Another pic of my daughter’s hair

2 Aug

detangledhair

Happy Friday everyone

Thought I would share with you a pic of my 8-year-old daughter’s hair.  The pic was taken a couple of weeks ago soon after removing her braids.  Her hair is natural.  In the pic it has been detangled but not yet washed.

I keep her hair braided most of the time.  She is in braids during school terms and then during holidays I let her wear her hair out.  I keep the braids for eight weeks at a time.  I have been caring for her hair this way for 4 years now.  I’m often asked how I am able to preserve her hairline when she gets braids so often.  My answer is that I am particular about how her braids are done.  She has been braided by the same person ever since she started getting braids four years ago.  I am also particular about caring for her hair and braids.  While her hair is in braids I wash it weekly and moisturise with braid spray daily.

I have written a few posts about my daughter’s hair.  See them below:

http://africanhairblog.com/2012/04/23/my-daughters-hair/

http://africanhairblog.com/2011/07/01/how-i-take-care-of-my-little-girls-hair/

http://africanhairblog.com/2013/04/03/how-i-wash-braids/

http://africanhairblog.com/2012/07/10/how-i-undo-braids/

14 Responses to “Another pic of my daughter’s hair”

  1. Busi 02 August, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    Her hair is so full and rich. You are doing a really good job of taking care of it.

    • Tendayi 02 August, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

      Thank you Busi. I really make an effort with her hair.

  2. Andiswa 02 August, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    wow that’s long, healthy looking hair! Well done

    • Tendayi 05 August, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

      Thank you Andiswa 🙂

  3. Lindi 05 August, 2013 at 12:07 pm #

    This is so awesome. Love the shine from the cleanliness. Looks very strong. My friends and I have been drooling over this pic. Beautiful.

    • Tendayi 05 August, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

      Thank you Lindi 🙂

  4. myafrolifestyle.blogspot.com 06 August, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

    Hi, just wanna say I bumped into your blog just by doing research and I will never stop following your tips and updates. You are an inspiration and I am starting my hair journey this august. I will definitely keep you informed about my hair progress after adapting to your tips, thank you ❤

    • Tendayi 06 August, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

      all the best to you 🙂

  5. Amanda 16 August, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    Honestly this is just to ask for some advice. Today is the 16th of August and I have a family gathering in September holidays(around the 20th) and I have to have a beautiful hairstyle. I have dreads(but not the long ones and they aren’t locked) but I really want to look pretty soon!! Should I do braids tomorrow or wait till the 20th? If I do them tomorrow, won’t they look old by the September??

    • Tendayi 17 August, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

      I’d say wait until shortly before your event so that they still look their best. I suggest having the braids done about 5 days or so before the gathering. That way by the gathering they would have loosened and you will be able to style them if you want to.

  6. prov31angel 19 August, 2013 at 1:30 pm #

    Wow! Thats really healthy hair!

    • Tendayi 20 August, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

      Thank you prov31angel 🙂

  7. aurumeve 06 September, 2013 at 1:54 am #

    Her hair is absolutely beautiful! Keep doing what you do! I miss my natural days!

  8. Palesa 16 November, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

    Reblogged this on BEFORE I'M 20 YEARS.

Leave a Reply

