Hair update – 28 weeks post relaxer

4 Jun

DSC_0167

I’m now back in cornrows again.  I kept the last ones for two weeks and then took a two week break before getting cornrows again.  I had planned to go just one week in between but ended up going two.

I did a pre shampoo treatment with a mix of coconut and Jamaican black castor oil (JBCO) the night before I got the cornrows.  In the morning I washed my hair and deep conditioned it.  I then tied a scarf over the plastic cap and went to the salon with the conditioner in my hair so all they had to do was rinse and blow dry.  There was a bit of drama when I had the cornrows done.  I initially went to a salon close to home.  After asking the girl who was doing my hair to start over twice because she hadn’t understood the style I wanted, I eventually gave up when I realised that the lines weren’t straight and the cornrows were just plain ugly!  After about eight lines I asked her to stop and undo my hair and I left.  I went back to the salon and the stylist who did my last cornrows.  I’ve learnt my lesson!

I’m now 28 weeks post relaxer.  I have lots of growth and I’m dealing with all sorts of textures on my head.  I’m being extra careful with my hair because I know that if I’m not vigilant my hair can begin to break, especially where the new growth meets the relaxed hair.

My plan is to have these cornrows for two weeks, go for one week with my hair out and then get braids or twists to see me through winter.

I will spray the hair with braid spray and apply my coconut / castor oil mix lightly to the scalp daily.

cornrows2

36 Responses to “Hair update – 28 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Ole 04 June, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    You are so beautiful..the cornrows too! 🙂

    • Tendayi 04 June, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

      Thank you Ole 🙂

      • Thabisile Ndlovu 05 June, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

        Hi there,

        I need to know where do you plat as I have been struggling to get someone who can plat without pulling my hair too much. I am based in jhb – FOurwars

      • Tendayi 10 June, 2013 at 11:34 am #

        I’ve emailed you Thabisile

  2. Andiswa 04 June, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

    beautifully done

  3. Nangamso 04 June, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Wow your hairstylist did a great job – you look beautiful! The cornrows came out very nicely.

    • Tendayi 04 June, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

      Thank you Nangamso 🙂

  4. Rudaviro 04 June, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    cute bun and cornrows, so beautifully done

  5. Grace 04 June, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

    Yay, shots of different angles! U look really nice. Great hairstyle on u.

  6. karen 04 June, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    wow… the stylist who does your cornrows is really good. they look amazing. do you mind sharing who yo stylist is? 🙂

    • Tendayi 05 June, 2013 at 11:57 am #

      Ill email you her details

      • Thabisile Ndlovu 07 June, 2013 at 10:06 am #

        Hi Tendayi,

        Please share your stylist details and thank you

      • Tendayi 10 June, 2013 at 11:25 am #

        I’ve emailed you Thabisile. I can’t share her details here because I dont have her permission.

  7. Tarie 05 June, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    28 weeks!!!! thats like half a year, how long are planning to postpone the relaxer?

    • Tendayi 05 June, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

      Im planning braids after this so not for another 10 weeks!!!

  8. Busi 05 June, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    You look wonderful as always. You know that is the one thing I cannot do..stand up and walk out in the middle of a style if I can see that its not what I wanted. I always feel bad then I end up with aweful hair. Kuddos to you. You are paying so you should get what you asked for.

    • Tendayi 05 June, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

      Its the first time Ive ever done it Busi! The thought of paying for something I didn’t want just got to me and I spoke up! The funny thing is no one (including the owner of the salon who was there) asked why I wasn’t happy and why I was leaving without getting my hair done.

  9. Grace 05 June, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    At the rate ur going with this stretch next thing we know u’ll be transitioning.

    • Tendayi 10 June, 2013 at 11:33 am #

      My plan is not to transition! I do plan to relax my hair again.

  10. Pre 06 June, 2013 at 8:29 am #

    Wow. Absolutely stunning. You inspire me so much.
    Please share the number of your stylist, mine discourages my trying to stretch relaxers says it will break my hair and simply refuses to plait my hair with growth.

