Product review – Revlon Special Feeling Super Soft Activator

8 May

17

Thought I would just share my experiences with this moisturiser which I bought on a whim while taking pics for a post.  What made me buy it was the name, I was drawn to the fact that it was a ‘super soft activator’ and I was curious to see if it would work in making my new growth super soft.

One of the things that also made me buy it is that Scurl Activator Moisturiser has been out of stock for months now.  This looked like it might be a good substitute.

My thoughts:

I really liked this moisturiser.  I did make my new growth ‘super soft’.  I last relaxed my hair six months ago so I am dealing with a lot of new growth.  I have been using it by applying it directly to the new growth and a bit to my ends. I’ve also applied a bit to my sons hair and it works well on his hair too.

Downside:

I discovered the hard way that I cannot be heavy handed with this product.  It tends to coat the hair and make the hair heavy and limp.  I also learnt that the best way for me to prevent this was to use a bit every other day instead of daily. The heavy coating may be because it has some silicone as the 8th ingredient.

I cannot pronounce some of the ingredients because they are so long!  It had me wondering what they are exactly.

Directions on the bottle:

Place a small amount of Super Soft Activator in the palm of your hand and massage gently through hair.  Style as desired.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Stearalkonium chloride, Cetyl alcohol, PEG – 4 stearate, Hydrolysed Collagen, Methylparaben, Sodium chloride, Simethicone, Fragrance, Propylparaben, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Disodium phosphate.

 I bought this product at Sweet Penny for R21.99 (approx US$2.50).  It’s also available at Checkers.

8 Responses to “Product review – Revlon Special Feeling Super Soft Activator”

  1. Patience 08 May, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

    Hi Tendayi
    Can I use that moisturiser when I have braids on and can I still do prepoos when I have braids.I’m a bit worried cause my hair is doing well and I don’t want to damage it when I get the braids for winter

    • Tendayi 10 May, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

      I think the moisturiser would be too thick for braids unless you dilute it with something like aloe vera juice, rose water or even plain water. I don’t prepoo when I have braids because its hard to rinse off and wash out the oul from the braids. Im afraid that they will accumulate product over time. I prepoo before getting the braids and after.

  2. nomvulatshuma@yahoo.com 08 May, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

    Hey!

    Thanks a lot Tendai I’m gona try this on my natural hair soon.

    God bless you
    Sent from my BlackBerry®

  3. Grace 09 May, 2013 at 6:25 am #

    I hope u find the new formula S Curl No Drip soon so u can do a review on it. It’s available here in Harare.

    • Tendayi 09 May, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

      I have done a review of it from back in the day when we could get it in SA. See the review here – http://africanhairblog.com/2011/09/06/lusters-scurl-activator-moisturizer/

      • Grace 09 May, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

        That’s the old one. There’s a new paraben-free one that’s got Argan Oil as it’s fifth ingredient and olive oil as the sixth. I wouldn’t know if it’s any different in performance compared to the one in the review u referred me to coz I’m still not very good at moisturizing effectively.

      • Tendayi 10 May, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

        The new one hasnt come to us as yet 😦

Leave a Reply

