Hair update – 24 weeks post relaxer

6 May

DSC_0145

It’s now 24 weeks (6 months) since my last relaxer.  Surprisingly, it’s actually going quite well! I have learnt that the best way to deal with plenty of growth when you are relaxed is to keep it soft and moisturised.  It then becomes easier to manage.  I have been using Revlon Special Feeling Super Soft Activator to achieve this (review coming soon).  Since I took the braids out, I have kept the hair almost exclusively in a bun.

bun

I now have my hair in cornrows (I haven’t had this style in years!).  I had them done 3 days ago.  I went to a salon and had them done there.  The night before I got the cornrows, I did a pre-shampoo treatment with a mix of coconut oil and Jamaican black castor oil (JBCO).  This was then washed out at the salon using my own shampoo (which I took with me).  My hair was blow dried before the cornrows were done.

cornrows

To look after the hair in cornrows I am applying my JBCO / coconut oil mix to the scalp in between the lines.  The reason I mix the two oils is because I find JBCO very thick, coconut oil helps to thin it.  The only downside is that because of the cold, the coconut oil makes the mixture solidify.  I have to heat the bottle in warm water each time before I use it.  I then spray braid spray on the hair, paying special attention to the plaited bit at the back of my head.  I spray the hair until its damp then tie a scarf over my head.  I do this at night just before bedtime.  In the morning I just remove the scarf and carry on as usual.  I’m doing the moisturising at night so that the scarf will make all the frizzy bits of hair lie flat by morning.  I make sure not to touch the hair in the morning so as not to disturb it.  I plan to keep the cornrows for two weeks.

Winter is fast approaching.  It’s already very cold in the mornings and evenings.  I have been wondering when I should get my next relaxer.  I plan to get braids done through winter so I may just forgo the relaxer and just get my hair braided.  I’ll keep you posted!

When was the last time you had cornrows done??

41 Responses to “Hair update – 24 weeks post relaxer”

  1. nondi 06 May, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    Hey Ms T

    I just took down my cornrowns just friday. I had them for two weeks too. I must say they came in very handy since i’m stretching my relaxer.

    I must say though, I dont think il be relaxing my hair anytime soon. My stretch is going so much better than i would have imagined.

    This week i will be rocking small twist and a twisted bun i made from synthetic hair.

    I think i have finaly found the conditioner mix that works best for my thick growth . I mix the following:
    Arganix conditioner (found it during one of my product bingies)
    ORS Hair mask (this with the arganix is a miracle)
    Oils: castor, coconut, jojoba, sweet almond and eucalyptus oi
    I always make sure i deep condition OVER NIGHT! It works the best this way. I have tried using it for a few hours but the benefits are over night.

    Hope You enjoy the cornrows.

    • Tendayi 06 May, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

      So far so good with the cornrows! How long have you been stretching Nondi? Ive also found keeping the new growth soft is the key. Its working for me so far.

      • nondi 06 May, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

        I’m close to 16 weeks now.
        Great part is, I’m not panicky about this stretch!

        You look great with the cornrows.

      • Tendayi 08 May, 2013 at 10:21 am #

        Thank you Nondi 🙂 How far are you taking your stretch?

  2. Viënna 06 May, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

    Cute style!

  3. ravi 06 May, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

    the cornrows are very nice. and i am tempted for my next hairstyle… tempted in the sense that last time i had them i suffered taking them out. my hair is natural

    • Tendayi 06 May, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

      Go and get them Ravi! Just dont get them too thin so that you struggle to take them out.

  4. nenna 06 May, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    Them cornrows look good on u!!

  5. wisaal 06 May, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    It looks beautiful, really opens up your face! Yeah can imagine you’re going to be a bit chilly. We really underestimate how much warmth our hair gives our head…

    • Tendayi 06 May, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

      Thank you Wisaal. I think I will have to rely on scarves. I am feeling the breeze lately!

    • hairjunkie2011 07 May, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

      lol i was just thinking the same thing…this hairstyle shows off your beautiful face so well 😀 Its pretty neat too.

      • Tendayi 07 May, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

        Thank you 🙂

  6. Thembela 06 May, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

    Too cute!

    • Tendayi 06 May, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

      Thank you Thembela 🙂

  7. Buhle 06 May, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

    Wow 6months and no relaxer i will def.try it.i usually relax mine after 12weeks.i hav a 2yr little gal and she has kinky hair wat can i use to soften it that is not relaxer.

    • Tendayi 06 May, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

      I usually go 12 weeks too but this time because I got braids before the 12 weeks Ive been able to stretch longer.

      As for your baby, I suggest you concentrate on softening her hair by making sure the hair is moisturised. Moisturised hair is soft. Wash the hair often with a gentle shampoo and condition it. Apply a bit of moistuiriser when you rinse off the conditioner. You can top this all off by applying a bt of oil eg coconut to the hair to seal in the moisture.

  8. Ernie 06 May, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    hi tendai,nice hairdo,where can i buy the jamaican black castor oil?Im in SA,limpopo province

    • Tendayi 08 May, 2013 at 10:18 am #

      Thank you Ernie. In SA Ruutos Hair sell it. They are based in Jhb but Im sure they can courier to you. Go to http://ruutoshair.com/ for their details.

  9. Palesa 07 May, 2013 at 12:33 am #

    Exceptional growth and length retaining!!! U are definitly givng me hope, I’m 9 weeks post, plateuing at SL and experienced a set back (MAJOR) but it consoles me to say it was my fault and I now know wat I did wrong.