    • Tendayi 10 June, 2013 at 11:31 am #

      Thank you

      I’ve emailed you her details. Stylists don’t like clients stretching relaxers! Even this stylist I used suggested I should relax my hair otherwise it would break. I just told her I wil eventually!

  11. sabah 08 June, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Hi , I want to take your opinion , I am now 23 weeks post relaxer and my hair started breakage or relaxer hair started fall down what I can do now should ‘re touch hair with relax new growth hair

    • Tendayi 10 June, 2013 at 11:18 am #

      If your hair has started breaking then its best you relax the new growth. When stretching relaxers you have to be vigilant with hair care otherwise the hair wil break especially where the new growth meets the relaxed hair. If your hair care is up to scratch but your hair is breaking then stop your stretch and relax the hair.

  12. sabah 10 June, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

    Thank you too much for reply

  13. Tumi 13 June, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    Hello Tendayi,
    I am curious to know what you do to your hair when it’s in the cornrows. I live in plaits generally. Normally to avoid dealing with my hair coz i never know what to do with it when its out. however, i decided this week to take better care of my hair after seeing your blog and 3 others. I am inspired. left with a few days of my week long break before i plait again. I normally just put hairfood between the lines about every second day with extra attention to my non-growing hairline. then will wash when i undo the plaits. is that good enough?

    • Tendayi 13 June, 2013 at 11:46 am #

      You need to care for the scalp but also the hair. In cornrows I apply a bit of castor oil / coconut oil mix to the scalp between the lines. I then spray the hair with braid spray. I do this daily.

      Most of these hair foods do nothing for your scalp, they just sit on your scalp and cause buildup. Rather stick to a natural oil. Natural oils absorb into the scalp and actually have benefits.

      Take a look at this post on how I take care of my hair in braids – http://africanhairblog.com/2013/01/18/braid-bible/

      • Tumi 13 June, 2013 at 11:56 am #

        Thank you!

  14. gabslivin 01 July, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

    Hi Tendayi! The cornrows look good! I am currently in twists and will be getting them out in 3 weeks or so before I retouch (I am 8 weeks post now), leave my hair free for 2 weeks then either corn row or weave. How do you do your weekly wash in cornrows? Do you skip the weekly wash & deep condition or is there some way to still wash while in cornrows? My biggest reason for staying away from cornrows is not knowing how to wash hair while in them so I usually stick to thick french plaits which I remove after 3 days.

    • Tendayi 03 July, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

      I don’t wash my hair in the 2 weeks I have the cornrows. I just make sure to moisturise it daily. The readon I dont wash them is that I dont see the need given that I wear them for a short time. Im also afraid they will go fuzzy very quickly if I do. That said there are many who do wash their cornrows. Just google it Im sure you will come across them (youtube too).

  15. Kago 03 July, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    Does this count as protective styling? Because all this time I assumed PS to mean one’s hair is covered, roots to ends…hence braids(twists) and weaves. I want my hair to breath a bit out of braids but I’m scared cornrows aren’t “protective” enough. You are oh-so-gorgeous by the way.

    • Tendayi 03 July, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

      Thank you Kago 🙂

      Yes this is protective styling in that the hair is in a style that doesn’t require daily manipulation though combing and also the ends are tucked away. Protective styles are quite broad,even putting your hair in a bun is protective styling. Here is a post I did on protective styling – http://africanhairblog.com/2011/04/13/protective-styling/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cornrows are out | africanhairblog - 03 July, 2013

    […] Hair update – 28 weeks post relaxer (africanhairblog.com) […]

  2. Hair Update | africanhairblog - 03 March, 2014

    […] for so long.  My answer is that I have managed by getting protective styles (I had braids and cornrows often during this time).  I have also been doing very simple styles.  Most days my hair is in a […]

Leave a Reply

