Hair Update

3 Mar
DSC_0814

This was last week at the Healthy Hair Indaba. My hair was flat ironed so the textures blended well.

 

Now that the excitement of the Healthy Hair Indaba has passed I can give you an update of my hair.

As regular readers of the blog will know, I was pregnant for most of 2013.  I had my little boy at the end of November.  Because I was pregnant, I stopped relaxing my hair.  This is something I have done with all my pregnancies.  My last relaxer was in November 2012.

I’m often asked how I have managed to stretch the time between relaxers for so long.  My answer is that I have managed by getting protective styles (I had braids and cornrows often during this time).  I have also been doing very simple styles.  Most days my hair is in a simple bun.  Very little combing and styling.  I have also been washing my hair in sections and keeping it in twists while washing and deep conditioning.  I must admit it hasn’t been easy.  I’ve had to be extra careful to avoid excess / unnecessary breakage.

So what are my hair plans going forward?  I’m planning to relax my hair again mid-March 2014.  I have reached my goal of bra strap length but I have a feeling I may cut my hair back to arm pit length.  The reason for this is that the ends of my hair are likely to be thinner than the rest of the hair because of how long I have gone without relaxing.  The thinner ends are likely to annoy me!

The only issue I’m going to grapple with is where to go to get my relaxer done.  The hairstylist who has done my relaxers since 2011 stopped hairdressing and moved out of town.  I don’t know who I can trust now to do my hair.  The hairstylist I used to use understood how I liked my relaxers done (texlaxed) and also that I liked to leave my hairline out since I don’t see the need of applying relaxer crème to the ‘baby hair’.  My quest for a new hairstylist begins.  I have no idea where to even begin looking!  I will keep you posted on how things transpire.

14 Responses to “Hair Update”

  1. Lesego Kelly Sedimo 03 March, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    welcome bak..missed your posts concerning hair care!
    kiss the lil boy for me..lots of love!

  2. Ronette 03 March, 2014 at 2:50 pm #

    Tendayi, why don’t you do a Brazillian? rather than a relaxer? For me, it looks like such a better process. It adds moisture to the hair, etc. But importantly, what do you think?

    • Tendayi 03 March, 2014 at 11:36 pm #

      I’ve never even considered brazilian treatments Ronette. I’ll do some research and see. I know the earlier contained formaldehyde. Have things imrpoved since the?

  3. claudiashava 03 March, 2014 at 3:09 pm #

    My hairline, my hairline i cannt get rid of it , the whole head is imroving but the hairline is sheining just like my face so when the hair is open i do use a wig otherwise i use a scaf when i have breads but i would like to have my head free from wigs, scafs or breads

  4. Fulu 04 March, 2014 at 9:09 am #

    Which relaxer do you use?

    • Tendayi 05 March, 2014 at 12:09 pm #

      I use ORS relaxer (normal strength)

  5. Ugomma Patience Ukam 04 March, 2014 at 12:45 pm #

    Welcome back Dear….i wish you luck on your in your search for a new stylist
    http://beautiful-eagle.blogspot.com/

  6. Evalyne 05 March, 2014 at 6:48 am #

    Hi Tendayi, welcome back. I know it can be very stressful to look for a good stylist especially one who can do relaxers well. All the best with that. Perhaps if the worst comes to the worst you could self relax. 🙂

    • Tendayi 05 March, 2014 at 12:04 pm #

      Self relaxing is definitely an option. I’ve never done it before so I would be learning! Im hesitant because of all the growth I have. I feel I should learn when I have much less growth.

  7. Mitchell 05 March, 2014 at 11:23 pm #

    Welcome back Tendayi. You look beautiful in d above picture 🙂 Good luck on ur search for a competent hair stylist

    • Tendayi 07 March, 2014 at 12:58 pm #

      Thank you Mitchell 🙂

Leave a Reply

