Jamaican black castor oil review

6 Sep

jbco

I’ve been meaning to do a review of Jamaican black castor oil (JBCO) for some time now.  I guess the time is now right because I’ve just finished a bottle J  I bought this bottle online about a year ago.  I bought it for US$6.52 on Amazon.  The reason why this bottle of JBCO lasted so long is because I mixed it 50:50 with coconut oil.  I did this because I found it to be very thick when applying to my scalp and hair.  When adding to conditioners though I used it undiluted.  I added about a teaspoon or so to the amount of conditioner I needed for one application.

coconut

the coconut oil I use (from Dischem)

 

JBCO is a dark coloured oil.  The smell reminds me of roasted nuts.  The smell is quite strong but I found that it wasn’t as bad when the oil was diluted or added to conditioner.  I also found it to be thicker than the regular castor oil.  I used the oil mix (JBCO and coconut) mostly when my hair was braided or in cornrows.  I applied it lightly to a clean scalp.  I also used it when undoing cornrows. I applied it liberally to the scalp along the cornrow lines (using an applicator bottle) then proceeded to undo the rows.  This way the oil went onto the hair and ‘lubricated’ it.  I also used the oil mix for doing overnight pre shampoo treatments.  I’d apply the oil mix to my scalp and hair before bed, wear a plastic cap them tie it into place with a scarf.  I’d shampoo my hair the next morning.

bottle

my repurposed applicator bottle with a bit of oil mix inside. The coconut oil has made it solidify because the weather is still a bit cool.

 

So what did I think – JBCO made my hair really soft.  I don’t know whether it increased growth (which is what its popular for), but it definitely made my new growth super soft, especially after doing a pre shampoo treatment.  Would I continue to buy it – definitely! 

JBCO is available in South Africa through Ruutos Hair.  They ship within Africa too.  Look out for a JBCO giveaway coming soon. 

 

 

12 Responses to “Jamaican black castor oil review”

  1. Thabisile Ndlovu 06 September, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    Tandai, please let me know if the normal castor oil will work or not?

    • Tendayi 06 September, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

      Normal castor oil works great! It brought my hairline back from some serious damage.

  2. Thabisile Ndlovu 06 September, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    Thank you Tendayi. I currently have conrows which I will remove tomorrow. I will do my mix and spray onto my hair overnight today hey.

  3. Ndumy 06 September, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

    Hey that’s really great I’ve been looking for JBCO for a while heard great reviews. I’m struggling with some serious hairline damage and it doesn’t seem like the normal castor oil is working for me. I’m at crossroads at what to do with my hair.

    • Tendayi 06 September, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

      Have you found out the cause of your thinning hairline Ndumy? You need to eliminate the cause to see results. If it is from tight weaves and braids then these need to be stopped / modified for you to see progress otherwise your hairline will remain thin.

  4. Kay 06 September, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    I bought a few bottles when I went to the USA in June. I must say I am loving it and even considering selling it.

  5. Madrine 12 September, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    ZIMBABWE

  6. Grace Awuni 12 September, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    I am a Ghanain and i wish to have some of ur produant.

    • Tendayi 17 September, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

      Please email the distributors on info@ruutoshair.com. I know they ship products, they may be able to ship to you.

      • Tshego 01 October, 2013 at 6:10 am #

        I’ve sent a email a while ago requesting shipping of the Jamaican castor oil but still no response. Please help me get it

      • Tendayi 01 October, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

        Hi Tshego

        Please get in touch with Ruutos Hair. They are the ones that stock JBCO. Their details are:

        79 Hill Street

        Ferndale, Randburg

        +27 11 326 4296

        +27 76 238 0685

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jamaican black castor oil giveaway | africanhairblog - 09 September, 2013

    […] Read about my own experience with JBCO here. […]

Leave a Reply

