already damaged, make sure to stop the hairstyles that damaged it in the first place.  If you have to have the hairstyle, make sure to leave the hairline out.  You could do this by adding bangs / a fringe to a weave so as to conceal the hairline.
  • There are many ‘temple and nape’ balms on the market that are marketed for thinning hairlines and napes.  I have seen one from Organic Root Stimulator in Clicks.  I recommend castor oil.  It is natural and many women (including myself) have had great results with it.  Massage castor oil to your hairline at least once a week (you can do this daily if your hairline is extremely damaged).

 Has your hairline recovered from damage?  How did you do it?

30 Responses to “Thinning hairlines”

  1. Leigh-Ann 27 February, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

    Grate onion and use the onion juice on your hair line before you sleep, wash it off in the morning. It smells bad but works like magic.

    • Tendayi 27 February, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

      Ive never heard this one before!!! I can imagine the smell!

    • lindiwe 17 February, 2014 at 8:15 pm #

      I’ve justed using onion juice to regrow my edges. Started last week Wednesday. Problem is I don’t knw how to store the excess juice. Plz advice! Are u happy with the results of using the onion juice? Used it in my oil treatment on Friday nyt. Guess 4 me tym will tell.

      • Tendayi 03 March, 2014 at 11:44 pm #

        I’ve never used onion juice Lindiwe. Doesnt it smell?

  2. Leillah 27 February, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    Great article. More women suffer from this than they think. I have started using the castor oil lately and hope to see an improvement soon. Thanks.

    • Tendayi 27 February, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

      All the best Leillah 🙂

  3. Dudu Qubu 27 February, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    My newly found miracle product is the Kandi Hair Growth Stimulator and th Anti-Chute Shampoo. A combination of these two products give you results in one week and four weeks to get your hair back! Try it and you will not regret it! The good news is, kids can use the products as well! Follow them on http://www.facebook.com/kandibrands

    • Tendayi 27 February, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      Have you launched now Dudu? Where are your products available?

      • Dudu Qubu 27 February, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

        At the moment it is a soft launch online. We have pictures on facebook and a few people have been happy with the product. Orders can be made through http://www.kandibrands.com or 0113129333 and everything will be delivered to your doorstep.

      • Tendayi 27 February, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

        All the best to you 🙂

  4. Priscilla 27 February, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    Please help me take care of my hair, i’m a sports woman, i do aerobics from Mon to thursday every week.

    • Tendayi 27 February, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

      Is your hair natural / relxed? How is it styled? I also do aerobics from Mon to Friday. When in braids I wash it once a week. When out of braids I wash twice a week. My hair is relaxed. I make sure to keep my ends off my neck while I exercise.

  5. Maureen 27 February, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    Hey Tendayi. Do you just use the normal castor oil or Jamaican black castor oil? Do you know where I can find Jamaican Black Castor oil. I’m Pretoria.

    • Tendayi 27 February, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

      I usually use the normal castori oil from Dischem / Clicks. I recently got some Jamaican Black Castor Oil from the US which I have but as soon as I run out I will go back to using the normal one. I do not know anywhere you can get JBCO in SA.

  6. Jeanette 27 February, 2013 at 11:27 pm #

    Kandi Brands has a hairline restoration kit, which is a combination of the Kandi Hair Professional Growth Stimulator CREAM Pomade and Anti Chute* Hair Loss Prevention Shampoo…guaranteed to restore YOUR hairline in just 4 weeks!!!

  7. Thabsile 28 February, 2013 at 9:57 am #

    Hi Tendayi

    Thank you very much for this update. Your articles are always informatinve. I am more informed about my hair and how to treat it because of your blog.

    Just one quetion though, is it possible that hairline thinning is genetic in some cases? For as long as I can remember, my hairline has always been thin. It is on the border of being bold but the hair is there just very few and thin to the point where you cannot do anything with it.

    But the reaosn I ask this question is because my daughter’s hairline is very weak as well and trust me i very gentle with her hair and it well kept. So is it a case of she will never have “full hairline” because she might have “inherited” it from me?

    • Tendayi 28 February, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

      Yes thinning hairlines can be hereditary. I do mention it in the article above. What I can advise is for you and your daughter to visit a dermatologist and get a proper diagnosis. There are also meds that dermatologists prescribe for hairloss and those may help you.

  8. EvieE (@NdiniEve) 28 February, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    Hi Tendayi, I had serious traction alopecia end of November after i took out my cornrows. Most of my hairline had disappeared. So I had a weave done with a fringe, then after a month when my hair was relaxed I started using castor oil on my hairline. My hair is growing back slowly (luckily. This castor oil thing really works :). Thanks for an informative and helpful blog

    • Tendayi 28 February, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

      You’re welcome 🙂

  9. nompumelelo 01 March, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    Hey well for me i ddnt loose hair on hairline but on the back of my head due to post pregnancy, so i had to cut everything and start over. I’ve since included castor oil as part of the products i use and my hair is growing beautifully and thicker

    • Tendayi 02 March, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

      Post partum hair shedding can be quite traumatic. Glad your hair has recovered.

  10. juliet 03 March, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    Where can I get it in Nigeria?

    • Tendayi 04 March, 2013 at 11:02 am #

      Which product are you asking about Juliet?

  11. winnet 04 March, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    My hair has always been thin and my hairline was very damaged but i have been using castor oil on my scalp and edges for the past 4 months and im very glad to say i have almost fully recovered my hairline and my full head has now got thick hair with growth thats quite strong and i have very minimal shedding.Im very glad ive managed to stick to a regimend and am seeing the results….thank very much Tendayi for all the information you provide:)
    On another note to all zim harare ladies i managed to find Black Jamaican Castor Oil (BJCO) and the Creme of Nature Argan Oil at Hair World Opp Dominican Convent.Its quite pricey at $40 and $25 respectively but if you are wanting to pamper yourself a bit thats the thing to get coz you are guaranteed to get good results, that ive seen myself.

    • Tendayi 04 March, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

      You’re welcome Winnet. Sounds like Zim ladies have access to lots of great products now.

  12. Blaquerose 07 January, 2014 at 5:21 am #

    Guyz, where in JHB can I buy a silk head scarf/doek? I hear its beneficial for natural hair.

    • Tendayi 12 January, 2014 at 12:12 am #

      I bought mine in Woolworths. Its was a bit pricy being silk but it has lasted a long time.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. PROUD OF MY ROOTS! | Organic Beauty From Vivianne - 15 March, 2013

    […] Thinning hairlines (africanhairblog.com) […]

Leave a Reply

