Hair update – 36 weeks post relaxer

13 Aug

36 weeks

I’ve been in braids for just over four weeks now.  I plan on removing them in the first week of September when I will have had them for eight weeks.  I’ve kept up my usual routine when in braids – weekly washing, applying oil on scalp weekly and daily moisturising with braid spray.

It also happens to be 36 weeks since my last relaxer.  The new growth isn’t bothering me right now because of the braids.  Will see how it goes when I take the braids out.  I’m also already thinking about what to do when the braids come out.  I will definitely go for two weeks or so with my hair out to give it some tlc before deciding what to do next, maybe another  protective style perhaps!

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Hair update – 36 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Gugu 13 August, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    Thanks for the update Ms T, I learn a lot from you!

  2. Tina 14 August, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    please relax it, been anxiously waiting to see how long your hair is

    • Tendayi 14 August, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

      🙂 Will see Tina!

  3. Evalyne 14 August, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

    Hi Tendayi, I love your blog. I also have braids and next week Wednesday is when I will hit my 4 week mark. I had planned to keep them for 8 weeks but they are in a very bad state. First, they are tagging at my already weak hairline, then they are pulled out so far from the base of the scalp and they are not neat (especially at the hairline). Do you have any tip on how to keep them neat for 8 weeks? I wash them every weekend. and moisturize with braid spray every day.

    • Tendayi 15 August, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

      I think ths skill of the braider also has a lot to do with it. I also wash every week and moisturise daily. I sleep with a scarf over the braids at night. Other than that I really dont do anything that could contribute to the braids looking neater for longer.

  4. Kago 15 August, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

    I am 22weeks post and I am going for 40 weeks, which I very much doubt I’ll make without a few visits to the nearest psychiatrist. I am a 28weeks regular, and that’s end September, so stretching to 2nd week of December is going to drive me insane. I am a religious PSer so my hair never bothers me, but see the washing is a problem…actually the deep conditioning is the problem. My growth hates protein DC treatments but my ends need it. It is a struggle to protein DC the ends alone, then moisture DC the whole head every wash day. I thus have to wash every 3weeks :(. Do you not have this problem? And like Tina I cant wait to see your texlaxed tresses.

    • Tendayi 06 September, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

      What I do is follow every protein treatment with a moisturising one to soften up my hair again. If I miss this step my hair remains hard and difficult to manage. You could actually use protein to dc only your ends then follow up by using a moisture dc on all the hair. I think this would work well for you.

Leave a Reply

