Hair update – 40 weeks post relaxer

11 Sep

20130910_105922

I cannot believe it’s been 40 weeks since my last relaxer!!  It’s also been just over 8 weeks with these braids on my head.  It’s now time to remove them.   They have loosened quite a bit but they still look neat.  It’s time to remove them though before the knots get crazy and difficult to manage.

20130911_124132

I’ve given the braids one last wash and I am going to smother them with a detangler.  I use Organic Root Stimulator Shea Butter lotion (pictured).  See this post on how I remove braids and detangle hair afterwards.  This is how I remove my braids (as well as my daughters) every single time.  It assures I lose as little hair as possible through breakage.

I will give my hair some tlc for the next 2 weeks before I decide what to do next.  I will make sure to deep condition often as well as moisturise the hair adequately.

For everything braids and braid care take a look at this post where I detail everything I do to the hair to prepare for braids, while I have braids and after removing them.

I will put up another post once I have removed the braids.  It usually takes me a few days because I undo for a few hours a day.  I begin from the back of my head so I can tie the braids back and it doesn’t show that I’m undoing them.

 

25 Responses to “Hair update – 40 weeks post relaxer”

  1. khakhu 11 September, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    Where can I buy the Organic Root Stimulator Shea Butter lotion?

    • Tendayi 11 September, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

      I bought mine at Sweet Penny at Boulders Mall in Midrand, Johannesburg. I also aee it at some salons and in shops on joburg and pretoria cbd.

  2. Patience 11 September, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

    Hi Tendayi
    Can I do a prepoo when I have braids on

    • Tendayi 11 September, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

      I wouldn’t recommend it. It’s very difficult to wash the oil / conditioner off the braids. You are likely to remain with product build up on your braids and hair.

  3. Evalyne 11 September, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    Hi, Your braids look pretty neat at over 8 weeks post. Other than the routine you have highlighted on how you take care of them, is there a secret to keeping them that neat especially at the hairline? Mine cannot stay for over 4 weeks. The usually look horrible!

    • Tendayi 11 September, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

      There is no secret! I only do what I describe. I do think though that it’s to do with the skil of the braider as well. My daughter’s hair was braided around the same time as mine and hers is just as neat. She is only 8 so she is not really concerned with keeping them neat and tidy!

  4. Amanda 11 September, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    You wouldn’t say that you’ve had them for over 8 weeks! You really taking good care of your hair 🙂
    I’m about to braid my hair(Yanki). But I’ve always had a problem with my hairline when it comes to braids. How do I prevent my hairline from receding whilst having the braids on?

    • Tendayi 11 September, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

      Leave the hairline out if the hair is too weak to braid. You can always brush it back or use gel to flatten and neaten it. If the hairline is braided, do not make tiny parting. Take larger sections of hair. Tiny sections of hair often mean the braid s too heave and it falls off taking your hair with it.

  5. Ghanaianemprezz 11 September, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    40 weeks isn’t easy!! Well done!

    • Tendayi 11 September, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 Braids and cornrows is what’s helped me.

  6. chuwechuwe 11 September, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    Evalyn, don’t worry. You are not alone. My braids also don’t last more than 4 weeks. Cornrows only look good enough to wear to work for 2 weeks max for me. The only style I can keep for more than 4 weeks is a weave because the untidy hair is hidden. @Tendayi, I also agree that the skill of the braider may be a huge factor so I will shop around for a new one and see. I love your blog by the way.

    • Tendayi 11 September, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

      Thanks Chuwechuwe 🙂

    • Evalyne 12 September, 2013 at 8:51 am #

      Chuwechuwe, a weave is the only style I can keep for more than 4 weeks too :). I will try and shop around for a good braider because the one I have been using has really messed my hairline. I love Tendayi’s blog and I have learnt a lot from her on braid care. Keep up the good work!

  7. golda 11 September, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

    I can’t wait to see your hair Tendai, I’m certain its now way past bra strap length. I’m also doing a 1 year stretch, my last relaxer was last year begging of December. I’m in braids right now and a combination of good braid care (thanks to you) and having the best braider ever (she braids really well) has kept me going.

    Here’s to bra strap length at year end!!!

  8. Beatrice 16 September, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    You take great care of your braids. just wondering when you plan to finally relax your hair, or are you transitioning? cant wait to see the progress.

    • Tendayi 17 September, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      I’m not sure yet! I will relax again though. I’m not transitioning.

  9. nandipha_n@yahoo.com 17 September, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

    Hello Tendayi,

    Need your advice ASAP, I’m trying to buy JBCO and there is 1.Regular 2.Dark 3.Jojoba 4.argan nut

    Which should I go for?

    Thanks,

    Nandipha.Nandipha.
    Sent from my Blackberry® SmartPhone on MTN Zambia

    • Tendayi 17 September, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

      I say buy the regular for now and see how that works for you. The regular one is the one I used.

    • Miz_Nyu 09 October, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

      @tendai, love the blog… @nandipah, where can I get JBCO in zed, or is the only option to order it online? I’m currently in ndola, but a lkusaka trip is always possible. Thanks

      • Tendayi 09 October, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

        Please call +260 979 230 611 for details of how you can get it in Zambia

  10. Patience 20 September, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

    Hi tendayi

    I’m planning to get the afriacan twist using the expression fibre. Can I still wash my braids every week or ll this coz my twist to run and make my hair tangle with the fibre? I usually do the box braids but I’m also wanting to change the style. please help as I can’t go for more than a week without washing my hair

  11. Kay 22 October, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    I like the Organic Root Stimulator line; but I’ve never tried their Shea Butter lotion. I think I may give it a try. Great post. Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hair update – 44 weeks post relaxer | africanhairblog - 15 October, 2013

    […] now 44 weeks since my last relaxer.  I removed the braids and wore my hair out for about two weeks before getting the cornrows I have now.  Because of the […]

Leave a Reply

