Hair update – 32 weeks post relaxer

8 Jul

DSC_0185

It’s been 32 weeks since my last relaxer.  I’ve managed to go this long thanks to using braids and cornrows as protective styles.  This has meant I haven’t had to detangle or manipulate my hair as much.

I had another set of braids done a week ago.  I used the same type of braid (Expression 2 packs) and the same woman to do the braiding.  This time I chose a colour called ‘galaxy -e’.  I actually bought it because I’d never seen it before.  Its a reddish colour with purple streaks in it.

I will keep the braids for 8 weeks, washing weekly and moisturising daily.  For my scalp I will apply a coconut and castor oil mix or T444Z weekly.  For more detail on how I take care of my hair in braids, take a look at this post.

I’ve been asked many times if I am transitioning to natural hair since I have gone for so long without relaxing my hair.  My intention is not to go natural.  I am just stretching the time in between relaxers.  I do intend to relax my hair again.  I’m just not certain when I will do it at this stage.

braids pics

braid colour

Trying to show the braid colour

38 Responses to “Hair update – 32 weeks post relaxer”

  1. gabslivin 08 July, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    Hey dear!

    This hair style looks awesome! I think I will do this in 2 months…. I am currently in thick Senegalese twists and will be letting my hair ‘breath’ from braids for 2 months (will alternate between cornrows, French plaits and loose hair during the 2 months). I am excited to try this style as I have seen how easy it is to style.

    Thanks for the tips and keep well! 🙂

  2. maame esi 08 July, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    woww..braids @ 32 wks post? did u not have too much new growth? always been wondering if it would even be possible to get braids @ 8 weeks post since the growth will be too much n ur hair would have to be yanked out of the scalp when the braider has to plait. how was it like for you.? share details please. im interested.!

    • Tendayi 17 July, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

      I blow dried my hair before hand so that there is no pulling and yanking. Without blow drying I would have cried in pain Im sure, not to mention all the broken hair!

  3. sithandekile 08 July, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

    lovely braids as usual Tendayi! and i’m want that jacket and scarf kikiki

    • Tendayi 17 July, 2013 at 11:44 am #

      lol Sithandekile! Come and get them!!

  4. ghanaianemprezz 08 July, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

    That’s a lovely length there.

  5. cphokane@yahoo.com 08 July, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

    Hy im Khutso i blow my hair,i cant relaxed it becouse it my hair become few and weak.im getting braids tomorrow and i cant wait,i wish to have that product for my thing hairline but its too pricey for me anyway thanks for the great advices i practice most of them.

    • Tendayi 17 July, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      There are many other products you can use Khutso. I strongly recommend castor oil for your scalp. Just apply it at least once a week (even more) to your scalp. Its great for thickening thin areas.

  6. Lolitha 09 July, 2013 at 8:35 am #

    Do you just do micro braids or do you do some box braids as well? Or do you feel it’s better to maintain the upkeep when the braids are ‘thinner’ in comparison to box braids?

    • Tendayi 16 July, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

      I don’t do really thick braids. Its just a matter of preerence because I like the look of thinner ones. This is the thinnest I will go though. I don’t do micro braids because they tend to fall out at the slightest tug / tension and they take your hair with them!!

  7. Atibo 12 July, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    Hi Tendayi,

    Would you mind forwarding your braiders details and location for me.

    I would love to have my hair done soon!

    Thanks

    • Tendayi 16 July, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

      I’ve emailed you Atibo

  8. Aisha M. @Cosmoaisha 16 July, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    Looking good Tendayi! Love the colour

  9. Evalyne 16 July, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    Is there a reason why you chose Expression? Can any other braid do?

    • Tendayi 16 July, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

      I find that its very light. Its also the type i always use so Im biased! I think any braid type will work really.

  10. Anele 16 July, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

    Hi Tendayi I just wanted to know if uv tried Dr Miracle’s new sulfate n pareben free conditioning shampoo. If yes can you perhaps do a review on it?

