Cornrows are out…

21 May

hair

I removed the cornrows on Sunday.  I kept them for two weeks.  They were beginning to look messy and I don’t think I could have pushed to three weeks even if I wanted to.   Prior to removing the cornrows, I used a bottle with a nozzle to apply coconut oil on my scalp along the lines.  I applied the coconut oil quite generously because I wanted to do a pre-shampoo treatment with it after I removed the cornrows.  The coconut oil spread to my hair as well.

I removed a few lines at a time and proceeded to detangle those lines before moving on.  I did this to avoid detangling my whole head right at the end.  I’ve learnt that you lose less hair when you detangle your hair in small manageable sections.

Once all the cornrows were removed and the hair completely detangled, I wore a shower cap and proceeded to do a pre-shampoo treatment with the coconut oil I had applied.  I wore the shower cap to bed and washed and deep conditioned the next morning.

I am going to wear my hair out for a week before putting in a new set of cornrows.  In the week I plan to wash and deep condition my hair twice.  My plan is to have the next set of cornrows for two weeks, wear my hair out for a further week, then get braids after that to see me through winter.  I’ll keep you posted!

 

7 Responses to “Cornrows are out…”

  1. lucinda 22 May, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    How are you managing the new growth?I’m 8 weeks post and ready to throw in the towel,lol! How long has this stretch been?

    • Tendayi 23 May, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

      My last relaxer was 6 months ago!!! Im managing by keeping the new growth soft via moisturising and deep conditioning. Im also mananging with cornrows and braids as well. They give me a break from dealing with the new growth.

  2. Grace 24 May, 2013 at 9:24 am #

    Awww Tendayi, I must say, you’re stingy with the photos
    :-).

    • Tendayi 24 May, 2013 at 11:11 am #

      lol Grace!! I took the pic myself and the quality wasn’t good. When I have good quality pics I share!!

  3. TatendaRobin 27 May, 2013 at 12:36 am #

    Stretching hair can be easier than relaxed hair, I find my hairline is stronger and my hair is thicker when blown out, also the wide toothed comb is my friend

  4. lungiswaz 30 June, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    Hi Tendayi,

    I was just wondering if you experience excessive shedding when you undid your cornrows?

    I had cornrows for a month (I was wearing a wig over them), and I was shampooing and DC’ing them every 10 days and moisturising with a water based moisturiser + sealing daily with grapeseed oil.

    And when I took them out, I saturated them with olive oil before a started undoing. And I detangled in sections. But the knots and shedding was sooo excessive!

    What could be the cause of this, did I keep them for too long? Is there anything you can advise? They were great as a protective style – but I feel like they did more harm than good.

    Thanks,
    Lungi

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cornrows are out | africanhairblog - 03 July, 2013

    […] Cornrows are out… (africanhairblog.com) […]

Leave a Reply

