Hair update – 20 weeks post relaxer

8 Apr
Quick check to see if I am retining any length.  Pic on left is Nov 2012. Pic on right is a few days ago.

Quick check to see if I am retaining any length. Pic on left is Nov 2012. Pic on right is a few days ago.

It’s now been five months since my last relaxer in November 2012 and about two weeks since I removed my last set of braids.  Surprisingly, I have been coping very well with the amount of new growth that I have.  I have resorted to washing and deep conditioning my hair in four sections (inspiration taken from natural girls).  I tie the hair with bands in four sections and wash each section in turn.  This helps in that the hair tangles less.  It takes longer but I think it’s worth it in the end.  With 5 months of new growth I have to be really careful when dealing with two completely different textures.  The hair is vulnerable where the new growth meets the previously relaxed hair.  If I am careful the hair will break at this point along the hair shaft (it’s often referred to as the ‘line of demarcation’).

I have been giving some thought to what to do with my hair now that the braids are out.  I do not want to relax it just yet.  As I mentioned in my first post of this year, I plan to get more protective styles this year.  I am thinking of getting cornrows (without braid extensions) done next week.  I will share pics of my cornrows with you when I get them done.  I also plan on getting braids again in June and July for winter.  These are arguably the coldest months of the year in South Africa and braids will protect my hair from the elements.

I do think I am full bra strap length now (finally!!).  It’s hard to really tell because of all the new growth I have.  I would have to straighten the hair to be sure.  I think I will just wait until the next time I get a relaxer before doing a proper length check.

A bantu knot / twist out.  I do this to blend the new growth with the elaxed ends.

A bantu knot / twist out. I do this to blend the new growth with the relaxed ends.

 

10 Responses to “Hair update – 20 weeks post relaxer”

  1. yasblogs 08 April, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    You said the picture on the left is November 2012, and on the right was a few days ago. But it looks longer in the November 2012 picture? How often do you relax your hair? Isn’t 5 months too long to leave it? I had mine relaxed in November 2012 also, and then in March I had it texturised.

    • Tendayi 08 April, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

      In Nov 2012 the hair was straightened. In the pic from few days ago it was just air dried. Thats why I am holding it down with my finger to stretch it out. It is a bit longer. Count the blocks on the shirt.

      I normally relax my hair every 12 to 14 weeks. When I have braids I go longer because the braids help me to stretch. It doesnt matter how long you leave it as long as you take care of it and it is not breaking. There are some women who only relax their hair once or twice a year and it works great for them.

      • Saima Amen 08 April, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

        i am about 8 months post relaxer, am planning of relaxing my hair somewere in mid winters so that when i blow dry it, its easier to handle it than when its summers when you get all seated up even in the hair….for now i am having braids(i mostly keep braided cos i can do it myself) but after this which i am taking out this weekend, i will have on a full head weave………..ever since i came along your hair blog, i have been taking extra care of my hair and it feels good….wanted to ask if you have any idea about the egg treatment, i use it on my hair(introduced by a friend) its really good and am seeing most people too do it and videos all over you tube :)its great though disgusting.

      • Tendayi 09 April, 2013 at 11:44 am #

        I havent done a treatment with egg before but it is quite popular. Egg is rich in protein which gives the hair strength. Many use it as a protein treatment. The reason why I havent tried it yet is the mess!!

  2. Naomi 08 April, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Hi Tendayi, your hair is growing so fast. I started using t444z since October 2012, and there’s a big improvement on my hair.
    Can u please help? I am loosing my hair each time i comb it; i went trough a very stressfull time and it did affected my hair badly. Can you advise any urgent rescue?
    Thanks,
    Naomi

  3. wendsile 09 April, 2013 at 9:38 am #

    my my , you have beautiful hair. Im a natural girl, will be two years in November and have been loving the course texture and volume. when I had the big chop my hair was bra strap, but the volume had decreased, so its good to see someone with healthy volume while relaxed. Keep up with the informative posts, loving the blogs!

    • Tendayi 09 April, 2013 at 11:03 am #

      Thank you Wendisile. Its a lot of hard work. It takes a lot to keep hair as thick as possible while relaxed. I dont really have thick hair but what has helped me is texlaxing where i deliberately underprocess the relaxer. It leaves my hair with some texture.

  4. lucinda 12 April, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    Love your twist out!Your hair looks nice and full.Have you done a post on how to do that that I missed?Would love to do the twist out.Thanks!

    • Tendayi 15 April, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

      Thanks Lucinda. I dodnt do a post on it. I’ll will take pics next time I do it to document the process then write up a post describing it.

Leave a Reply

