Style tutorial – perm rod set on braids

10 May

Thought I would share pics of my daughter’s braids when they have been set with perm rods.  I do this not only because it looks great, but also to shorten the length of her braids since they are always long because her hair is long.  I just feel braids that are too long do not look appropriate on a young girl.DSC_0101

All you need to do this are some perm rods, a small bucket / container and hot water.  Perm rods come in several sized.  I bought average sized ones for mid-size curls.  You can use any type of roller really, anything round will do.  If you use ordinary rollers you can hold them in place with bobby pins.  You can even use drinking straws to create tiny spirals.  Large rollers will create waves, these look great on thinner braids.

perm rod set

I always begin with clean, freshly washed hair.  I place the perm rods just on the ends of the braids.  The higher you place the perm rods, the more curls you have and the fuller they style.  You can also create a fuller style by using more rollers.  Once I have placed the rollers on all the braids I dip each roller in hot water.  You need to make sure you do not skip any braids.  Let the braids cool before removing the perms rods.

DSC_0107

These curls will last quite a long time.  They become looser with time and with washing.  You can simply renew them again by repeating the process if they are beginning to look ‘tired’.

DSC_0108

 

17 Responses to “Style tutorial – perm rod set on braids”

  1. haircoustics 10 May, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    Its good to know that the curls last for a long time. I’m going to use small perm rods for the ends of my havana twists close to the end of the month. I find that curly ends give a more natural look to extensions. Thanks for the post!
    Sent from my BlackBerry® device from Digicel

  2. TatendaRobin 10 May, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

    Cool hairstyle love it, Agree about long braids on little girls, with the playing they can get braids stuck pretty much anywhere, talking from experience as a grown woman who like long braids but they get stuck for some apparent reason.

    Where in South African can I get perm rods? Can they be bought online and about how many are enough for someone with a biggish head?

    • Tendayi 10 May, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

      I bought the perm rods at a shop called Sweet Penny. Its in Boulders mall in Midrand. There is another one in Pretoria in the cbd. The rollers come in large packs. I dont even use them all when I set my daughters hair. Im sure there are about 40 or more in the pack. They should be enough for a grownup i think.

      • TatendaRobin 12 May, 2013 at 1:31 am #

        Thanks will try get them when i go to Gauteng

      • Tinashe 13 May, 2013 at 11:57 am #

        Hi Tendayi,

        Am in Zim, Harare. Any idea where i can get perm rods? Thanks!

      • Tendayi 14 May, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

        They are available at Venus Beauty Supply located at 1 Windsor Close, Off Upper East Road, Mount Pleasant, Hre. I will pass on other places as I find out more.

      • Tendayi 14 May, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

        You can also try Hair World in Harare

  3. Sibusisiwe Ndhlovu 13 May, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

    Thanks Tendayi – I have been wondering how one can get curls on the braids!! I will certainly try this in June as part of my protective style.

    • Tendayi 14 May, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

      Good luck! Shae pics please 🙂

  4. Tamiya 13 May, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    Hey thanks for your hair tips I really enjoy reading stuff on your blog. I also bought this book recently and it really is a good read it has a link to your blog as well. http://amzn.to/1667uah

    • Tendayi 14 May, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

      Thanks Tamiya. I haven’t read this book. I didn’t even know it contained a link to the blog!

  5. dibozza 24 May, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    Hi Tendayi

    Any idea where I can buy the perm rods in Cape town?

    • Tendayi 24 May, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

      I think you can get them at Jumbo.

      • dibozza 26 May, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

        Thank you very much, I did find them at Jumbo in Cape town

  6. gabslivin 03 February, 2014 at 9:09 am #

    Hi Tendayi,

    Thanks for the post.. Which hair do you use to get this hairstyle? Is it Expression or One million? I would like one that lasts long but looks silky soft. Any suggestions?

    • Tendayi 04 February, 2014 at 11:34 pm #

      This is Expression braid. The style lasts for a very long time, it remains curly until you remove the braids though the curls will loosen over time. The curls can be refreshed though by simply putting the hair in rollers again and dipping into hot water.

Leave a Reply