    • Tendayi 17 July, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      I haven’t tried it yet Anele. Go to http://www.goodhairdiaries.blogspot.com and check out Kavuli’s review there. I know she did one.

      • Tochukwu Tc 29 July, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

        Hello Tendayi,
        I came across your blog through a recommendation form http://www.nairaland.com. And i must say that i have learnt a lot from your blog. Thank you so much for taking out time to share your experiences with us.
        I am trying to restore my hair and have a healthy hair. The journey just started April this year and i am loving the result already. My last relaxer was in March and i hope to stay till Dec.
        Your story is an encouragement.
        Thank you so much.

      • Tendayi 29 July, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

        You are very welcome 🙂 All the best with your hair.

  11. Netsai 29 July, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

    Hi..do u just shampoo and condition or u deep condition as well?

    • Tendayi 29 July, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

      I deep condition each time I shampoo

  12. aobz 29 July, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    I recently relaxed my hair, had a very very course Afro going. I did this about 6 weeks ago. I have a moderate dandruff problem so I wash my hair with the head n shoulders menthol shampoo but because I’m trying to maintain the whole sulphate free shampoo vibe, I wash my hair with the Dr miracles conditioning shampoo. I use coconut oil, amla oil, eucalyptus oil, I do a treatment every week when I wash my hair. I never dry my hair but because its styled, I straighten it once a week. My hair keeps falling. I don’t know what else to do. I want to start using argan oil and the pantene heat protect range but before I get there, do you have any advice on what I could do to stop my hair from falling?

    • Tendayi 05 August, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

      Hi Aobz

      The issues that may be causing this could be heat, your hair may not be able to withstand straightening with heat every week. When you do, do you use a heat protectnat? Our hair gets damaged by heat evry easily. I would suggest other forms of styling that dont use heat eg rollers, bendy rollers etc.

      You do not mention moisturising your hair after your wash and treatment. Is this something you do?

      • aobz 09 August, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

        yes I do moisturise it while it’s wet. I forgot that part, sorry. I haven’t been able to get heat protectant(/_\) but that makes sense

  13. Nathalie 09 August, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

    Hi Tendayi! I can across your information as I was Googling hair products. I love the fact that you are still planning to perm your hair. I am still undecided about the natural process or continuing to perm– whatever I decide I am committed to healthier hair. I have started juicing mainly wheatgrass, celery, collard greens and kale. I have one shot of wheatgrass a day and the other ingredients I blend together and drink twice a day. One of the immediate benefits (among other benefits have been increased energy, mental clarity, decreased cravings for sweets…) that I noticed was that my hair has stopped shedding (thankfully I have thick hair, but experienced shedding most of my life and accepted it). So I am wondering if in addition to hair products if you have had any experience with the nutritional aspect of things. I also have been prescribed Iron pills due to anemia and Vitamin D supplements and have been taking them for 3 months now– but the shedding decreased immensely once I started the juicing regimen

  14. Nathalie 09 August, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    Also have you tried Havana Twist– Thanks!

    • Tendayi 06 September, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

      I haven’t tried them yet 😦

  15. Janice 10 August, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    Hi Tendayi,,

    May I please have the details of the hairdresser who does your braids. They are lovely.

    Thank you.

    • Tendayi 14 August, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

      Let me email you Janice. I don’t have her permission to broadcast her details online.

  16. tobiadewale 05 September, 2013 at 3:39 am #

    Thank you so much for this blog post. I’m also stretching my relaxer. I am 27 weeks post and I’ve been doing Senegalese twists for the past 5 months in 2 month intervals. What do you suggest I do after I take these twists out? How long should I let the hair breath?

  17. rumbidzai 07 September, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    do you think twist braiding is also just as good

    • Tendayi 09 September, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      Yes I think so. As long as its done properly.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #the30andOverProject: To Be Natural Or Relaxed? That Is The Question | lifestyle30 - 08 July, 2013

    […] Hair update – 32 weeks post relaxer (africanhairblog.com) […]

Leave a Reply

