The braids are coming out

22 Mar
undo

Day 1 of undoing braids

The braids are coming off now!  I started undoing my braids this past weekend.  It’s a very slow process because of how I undo them.  I’m almost done though, I have about 30 more braids to go (I counted!!)

To see how I undo my braids read this post.  I should be done by the end of the day then I will go into ‘tlc’ mode for the next two weeks while I decide what to do next.  I’m thinking of getting another protective style but I’m just not sure what exactly.  In my ‘tlc’ mode I will go back to washing and deep conditioning my hair twice a week.  I will also make sure to do a protein treatment (using Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise) as well as concentrate on adequately moisturising my hair.  The idea behind all this is to prepare my hair for what comes next, whether I decide to relax it or get another protective style.

I will let you all know what I decide.

 

9 Responses to “The braids are coming out”

  1. Busi 22 March, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

    Can you do both? Get a relaxer and maybe a few days later get a protective style like braids? Or is it better to not relax first if you are planning to braid?

    Undoing braids is the worst thing about having braids 😦 But 30 is definately almost done.
    Can’t wait to see your new look.

    • Tendayi 22 March, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

      I will either get a relaxer or get another prtective style – not both. Getting a style like braids on freshly relaxed hair is just a recipe for disaster. Another option would be to relax then wait maybe 4 weeks or so then get braids done again.

  2. Fezekile Mosiane 23 March, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    How can I grow a coily afro and what would be the best product range (shampoo, conditioner, moisturising spray etc.) to use to maintain that?, I currently have very fluffy hair which look more like a relax than an afro..

    • Tendayi 25 March, 2013 at 11:54 am #

      Hi Fezekile

      Our hair textures differs from one woman to another. Even on one head, you can have many different textures. Not everyone can get a coily afro though. To enhance you curls, you would need to use products that define your curls and make the ‘pop’. Many products that are designed for women with naturla hair have a product / gel that is curl defining. Look at this posts for such products – http://africanhairblog.com/2012/11/02/products-for-natural-hair/

  3. Keji 30 March, 2013 at 6:04 am #

    Grr, spent the past 2 days removing my braids too, glad it’s all out but haaate the resulting shed hair. I’ve got mine in a bun till I get relaxer next week or following week. Just wanna know, are you natural now or relaxed?

    • Tendayi 02 April, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

      Hi Keji

      I relax (actually texlax) my hair. My last relaxer was in November so I have a lot of growth but I am relaxed.

  4. mandie 03 April, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    hi tendayi, whats the difference between texlax and relaxing?

    • Tendayi 03 April, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

      Texlaxing is deliberately washing off the relaxer before the hair is fully relaxed. The hair is not dead straight and its left with some texture eg if a relaxer needs 15 minutes to fully relax your hair, you only leave it on for 8 minutes then neutralise the relaxer. Texlaxing is done to get thicker hair as well as to avoid overprocessing of the hair by the relaxer.

      • mandie 11 April, 2013 at 9:48 am #

        thanks tendayi, I really want to try and telax my hair, i need my hair to be thicker, i last relaxed my hair end last year, im keeping it in braids for now until i get enough growth.

Leave a Reply

