Some pics of sulphate free shampoos

11 Mar

I get a lot of emails from readers telling me they cannot find sulphate free shampoos.  I decided to go to Dischem, Checkers, Pick n Pay and Clicks and see what sulphate free shampoos I came across.  It made me realise that there are actually many sulphate free shampoos out there it’s just that often we don’t identify them as being sulphate free.  I took pics so you know what the shampoos look like.

1.  Nu Hair Treatments Shampoo

s1

This shampoo is in Clicks.  It was on special when I saw it.  Its normal price is R59.99 (US$6.50).  It is part of a whole treatment regime but Im sure it can be used on its own.

2.  Enchantrix Family Shampoo

s3

I found this shampoo in Dischem.  It was the only one left on the shelf.  I often see it in health shops.  It costs R68.95 (US$7.60)

3.  Hair One Hair Cleanser and Conditioner

s4

This shampoo is mentioned often on overseas forums and blogs.  It is supposedly very gentle.  I found it in Dischem costing R89.95 (US$10).

4.  African Organics Natural Shampoo

s5

This is another shampoo I often see in health shops.  I also came across it in Dischem.  It costs R39.95 (US$4.40).

5.  Clicks Kids Detangling Shampoo

s9

I was put onto this shampoo by the ladies over at Frochic.  I had seen this shampoo several times in store being seeing this shampoo but it never occurred to me that it might be sulphate free.  As the name implies, it is available in Clicks retailing for R29.99 (US$3.30), a great price for a sulphate free shampoo.

6.  Earthsap Shampoo

s13

This is another shampoo I see often in health shops.  I see it being sold online too.  I came across this in Checkers.  It costs R39.99 (US$4.40)

7.  Organics Petal Fresh Shampoo

s11

This is the first time I’ve seen this shampoo.  I saw it in Checkers selling for R59.99 (US$6.67).  I really like the packaging – it makes me want to try it!  I didn’t buy it though!  There is a line of shampoos and conditioners with the name Organics that is sold in Clicks.  I’m not sure if this belongs to that line.

8.  Dr Miracle Curl Care Rehydrating Shampoo

s10

I wrote a bit about this line in this post.  This is part of a line targeted at women with natural hair by Dr Miracle.  It’s sold through Clicks (as well as Style Studio).  It costs R69.99 (US$7.78)

9.  Marc Anthony Sulphate Free Shampoo

s8

This is the first time I’m noticing this shampoo.  I found it in Dischem retailing for R99.95 (US$11.00).  When I saw it I remember thinking these shampoos looks expensive!

10.  CHI Man  Daily Active Clean Shampoo

s6

This shampoo is marketed at men as is evident from its name.  I say, if it’s a great shampoo we can use it too!  It costs R44.95 (US$5.00).   I know that CHI has many other sulphate free shampoos I just didn’t see them in the Dischem I went to.

Although I went to just the shops mentioned above, I know there are many more sulphate free shampoos out there.  Style Studio sells sulphate free shampoos from the following brands – Joico, Loreal, Goldwell, Nioxin, Matrix Biolage, Paul Mitchell, Redken, Moroccan Oil and more.  You can also get sulphate free shampoos from hair care lines that target women with natural hair eg Keracare Natural Textures, Mizani True Textures, Curls Unleashed etc.

For even more sulphate free shampoos you can view this post where I provide a list.  I will add the above shampoos to this list too.

24 Responses to “Some pics of sulphate free shampoos”

  1. nondi 11 March, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

    Hey Ms T

    I just wanna comment about the 4th shampoo.

    I bought it expecting it to do what it says it will do. I was so disappointed after washing with it. My hair felt so stripped and just WRONG!

    I use this shampoo to wash my hair brushes, combs and shower caps instead. I will never use it on my hair again.

    Just thought to give my experience of the product.

    • Tendayi 11 March, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

      Thanks Nondi

      I wonder whats in it that didnt agree with your hair. Like the idea of using it for washing brushes etc! Thats actually a great tip!

