Styling tutorial – braid bun

6 Mar

braid bun tut1

I want to share a tutorial about how I do the bun in the pic above.  I wear my braids in a bun most of the time because I like to keep the braids off my face.  When it is hot, this also keeps the braids off my neck.

braid bun tut4

Begin by tying your hair in a ponytail.  Position the ponytail where you want the bun to be. I love my bun quite high but you may prefer a bun at the nape or a side bun.

 DSC_0017

Plait the braids in the ponytail.  You can make the bun more intricate by dividing the ponytail into smaller sections.  For this bun I divided the ponytail into four parts but you can also do more or less.  In the pic on this post I did not divide the ponytail, I just braided it into one big plait.  The most I have divided a ponytail is into eight parts.  It makes a very intricate bun.  A great style for a night out.

braid bun tut6

Wind each section one at a time around the base of the braid and tuck the ends into the band you used to secure the ponytail.  Your bun will be secure throughout the day (or night).

braid bun tut2

Some tips:

  • The longer your braids are the bigger the bun will be.
  • If you want to make the bun bigger you can use a sock to add bulk as shown in this post.
  • You can also use a hair net to make your bun neater if it is looking untidy due to ends sticking out.

 braid bun tut5

braid bun tut3

16 Responses to “Styling tutorial – braid bun”

  1. Sibusisiwe Ndhlovu 06 March, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    Thanks Tendayi. It look good. Will try this one out once I get braids done.

    • Tendayi 06 March, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

      Thanks. Its very easy to do! Give it a try.

  2. Siphathisiwe 06 March, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    Wow looks great! Am definitely going to try that. When can we expect your post on washing braids? (no pressure)

    • Tendayi 06 March, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 I hoping to do the post on washing braids on Friday

    • Tendayi 11 March, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

      Meant to do a post last Friday but I realised I needed pics to explain properly. I havent forgotten! Promise im working on it!

  3. Gigi 07 March, 2013 at 2:50 am #

    Thank you thank you thank you…I know you gave me instructions the other day, but actually seeing it helps me so much more…I so appreciate the tutorial!!!

    • Tendayi 07 March, 2013 at 6:23 am #

      You’re welcome 🙂

  4. Andiswa 07 March, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    That looks very pretty!

  5. Kabo 07 March, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    Do you have anything on Dread-locks

  6. kachana2007@yahoo.com 08 March, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

    thats easy anf beautiful

  7. kachana2007@yahoo.com 08 March, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

    wow That’s easy I love ponytail

  8. ammamama 01 February, 2014 at 7:53 pm #

    pretty ❤

Leave a Reply