    I’m currently in cornrows and have sworn off da weave as I (me again) neglect my mane wen I have one installed. I’m taking a leap for the DIY healthy hair journey, givng exception to relaxers, my questions r….

    will air drying without rollers do any harm to my hair never mind the look? I’m more focused at health. How do I go about it? And with a 3c hair type will my forthcoming 8 month stretch make or break my efforts?

    My stylists hav been discouraging me, more especially wen they hear 8/9 months, but at da rate my hair is dying…..stretch and save or big chop and dread 😦

    • Tendayi 10 May, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

      Air drying will not ruin your hair at all. Its actually beneficial. You do not need to use rollers at all. What I do is put my hair in a bun and let it dry that way or sometimes I will just braid it into 2 or so big braids and let it dry. The reason I do this is so that it doesnt get tangled while its drying. Some women just leave it as is and let it dry that way. I air dry all the time, i use rollers only when I want the hair straight or in curls. I can count on one hand the number of times I used rollers this year.

      As for stretching, you need to just make sure you keep up your routine and take care of your hair. If you neglect it then it will break. Also observe the amount of hair on your comb each time you detangle. This will hel you to see if there is an increase in breakage and you can react tmeously before you have a setback. Good luck!

  10. Matlhodi 07 May, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    Oh wow. They really suit you. You should rock them more often. I’m a cornrow girl through and through. I just love how quick the process is…you’re in and out of the hair salon in +/- 1.5 hrs. Plus taking them down isn’t much of a hassle depending on how thick you had them done..

    • Tendayi 07 May, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

      Im actually asking myself what took me so long!! Thanks Matlhodi.

  11. Yoli 07 May, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    Hi Tendayi,

    Loving the cornrows, I have been thinking about them too, but I’m afraid they may damage my hairline further. It’s slowly but surely thickining. I am trying to get the JBCO from Amazon, but they said they do not ship to Durban:( I see you also buy yours on Amazon, did they ship to you at a JHB address. If so, maybe I can give them a JHB address too since I have family there.

    • Tendayi 07 May, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

      I think the cornrows with added extensions are worse for your hairline. That said if you are trying to recover your hairline then maybe stay away from cornrows for now.

      I did buy my JBCO from Amazon. I was in the States at the time so it was delivered to me there. You can now get JBCo in SA though from http://ruutoshair.com/, They recently started stocking it. They are based in Joburg but Im sure they can courier to Durban.

  12. Ghlonghair 07 May, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

    Very loooooooooooooovely!! Have you stopped using T444Z Hair Food? It is now available in Ghana and I’m on my second batch….it is a staple for me now.

    • Tendayi 08 May, 2013 at 10:17 am #

      Thank you 🙂 I still have T444Z. Just decided to use JBCO this time. I’ll go back to it when I have braids.

  13. Yoli 08 May, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

    Thanks for Ruutos hair’s details. I will be buying it from them.

  14. Beth 08 May, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    Cornrows have been my go-style since my natural hair became long enough to plait… Also keep them for two weeks usually but I’ve had them for 4 weeks now and they look… decent 🙂

    • Tendayi 08 May, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

      How did you manage to push 4 weeks Beth? I don’t think I can go that long. I think they will be looking messy by the end of 2 weeks.

  15. TatendaRobin 09 May, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    Hey I have cornrows in my hair at the moment. It’s my go-to hairstyle and this time I have fibre in the lines. I find that the fibre helps keep them neat and good hairdresser plaits the hair in such a way to reduce the lines by the hairline. The hairdresser makes or breaks the success of the style. I actually have the same style with a side fringe.

    I haven’t relaxed since February sometime and I like my new growth that I am contemplating transitioning. Problem is the fight I have with my hairdresser and the salon people tempting me to straighter hair

    • Tendayi 10 May, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

      I think I’ll make them a go to style too!

      As for hairdressers stressing you about relaxing, I get the same too. The woman who did my cornrows kept asking why I was plaiting with so much growth and why I wasn’t relaxing my hair. She kept saying my hair would break. I just told her Id relax it later!

      • TatendaRobin 12 May, 2013 at 1:34 am #

        It is quite intense I told them I wasnt going to relax, I was actually thinking of transitioning but at this rate avoidance at the salon is what is going to determine whether I do not fall into the relaxer trap set by hairdressers. My growth had shrunk after airdrying the hair so that was really painful.
        keep inspiring people with your hair

      • Tendayi 14 May, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

        I had to have the hair blow dried to straighten the growth otherwise they would have ripped through my hair at the salon!

  16. vicky 22 May, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    Guys plz advice me at wich store can I buy jamaican black castor oil. Its very scarce, plz help me out. Thanx.

  17. Zezee 26 May, 2013 at 12:56 am #

    Hello, pls I have just gone 14months without a relaxer. I was trying to go natural but my hair is just too hard and I cannot take it anymore, and my hair is breaking too. So now I want to go back to relaxing my hair. The good news is that I have gained more knowledge on taking care of my hair,deep conditioning treatments and so forth. But Pls can you give me any tips now I want to relax after a Long time.? Do I trim my hair before or after relaxing? I feel like my hair is 4c. Which product do you recommend? Thank you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cornrows are out | africanhairblog - 03 July, 2013

    […] for three weeks and not the two I had originally planned. I removed them the same way I did the previous ones.  I used a bottle with a nozzle to apply a coconut and jamaican black castor oil mix between the […]

Leave a Reply