  2. Nancy 11 March, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

    Hi. Thanks for the post. I’ve tried both the Petal Fresh Organics and the African Organics shampoos and conditiononers on my relaxed hair . I wouldnt recommend the shampoos. They both left my hair feeling extremely stiff ,brittle and extremely tangled. In my oppinion they’re just too harsh for african hair. The conditioners on the otherhand are good for co-washing. I’m still sitting with a full bottle of Petal Fresh Organics shampoo that I bought 2 months ago contamplaiting whether combining it with a silicon free conditioner will make it usable. I think with suphate free shampoo’s its best to try the salon brands formulated for African hair like Chi, Mizani, Keracare etc.

    • Tendayi 12 March, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

      I haven’t tried all these shampoos in the post. I must say though that the sulphate free shampoos that i have are not ones marketed for ‘black’ hair but they work very well. I have Bodyshop Rainforest Moisture Shampoo which I bought at the Bodyshop as well as Organix Coconut Milk Shampoo which I got in the US. These shampoos work very well for me and I continue to buy them.

  3. Grace 12 March, 2013 at 6:45 am #

    Thanks to u and Phrophro I realised that my hair is the type which doesn’t like sulphates. I found Himalaya shampoo in a supermarket and my hair has never been happier since. No more shedding during washing. And thanks to u, I know now that we haven’t got to buy a whole range from the same brand just to get results. My bathroom shelf is now a mish-mash of useful products. Please do something similar on moisturising conditioners. facing a challenge finding those.

    • Tendayi 12 March, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

      This is great to hear Grace 🙂 I will definately work on something for moisturisers as well!

  4. Yoli 12 March, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    Hi Tendayi,

    Once again thanks for an informative post. Is the Tresemme Naturals Nourishing Moisture Shampoo for dry / damaged hair not Sulphate free? Also, on a different note; how is the Huetiful humidifier treating your hair? I have hair type 4b and I am seriously considering making the investment, even though it is quite a hefty one.

  5. Soso 12 March, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

    Thank you, thank you so much! I needed this so badly! I’ll be self-relaxing my virgin hair in just a few minutes and I just needed some tips and that’s when I came across your blog! So glad I found your blog. Been reading hair care blogs for months now n its so difficult to get products as many of them are sold in the US. Its so cool to find a local blog.

    • Tendayi 12 March, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      You’re welcome Soso 🙂

  6. Aisha 12 March, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

    Hey Tendayi, thanks so much for taking the time to research this stuff for us. I too have seen one or two sulphate free shampoos around but had no idea there were this many, and most of them being as affordable as they are. I’ll be sharing this with my readers 😉

    • Tendayi 12 March, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

      You’re welcome Aisha. I also had no idea there were so many!!

  7. Titi 13 March, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    Good post as usual Tendayi. I’ve been using the Hair One Conditioning Cleanser for a couple of weeks now and so far so good. Seems to clean my hair without stripping it of its natural oils. THe only compaints i have: i need to pump a lot of it to get my hair feeling clean and it is not a great detangler.

    My favourite sulphate free shampoo has got to be Keracare Moisturising Detangling shampoo (they have one with suplhates and one without – i use the latter). It leaves my hair feeling clean, doesnt strip it of its natuaral oils and so detangled i’m often tempted not to use a conditioner aftwerwards (i havent given in to the temptation though).

    Shampoos from the Giovanni lines are also sulfate-free and they are good. got mine from http://www.faithful-to-nature.co.za, an online health store with loads of hair products that are enviromentally friendly and hard to find in SA.

    thanks for the awesome blog!

    • Tendayi 14 March, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      You’re welcome Titi. I haven’t tried any of the shampoos you mention but now you have me wanting to try the Keracare!!

