Cornrows are out

3 Jul

image

Sorry for the long silence, I’ve had a crazy busy month but things are settling down now and I will be back to regular blogging.

I finally removed the cornrows.  I ended up keeping them for three weeks and not the two I had originally planned. I removed them the same way I did the previous ones.  I used a bottle with a nozzle to apply a coconut and jamaican black castor oil mix between the lines. I then undid the cornrows and wore a shower cap overnight as a pre shampoo treatment using the oil mix on my hair. The next morning I shampooed and deep conditioned and then put the hair into six braids and let it dry that way (as shown in the pic above).

I have been shampooing my hair in four sections to minimise tangling since I have so much new growth to deal with.  The way I do this is to tie my hair with bands into four sections and washing each section in turn instead of dealing with my whole head at once.  It definitely minimises tangles.

I had my hair out for a week.  I had braids done a couple of days ago.  I will share all the details in a couple of days.

16 Responses to “Cornrows are out”

  1. lolo 03 July, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

    Can u advise were one can get the Jamaican black castor oil? Its great that u post pics,it goes a long way.

  2. matlhodi 03 July, 2013 at 6:13 pm #

    Wow!!! Your hair’s long. I’m looking at the length of your braids alone…well done lady.

  3. lungiswaz 03 July, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

    Hi Tendayi,

    Did you experience any excess shedding after you took out your cornrows? I had cornrows on for a month and I took them down following your method, but I experienced hectic shedding and knots in my hair (I am 14 weeks post relaxer). I was shampoo-ing and conditioning my cornrows every 10 days when I had them

    Any tips for next time? Am I keeping the cornrows on for too long?

    • Tendayi 23 July, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

      Hi Lungiswa
      I keep my cornrows in for 2 weeks and I dont wash / condition them in that time. I just moisturise daily and lightly appli oil to the scalp along the lines. My latest stint I had them for 3 weeks because I couldnt make time to undo them but didnt wash either.

      Are you sure it was shedding and not breakage? Shedding is a normal process that can increase due to many factors that can be internat eg hormones, stress, illness etc whereas breakage if often caused by external forces, mainly how we look after our hair. My hair did shed nut not excessively. Remember also that you will be looking at all the hair that you would have shed daily over the 4 weeks at once! It will always look like a lot of hair because of that.

  4. Anele 03 July, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    You have beautiful hair Tendayi! I recently discovered your blog and I must say I am learning a lot from it and from the ladies who post comments. I’ve been unhappy with my hair for a long time now and decided to cutt off the long strands. Not an easy journey for someone as impatient as me. My hair regime is still new and I am enjoying pampering my hair! I just wish I had learnt all of this when I was still in high school! Wouldve saved me a lot of bad hair days! Thank you for this informative blog!!

    • Tendayi 23 July, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

      You’re welcome Anele 🙂 Good luck!!

  5. Shala 03 July, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    Hello Tendayi, so you’ve got another set of braids in? Are you in the process of a long-term stretch or will you be transitioning to natural?

    • Tendayi 23 July, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      Its a long stretch! I’m not transitioning.

  6. ghanaianemprezz 03 July, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

    How were you able to get the braid parts so clean?

    • Tendayi 23 July, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

      I undo each section and wash it before braiding it up / twisting it and moving on.

  7. nondi 06 July, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

    hey Ms T

    Im so in the stretching scene with you. I just took out my braids too today. My growth is so thick but Im handling it just fine. Between detangling in very small sections and washing my hair in smaller braids and ofcos L.C.O.’ing the hair (L- special feeling hair spray; C- ors shea butter; O- Morrocan oil treatment) , I am really proud of how long I stretched this time around (6 months, yeeeeyy me!!!!). Next week I intend on self- relaxing (3rd time doing it and happy with it). Now I know a lot of people don’t agree with self relaxing but I cudnt stand seeing my whole hair length covered in relaxer even when I’ve specified that I don’t want such done.

    But then again, none of this wud be possible without the help of bloggers such as your wonderful self.

    Thank you so much

    • Tendayi 23 July, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

      You’re welcome 🙂 There is nothing wrong with self relaxing as long as you know what you are doing. Many women actually have their hair damaged at salons at the hands of ‘qualified’ stylists.

      • nondi 23 July, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

        So I finally “relaxed”. The relaxer texlaxed the hair! Now i could be angry at something but, geez my hair’s volume is so thick!!!!!!!!

        I havent had volume like this since 2004 when i got out of high school and started neglecting my hair at varsity.

        I feel so good abt my hair ryt now! Bf even said “your hair is fat” lol

        You are truly a blessing Ms T

      • Tendayi 23 July, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

        lol!! Yep texlaxing makes your hair thicker for sure! Once you texlax its hard to go back!!

Leave a Reply

