Hair update – 44 weeks post relaxer

15 Oct

corn6

It’s now 44 weeks since my last relaxer.  I removed the braids and wore my hair out for about two weeks before getting the cornrows I have now.  Because of the two distinct textures I have in my hair there is not much I can do in terms of styling it when it is not in braids or cornrows.  I mostly tied it back and wore a head band.

In the two weeks between protective styles I made sure to do pre shampoo treatments and to deep condition the hair.  I did this twice weekly.  After removing braids I always ensure I give the hair some ‘tlc’ to help up the moisture levels and to strengthen it.

I will wear the cornrows for two weeks before undoing them.  While in cornrows I moisturise daily using braid spray.  I also lightly apply an oil to my scalp.  I have been using mostly coconut oil for this.  Since I only keep the cornrows for two weeks I do not wash my hair while it’s in this style.

corn1

20 Responses to “Hair update – 44 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Gillian Chikerema 15 October, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    HI Tendai..When do you plan to relax your hair?

    • Tendayi 15 October, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

      Not sure Gillian. Most probably in December or January. I have a set of ‘marley braids’ which I would like to try before relaxing again.

  2. gabslivin 15 October, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

    Nice hair-do, Tendayi.. how do you oil your hair while it is in cornrows? I tried it but the oil just sits on top and doesn’t sink in to the roots. I tried to put oil in a spray bottle but it jams the nozzle… Please advise?

    • Tendayi 15 October, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

      I apply oil to the scalp between the cornrows and not on the hair. I also apply it very lightly. It gets absorbed into the scalp. For the hair I use braids spray.

      • sarah 22 October, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

        thanks for this beautiful advice Tendayi this will go far in helping me with oiling issues.

  3. Rati 15 October, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    hey Tendai how are your hairline and nape fairing with the cornrows?

    • Tendayi 16 October, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

      The cornrows aren’t affecting my hairline and nape at all. Im only doiing cornrows with my hair, no added extensions to avoid extra tension on the hairline.

  4. fadzayi 15 October, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    Hi Tendai

    I have just received a consignment of organic shea butter from Benin as well as black soap which are both absolutely fabulous for hair and body. How can I market my product on your blog?

    Regards

    Fadzayi 0730679163 http://www.fadzayi.wordpress.com

    • Tendayi 21 October, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

      Let me email you Fadzayi

  5. lolo 15 October, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    Doesn’t your break since its been so long before relaxing. I knw u pre-poo and give it tlc but how much breakage r u getting if ny.

    • Tendayi 16 October, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

      I have not noticed any increased breakage. I keeping styling to an absolute minimum and doing protective styles much more often though so I dont experience breakage.

  6. shamie 15 October, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    followin you ,Im nw at 20 weeks bt 44 weeks that’s a lot. welldone

  7. Thando 17 October, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    Hi Tendai, i would liek to try stretching my relaxers through protective styling as well but isnt the constant back to back plaiting bad for your hair as far as breakage and the hairline?

    • Tendayi 21 October, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

      Hi thando
      I am doing back to back protective styles but I make sure I leave time in between each style where I baby my hair and give it some tlc. I also make sure my hairline is not pulled in the protective styles. While in protective styles I make sure I take care of the hair. I do not neglect it during that time.

  8. kagomolepo 17 October, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    Wow…inspiration!!! I’m 31 weeks post today and I’m doing very well. Also on that cornrows and braids wagon. The curly-girl-method has helped my stretching journey between plaits a lot. Plan is to texlax my hair ones every year, December, for the festivities. Very impressed by your patience.

    • Tendayi 21 October, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

      Thanks Kagomolepo. This long stretch has shown me that I can go way longer than the 12 weeks I normally take in between relaxers.

  9. Olga 18 October, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    hi Tendai, pls tel me wher u buy ur coconut oil, i stay in pretoria. Nd suggest a few salons around town that knows about african hair if u know any. Thanx

    • Tendayi 18 October, 2013 at 11:17 am #

      I buy it from Dischem (i use the Brooklyn Mall branch). As for salons, sorry I cant really recommend any. Exept for protective styles I do my own hair care at home.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to moisturise your hair under braids/extensions | Afrohairsisters - 16 October, 2013

    […] Hair update – 44 weeks post relaxer (africanhairblog.com) […]

Leave a Reply

