Hair update – 48 weeks post relaxer

13 Nov

3

It’s been over 48 weeks since my last relaxer.  I had cornrows about a month ago which I wore for two weeks before removing them.  I now have a lot of new growth.  I’m at that point where I no longer see (or feel) the difference in new growth from month to month.  It’s just a lot of new growth now!  I have been keeping it very simple, making sure to moisturise daily but keeping styling to a minimum.

revlonI’ve been moisturising with my Revlon Special Feeling Super Soft Activator.  It really helps make my growth soft.  Styling wise I have been relying heavily on my afro attachment which i bought from Clicks for R78 (approx US$7.80).  I find the texture blends well with the texture of my hair right now.  It helps minimise the need for excessive styling.  All I really need to do is tie my hair back and place the attachment over the tied hair.  I bought the ‘mini afro’ in colour four.  There is a bigger puff called ‘afro pom pom’ but I wanted something smaller.

frika

I’m planning cornrows again.  I will share pics as soon as I have them done.

 

30 Responses to “Hair update – 48 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Abigal 13 November, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

    beautiful dear.i am earning so much from you about how to go by taking care of my own hair.i also have not been relaxing about a year now, just undo my afro yesterday,I am not sure what to put on now, i have too much growth,but i am not ready yet to relax my hair.still thinking of a new hairstyle.thank you for sharing.

    • Tendayi 13 November, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

      you’re welcome 🙂

  2. Layila 13 November, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    Wow! I don’t know how you do it, at 16weeks I’m already begging for mercy. Are you transitioning?

    • Tendayi 13 November, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

      I think you get to a point after which each extra week makes no difference! What has helped though is that I have been getting braids and cornrows.

      • masukam 13 November, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

        As a natural hair blogger myself, I love your blog because it underscores the point that healthy hair is not about being natural but looking after your hair and giving it lots of TLC. I call it being nice to your hair. That being said, one year post relaxer? Are you doing a long-term transition to natural, are you just experimenting with relaxer stretching or are you still not decided.

      • Tendayi 14 November, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

        Thank you 🙂 I actually love your blog too ❤

        As for my hair, its a stretch. I do have plans to relax again, most probably in January.

  3. Thabisile Ndlovu 13 November, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    Oh my Tendayi well done, with me my target is 28 weeks and have to relax my hair as I have a wedding to attend.

  4. Lee 13 November, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

    Hi Tendayi,

    Great stuff! I cannot wait for you to relax :-).
    I began my hair challenge on 01 September 2013 and I am in my third month now. I mositurise and seal daily and co-wah twice a week and wash with non-sulphate shampoo once a month. So far I have stuck to my regime and shocked as in my previous life i struggled to even oil my hair monthly. I have learnt alot from hair blogs, yours included. My hair is shoulder length natural and will see where it goes. I am giving myself I year till 01 September 2014 and then may/may not relax. So far been in protective styles since August – that is wigs as I cannot stand to have my hair manhandled in saloons and charged for a fee :-). Sorry for the longwindedness. Well done again on a great hair blog!

    • Tendayi 13 November, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

      The way you are going Im sure you will see great progress in the one yr. All the best. Hope you are taking pics because they help you seel how far you have come.

  5. ghanaianemprezz 13 November, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

    You’ve done a good job with the stretch:)

  6. Michelle 14 November, 2013 at 1:31 am #

    Well done! Are you growing out your relaxer?

    • Tendayi 14 November, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I’m not growing out the relaxer. I do intend to relax my hair again.

  7. Alesia 14 November, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

    Somehow I feel like you might turn natural…. i am waiting for the next post: THE BIG CHOP. lol.

    • Tendayi 20 November, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

      lol Alesia!!! You never know!!

  8. Bagadzi Nthusang 15 November, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

    Wow 48 weeks thats amazing, I am at 36 weeks post relaxer n jst like u i hv bn alternating between braids and cornrows but now i hv a weave on. Thanks so uch for this woderful blog

    • Tendayi 20 November, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

      Welcome 🙂 How long will you go for Bagadzi or are you transitioning to natural hair?

  9. ahhhsoneo 17 November, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

    Your hair is lovely. I like to see us africans taking care of our hair, I’m so tired of seeing all those bad weaves. New to your blog.

  10. Star 21 November, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

    Woooooooooooow!! You doing great! I gave up on stretching though I successfully did two continuous 6 month stretches which took me from neck length to armpit length. I did a pitiful 7 weeks this time….lol!!

    • Tendayi 22 November, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

      lol!! The difference between 6 months and 7 weeks is huge!!

  11. beautyandhealth1 22 November, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    Love your afro puff ……

  12. MJ 24 November, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    Love your progress, I can’t believe it’s already been nearly one year though! When I first stumble upon your blog last summer (i.e. July 2012) I was still intending to stay relaxed and stretch, after a two month stretch a chopped off all my relaxed ends and am now natural (15 months)! But like another poster said, I love that you still emphasise health, and that’s what it comes down to relaxed or natural. As for styling during your stretch, you should definitely check out some natural blogs that give advice on transitioning styles/YouTube. I’m sure with the amount of new growth you have you’ll be able to achieve some nice protective styles aside from the cornrows (if you ever wanted to).

    • MJ 24 November, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

      Can’t wait to see what growth you have once you relax it soon!

      • Tendayi 25 November, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

        Me too!!

    • Tendayi 25 November, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

      Thanks MJ. I must admit I have been very lazy with styling. There are so many options. I even know some natural hair bloggers personally and their sites have so many great styles that would work for me.

  13. Titi 01 December, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    Wow! You are my hero with every passing week. Congrats, stretching requires such diaciplined TLC! I’m 20 weeks post but because I cut off my relaxed ends I feel like I’m so far from getting back to my pre-chop length of just post shoulder length. Any recommendations on natural or transitioning hairstyles for medium length?

Leave a Reply