  8. nubian_queen15 16 March, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

    Hi. Thank you so much for all the effort you have put into creating such an informative post. I stumbled upon your blog, while i was searching for a South African hair blog geared towards the hair care needs of Cocoa Goddeses. I cut all my hair off 10 months ago, because i wanted to go the natural hair route, and start off with a clean slate.There’s a whole load of info out there, but when it comes to finding products locally, it’s a bit of a challenge for me, because a lot of the products i’ve seen are on African-American hair blogs, and not available in SA. Your list of sulphate free shampoos has come at the right time, for me, because ths is what i’ve been looking for. I noticed you mentioned you might do a post on conditioners. Could you please include leave-in conditioners as well. I have been using Cantu shea butter leave in conditioning repair cream, and that stuff is AMAZING !!! Love it, but,i can’t find it in SA,so i have to order it online (from the US), and qUIte frankly, it’s expensive. I’m not sure if you’re familiar with the product. I’m looking for a local alternative. Thanks again

    • Tendayi 16 March, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

      You’re welcome

      Im working on a post on moisturisers and there are a few leave in conditioners on it. Will post it next week.

      I do know Cantue Shea Butter but Ive never used it. It gets rave reviews on overseas blogs!! Would love to try it one day.

  9. Eloise 18 March, 2013 at 1:08 am #

    Hi, Tendayi! Decided to jump on the bandwagon and give my 10c worth! I use Enchantrix shampoo and conditioner and LOVVVE it!! Also use Giovanni conditioners on occasion but its pricier and not feasible all the time,for the way I use conditioner! I conditioner wash(co wash) mostly. Tresemmé Naturals Conditioner is brilliant for deep treatments( Silicone free=no build up)! I looked @ Dr Miracle’s Curl-line and remember not being impressed by the ingredient list,so took that off my to buy list!! Waiting patiently for the sale of Curls Unleashed in Cape Town Stores! Hmmf! Found African Organics,Earthsap and Nature’s Gate(not reviewed) too drying for my Hair! Has any one tried the JO’M shampoo? I’d be interested to hear their experience.

    • Tendayi 19 March, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

      Thanks Eloise for this. Jo’M shampoo is actually contains sulphates. They had said they would reformat it to remove the sulphates but I dont think they have done that yet.

  10. Rati 29 March, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    Hi Tendai, thanks for a really helpful post been struggling on the shampoo front. I live in Zim in Bulawayo to be exact, and it is a challenge finding any of the sulfate free shampoos you have spoken about (even most of the products you talk about). But a friend who just started her hair challenge just this week managed to find a range of shampoos by Laila Ali that claim to be sulfate free, so looking forward to trying it. I have a question about conditioners hope its not a silly question but may you do a post on the differences and effects of a moisturizing conditioner, deep conditioner, leave-in-conditioner and protein conditioner (some examples would be great too). I have been using ORS Hair Mayonnaise and I think I suffered a protein overload because of it so I don’t know what other conditioner or types of conditioner I should be using.

    • Tendayi 02 April, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

      Hi Rati

      I think the answer to your question is about the role of moisture and protein in hair care. Take a look at this post where I go into detail about the two – http://africanhairblog.com/2011/01/12/moisture-moisture-moisture-and-protein/

      ORS Hair Mayo is a protein conditioner. I use it about once a month or so. If I use it more than that then I get protein overload. Of course everyones hair is different and some can use it weekly buy I find that once a month is adequate. What I can use weekly though is ORS Replenishing Conditioner which is a very light protein. This works well. Moisturising (protein free) conditioners that I use are Mizani Moisturefuse and Keracare Humecto. There are many more though.

  11. Priscilla Baker 24 July, 2013 at 7:57 am #

    I say thank you very much from the bottom of my heart. I have been looking for sulphate free shampoo for my 7year old DD and surprisingly all the stores mentioned above are where I shop but I have never known these shampoos are in there. I will try the Kids one from clicks see how it goes. Thank you for this piece of valuable information.

    • Tendayi 24 July, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      You’re welcome. The shampoos are there but often we don’t spot them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog watching | Soul Hair - 08 April, 2013

    […] Hair Blog gives us the low down on sulphate free shampoos and mineral oil free moisturizers available at Clicks, Dischem and Pick n Pay. I have began using […]

  2. Product review: Earthsapp pomegranate and soy conditioner | Soul Hair - 03 May, 2013

    […] natural products available in stores in her area (she is based in South Africa). Check out her post here and see if you can spot those products in a store near […]

Leave a Reply

