Hair update – 16 weeks post relaxer

4 Mar

DSC_0005

I’m now 16 weeks post relaxer and I’ve been in braids for exactly seven weeks today.  I should begin undoing the braids soon since I do not want to keep the braids for more than eight weeks.  I’ve loved the convenience of braids but I do miss my hair and I’m looking forward to having it out again.

For the past seven weeks I’ve managed to wash my hair weekly and moisturise it daily with braid spray.  It sounds tedious but it’s actually a very simple routine and it doesn’t take me long to do at all.  I have already started wondering what to do with my hair when I remove the braids.  The stylist who relaxes my hair decided to stop hairdressing and pursue other interests.  This means either I find a new stylist or I learn to relax my own hair.  I don’t think I’m ready for self-relaxing just yet!  I will probably get another protective style while I figure out what to do.

I will write another post when I remove my braids and share pics with you.

DSC_0001

 

14 Responses to “Hair update – 16 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Busi 04 March, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    I’m so amazed at how neat your braids still look..I don’t know how you managed that with all the weekly washing.
    Cant wait to see how much your hair has grown.

    • Tendayi 04 March, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

      I know many are scared of the weekly washing because they feel it will make their braids look untidy but it doesnt. When washing I concentrate on the scalp. I just squeeze the actual braids a few times and thats it. My braids always look relatively neat when I remove them after 8 weeks.

  2. fantagiaah 04 March, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    OMG Tendayi!!! how do you do it? are you sure you sleep at night? or you sleep standing :O
    they look brand new! i am really loving this!

    • Tendayi 04 March, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

      Lol Fantagiaah!! I do sleep!!

      • Sibusisiwe Ndhlovu 04 March, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

        Hie Tendayi. Braids are looking too good to be at 7 weeks already!

      • Tendayi 04 March, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

        Thank you 🙂 Already planning their removal!

  3. Keji 05 March, 2013 at 1:21 am #

    I’ve recently just started following your blog. It helps a lot because i’m starting my relaxed hair journey soon and I started a blog to motivate me and engage with the rest of d community. Anyway to the post lol..i’m in braids as well for 2 months!! I’m also not ready to self-relax anytime soon. I hope you find a new stylist. I usually just use a friend and I’ll be the boss of how they apply it to my hair lol 🙂

    • Tendayi 05 March, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

      Let me go and take a look at your blog Keji. Good luck with your journey!

  4. Thembie 05 March, 2013 at 8:18 am #

    I am terrible when it comes to washing my braids. Please tell me how to go about it. Do you dilute your shampoo with something, do you use a spray bottle? Maybe a video if you have time.

    • Tendayi 05 March, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

      Let me do a post on this. Ive had lots of questions so let me address it in a post.

  5. thembie 05 March, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    Please tell me how i can go about washing my braids. That is my one pitfall? How Long does it take your hair to dry after or do you blow dry it?

    • Tendayi 05 March, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      Let me do a post on washing of braids. I let them air dry. It takes about an hour or so on a hot day.

  6. Grace 05 March, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

    Hi Tendayi. Yep I’m one of those that do not wash braids. I’m now thinking it’s probably as disgusting as braiding or weaving un-washed hair like some people do. It has never been part of my routine so I’m hoping to learn
    from your post on the topic. Also another thing I’m trying to do is to take a break between braids and a relaxer. it’s just I never know what to do with the growth hence I end up doing braids back to back or relaxing straight after taking out braids. So i’ll be intrested to see ur “in-between” style.

Leave a Reply

